If go to speaker's corner attending a protest...

Brigade size wor.

It was raining and cats and dogs... and still 4000... some estimated at 5000..... but it was the first time you see Singaporean.... coming all out to PROTEST..... and in the thousands.......

Went there and took a few snaps.

What on earth were they protesting about?
Complaining why organiser not giving out free Nasi Lemak and how come Hainanese chicken rice no chili sauce. :bsmilie:

hey, what movie is this?
That is President Barack Obama and First Lady, Michelle Obama with a sturgeon facial expression which is now forever immortalized by the Obama rage / "not bad" meme.

It was raining and cats and dogs... and still 4000... some estimated at 5000..... but it was the first time you see Singaporean.... coming all out to PROTEST..... and in the thousands.......
did you say, cats ? meow.

Complaining why organiser not giving out free Nasi Lemak and how come Hainanese chicken rice no chili sauce. :bsmilie:

That is President Barack Obama and First Lady, Michelle Obama with a sturgeon facial expression which is now forever immortalized by the Obama rage / "not bad" meme.

its a movie starring our own clubsnap member Allenleonhart ,entitled "Not Bad"

Abit of inspiration after attending the white paper thingy ... hope you all like it.

26342_10151342015737795_862769261_n.jpg

I did went.went there early.around 3.30pm.already around 100s..left around 6.30pm. Anyone here went too? Btw I saw one wearing the Guy Fawkes mask..my friend says there were 2 of them! In the end it is reported at least 7000+ were there..

Don't try too hard. Give opinion few times is enough. If try too hard, you may be misunderstood as an obstructionist and a troublemaker.
It may be Heaven's will that events should unfold in a certain way. So be it. Let it be. As an individual you are too small to change the tide. The very wise ones who can see it coming & are able to do something to protect themselves from a situation, do so quietly without fanfare.

(edit-delete)

Don't try too hard. Give opinion few times is enough. If try too hard, you may be misunderstood as an obstructionist and a troublemaker.
It may be Heaven's will that events should unfold in a certain way. So be it. Let it be. As an individual you are too small to change the tide. The very wise ones who can see it coming & are able to do something to protect themselves from a situation, do so quietly without fanfare.

e.g. Albert Einstein (in 1933 this guy very smart, can see way ahead), Bruno Rossi (in 1938) & Enrico Fermi (in 1938).

i think it hasn't gotten this bad that we have to leave our homeland. besides, why should we uproot ourselves and leave?

some of us are just voicing our displeasure.

sometimes it is good to vent it all out, let it out of the system, to have our little say. not necessarily stirring controversies or brewing troubles.

In their case, it was wise. Maybe bad example. The point is they did not trumpet their intentions and tell the whole world before doing it.

Singapore is a good place. But if policies go one way or another, just roll with the punches. Profit from it if you can. If not, just wait for the policy to make a 180º turn, just like it did from the 2-is-enough mantra.
Not suggesting to leave. Anyway, most of us are small-timer-ordinary-Joes who do have have the money/status/skills to move.

No not suggesting to leave. In their case, it was. Maybe bad example. The point is they did not trumpet their intentions and tell the whole world before doing it.

Singapore is a good place. But if policies go one way or another, just roll with the punches. Profit from it if you can. If not, just wait for the policy to make a 180º turn, just like it did from the 2-is-enough mantra.

they can't do it as their circumstances cannot allow it.

Singapore is a good place. It can be even better. we shall leave it at that. :bsmilie:

i think it hasn't gotten this bad that we have to leave our homeland. besides, why should we uproot ourselves and leave?

some of us are just voicing our displeasure.

sometimes it is good to vent it all out, let it out of the system, to have our little say. not necessarily stirring controversies or brewing troubles.

In any case.. many have already uprooted but the figure was not released..

I feel this is our country and if anyone need to be uprooted, I'm sure I know who needs to....

In any case.. many have already uprooted but the figure was not released..

I feel this is our country and if anyone need to be uprooted, I'm sure I know who needs to....

i'm staying put. this is my country and my home.

Fear? fear what? didn't we lose alot already? i can only see that it will be tougher for us sg ppl..

those who fear will regret when they die.

Fear is indeed a powerful weapon.

But Hope is an even more powerful weapon.

Hehehe

Fear is a powerful weapon....

But when you know that is is unfounded, what is there to be worried about?? They can trace us, and track us... but as long as we FEAR..... we lose.....

I do not care if they can trace my vote, and even if they know who I am....

I will not change what I believe if I think it is the BEST FOR MY COUNTRY..... and I am not afraid... I have to do it... it is my duty and it is OURS duty to do what is right for our nation........

And I hate it EVEN MORE to have "small people" playing this sort of games with the electorate.... making you FEAR FEAR FEAR.....

And "small people" is unfit to do big things............

See those cameras around? Automated facial recognition. Instant Chop, Chop identification followed through with automated background check. Also will have "undercover" plain clothes officers around, so don't anyhow go up the stage infront of everyone and start to **** and **** the ***. Confirm tio blacklist.

But they won't bother small fries lah unless your face resembles Dr. Chee Soon Juan (Assistant Superintendent / ASP (NS)).

pick up line for this will be:

Can I invite you for kopi ..................... in Cantonment Road :bsmilie:

stop looking over your shoulders and striking unnecessary fear into people ......get over it .... the last 3 election (1GE and 2BE) results have shown that democracy is alive and well and nobody's going to invite you for kopi for being there

i certainly hope so. regardless, let us wait till 2016. seems like a magical figure. :bsmilie:

Apparently the protest only scratches the skin cos Chan Chun Sing dismissed it as normal for a society to have different opinions and continued to emphasize on new citizen integration, in an event in Queenstown according to the WAN bao.

A single one-off event with attendance not exceeding 10k will not have any impact. Also, should not be showcasing opposition parties. It is voice from the people, not from opposition parties.

So what is next?

It is good news for developers and fast food restaurants. They will make much money from this.
New entrants need a place to stay. They need to eat.

Wonder how the triads are responding. Would they similarly have to expand their gangster recruitment with new immigrants. Maybe somewhere in Geylang they are debating over a think-tank-paper produced by their highly educated triad members. They must be worried about foreign triads who come in with the new flood of immigrants, taking over their local gangland turf.