Hobby - Photography: Only for those with $$$?

Hobby - Photography: Is it ONLY for those with $$$?

destiny_star said:
U mean Leica or Lecia? if Leica, it's cheap meh during then?? :sweat:

He never mention he owns a Leica, and Leica is not the only German made camera.

can be a Praktica camera also

catchlights said:
He never mention he owns a Leica, and Leica is not the only German made camera.

can be a Praktica camera also

i was refering to Belle&Sebestian quote in response to joe's post. i din say it was either.. i was juz clarifying.. any misunderstanding somewhere???

There are much more hobby that are way more expensive than photography.
Take for example, browse through audiophile forums in Singapore, and you can find many people asking around for recommended hifi setups, with a budget of SGD15k and above! :bigeyes: And believe it or not, that is just the tip of the iceberg.

destiny_star said:
i was refering to Belle&Sebestian quote in response to joe's post. i din say it was either.. i was juz clarifying.. any misunderstanding somewhere???
Misunderstood that you presume Joe own a Leica.

ortega said:
you don't need to buy the best to get good pictures
P&S also able to get good results
You just need to spend time to get to know your equipment
in fact some award winning images are captured by Prosumer digicams
and I am not talking locally (international awards)

award winning does not mean that you are good.It just means your photos pleased the judges and it suited the theme.

behyx said:
There are much more hobby that are way more expensive than photography.
Take for example, browse through audiophile forums in Singapore, and you can find many people asking around for recommended hifi setups, with a budget of SGD15k and above! :bigeyes: And believe it or not, that is just the tip of the iceberg.

yah lor.... and the most expensive and addictive hobby of them all.... Gambling.....:think: Gamblers out there dun flame me okay?

My votes were "Yes" & "No".

Yes, to a certain extent because to do a wide variety of photography (e.g. macro), u do need to spend some (quite alot, in fact) money to buy different accessories...

No because anyone can do it. What comes out depends on the "photographer's" eye for detail & art...

If u talking abt hobbies that are expensive, there are others also & more useless. Like R/C cars for e.g. Especially those on gas one, 1 small engine block maybe abt $600+. Then the chassis set up etc. Like miniature cars with the very latest in material & efficiency design (ball bearings, carbon fibre, titanium etc). Even if it's not a gas car, but battery powered, the rechargeable battery packs & their very modern chargers are also more expensive than camera's.

I started taking photos only when i had my first owned camera, a Canon APS IXUS. That is in the late 90s. Then my first digicam is a 1.3mp Sony one around Y2K. I upgraded slowly selling off the present & buying the nxt. So from a 1.3mp, to a 2.0mp, to a 3.2mp, to a 4.0mp, to a 4.0mp mega zoom, to a 5.0mp mega zoom & then my present entry level dSLR...

most impt thing is whether we enjoy. a cheap camera phone also very fun

Paul_Yeo said:
most impt thing is whether we enjoy. a cheap camera phone also very fun

Agree, hobby is meant for enjoyment.

politicalartist said:
award winning does not mean that you are good.It just means your photos pleased the judges and it suited the theme.

by world class photographers competing on a world stage against other world class photographers.

so it shows that the pictures captured by the Prosumer camera is good enough.
I was not talking about the photographer but just to show that you can also use prosumer cameras to take good pictures.

destiny_star said:

lighten up guys, its meant as a joke, i intentional misspell it;)

Belle&Sebastain said:
lighten up guys, its meant as a joke, i intentional misspell it;)

nah.... no prob guys.. not a big deal..
sometimes we do tend to mis-read some words.. ;p

No. I started photography back when I was getting $2 a day for lunch.
Save money to buy film, shoot the roll, save money to develope and print.

FiveIronFrenzy said:
No. I started photography back when I was getting $2 a day for lunch.
Save money to buy film, shoot the roll, save money to develope and print.

same here.. i started young too.. but since no $$ to develop fotos so i had to stop shooting for many yrs till i got into NS, then started shooting again... :sweat:

i saw some pros using P2S camera .. photo and content just as good ...

I shoot with a 'cheap' $500 camera... :sweat:

i ever came across a camera shop that gave me a word of wisdom when my friend tried to bargain

friend: "uncle, i no money liao leh.. pocket just burned a hole from buy XX (camera product)"
uncle: "friend, when you have no money, you won't think of walking into a camera shop in the first place"

He gave a fact and down to earth comment. Followed by a lesson on feeding families and how to spend money..

yanyewkay said:
i ever came across a camera shop that gave me a word of wisdom when my friend tried to bargain

friend: "uncle, i no money liao leh.. pocket just burned a hole from buy XX (camera product)"
uncle: "friend, when you have no money, you won't think of walking into a camera shop in the first place"

He gave a fact and down to earth comment. Followed by a lesson on feeding families and how to spend money..

Quite true, if you can't even feed yourself or your families, then buying an expensive camera is quite useless.

Anyway, from my point of view...yes and no to the qn. Yes is that those with some money can get a cheap film camera to begin the journey of photography, otherwise the person has to loan from others(whether they want to do it, that is another question).

No is because photography is about the mind, eye, skills and how creative you are. Carrying SLR doesn't make you smell like a pro when you have 'crappy' shots.

Like most hobbies, bringing things to the next level will definitely up the expenditure. So yes photography is for you only if you can spend. It kind of sucks, but true. Up to a certain level, a point and shoot will not be able to live up to a shooter's ability.