Home studio setup

Colour correction IS very technical. When you buy, some even come with the curves and colour plots. Although, most of the time you can just aga aga. Orange correction +1, for instance is just going to be a little different from +2. When you buy those big sheets, you can get it in an entire set if you want, comes in different colours and strengths.

it's really way too troublesome for me.i think i'll just stick to strobes for a start.

guys, can the studio strobe be on the whole day.
i mean, turn on and fire away from say....10am to 10pm at night?
do i have to switch it off in between for it to cool off?

Cheers! and Best Wishes to the one who loan you the lights :bsmilie:

most studio strobes can take it. as long you don't fire them like machine gun.

oic.i wonder how those commercial studios tahan.
you know?those that shoot graduation gowns?
they open full day right?and they fire away whole day, but not machine gun style lah.:bsmilie:

oic.i wonder how those commercial studios tahan.
you know?those that shoot graduation gowns?
they open full day right?and they fire away whole day, but not machine gun style lah.:bsmilie:

if you are into remote flash control invest on this - Pocket-Wizard Plus II.

Maybe they got one box of flash tubes on standby... Blown, then change, then blown, then change... :bsmilie:

submit your quotation to her (assumed TS a girl)

Hi guys...

this sure is a loooonngg thread. I skipped all the way after page 8. :sweatsm:

Anyway, Jeanie, you dont actually have to buy all things. For example, light tent. You can make them first if you're not sure if you have use for them. Like here:
http://www.pbase.com/wlhuber/light_box_light_tent
and
http://www.studiolighting.net/homemade-light-box-for-product-photography/

I plan to make one of these actually cos i'm on super budget. Haha.. Thanks for starting the thread cos i've been searching online extensively for more info about setting up home studio too. For me, i plan to use hot lights actually cos i dont have $$.

Sorry to ride on your thread, but can anyone tell me where i can get the hotlights from? thinking of using tungsten (white) or halogen, if there's white. I can only find yellowish halogen lights so far. Plus stands/clips/whatever to mount the lights. thanks!

you can shoot that long hours meh?
when you are not working, you can switch it off in between your brake.

Remote trigger lor. Can use to trigger camera or use it to trigger strobes wirelessly.

you can shoot that long hours meh?
when you are not working, you can switch it off in between your brake.

catchlights, you havent ans me regarding the pics lei.
of course, no obligations.;)
thanks

Remote trigger lor. Can use to trigger camera or use it to trigger strobes wirelessly.

oh, got people tell me b4 in this thread.can use the cord lah.no need wireless....yet.

Pocket Wizards are the most reliable, but also the most expensive wireless trigger.

Seriously though, just get a $70 Jinbei trigger. Works really well and it's pretty cheap compared to $600+ u pay for Pocket Wizards. Cords while cheap, aren't that reliable at times and you are limited by the length of it.

Pocket Wizards are the most reliable, but also the most expensive wireless trigger.

Seriously though, just get a $70 Jinbei trigger. Works really well and it's pretty cheap compared to $600+ u pay for Pocket Wizards. Cords while cheap, aren't that reliable at times and you are limited by the length of it.

splut, cords arent reliable?i tot as long as connected, it will be SURE fire?:dunno:

Jeanie,

I suggest that you stick to the very basics. Forget about using wireless trigger or color gels. You can integrate these items once you have mastered the techniques.

In the meantime, 'jio' more people to model for you and learn from each shoot. Experiment with different lighting arrangements.

A very good reference book to learn from is 'Master Lighting Guide For Portrait Photographer' by Christoper Grey. Chris was one of my mentor when I was still a lad in photography school. He is a very concise and humble teacher.

Jeanie,

I suggest that you stick to the very basics. Forget about using wireless trigger or color gels. You can integrate these items once you have master the techniques.

In the meantime, 'jio' more people to model for you and learn from each shoot. Experiment with different lighting arrangements.

A very good reference book to learn from is 'Master Lighting Guide For Portrait Photographer' by Christoper Grey. Chris was one of my mentor when I was still a lad in photography school. A very concise and humble teacher indeed.

advise taken and jotted down.
thanks very much.i will swing by kino later to grab the book.

you guys STUDY photography in photography school.
if that is not cool, i dont know what is.
power:thumbsup: