Haunted House?

Never heard of such things. In fact it should help to ward off the ghosts.
For this I do not agree, and why "those" around will come near you when chanting is because that are they trying to find way to repent and when someone is chanting they come near to "listen"...
Well, up to believe :)

i've never heard anything about the mantra warding off ghosts. the mantra is a reminder to the person chanting about the fundamentals of Buddhism.

in any case, when Buddhism first entered Southeast Asia, the mixing of the original teachings with local folk religions have caused alot of superstitions to develop around the religion.
Agree

hmm.. sry to OT.. but some of the things u said seems more to be of Taoist belief n not Buddhist ones..
sorry to OT too - generally there seems to be a confusion/mixture among Buddhism, Taoism and traditional Chinese folk beliefs.

whatever works though. condolences to the TS, i wouldn't want to be in your shoes! that's all i can offer.

i've never heard anything about the mantra warding off ghosts. the mantra is a reminder to the person chanting about the fundamentals of Buddhism.

in any case, when Buddhism first entered Southeast Asia, the mixing of the original teachings with local folk religions have caused alot of superstitions to develop around the religion.

After hearing the mantra, the ghost will most probably repent and hence will go away. That is why I say that the mantra will ward off the ghost

For this I do not agree, and why "those" around will come near you when chanting is because that are they trying to find way to repent and when someone is chanting they come near to "listen"...
Well, up to believe :)

Agree

Even if the mantra attracts ghost, the ghost will not harm you, as you are reciting to him the teachings of buddha

Friend you must face it without fear.. It will go away.:angel:

precisely. I encountered this kind of strange thing too before.
You just live normally. It will go away after a while (or rather, you'll get accustomed to it, hehehe).

When you hear the knocking again, and it disturb your sleep, just tell 'it' that you need to rest. Why can't you live side by side peacefully?

precisely. I encountered this kind of strange thing too before.
You just live normally. It will go away after a while (or rather, you'll get accustomed to it, hehehe).

When you hear the knocking again, and it disturb your sleep, just tell 'it' that you need to rest. Why can't you live side by side peacefully?

Not really. Few years back, my mum has a friend who told her that the ghost appear in front of them when they first shifted into the new house.My mum's friend(the owner) told the ghost that you dun disturb me, I dun disturb you. Let's live peacefully.

However, 2 years later, the ghost broke the contract and harass them everyday. When it comes to the 7th month, the ghost will appear on the last day of the 6th month and demand them to offer standard food used in offerings everyday in the 7th month.

how would you it's the sae ghost?? :D

OT here..but its true..I've got a colleague who shifted into a resale flat, he experience strange sounds/noise at nite too, and his young son falls sick easily..so he went to some mediums to seek advise..the medium (dua ya peh) went to his house and chase the spirit out and block it from entering the house again..from that day onwards my friend never had any problems again and his son is very healthy..

One of my friend more worse le! The ghost keep appearing in front of him and somemore wanna "enter" into his body! :o
This is real story wo not I made up one! A Chinese Mahayana monk suggested that he should everyday chant "Leng Yan Chou" and he did, now the ghost dun disturb him anymore.

One of my friend more worse le! The ghost keep appearing in front of him and somemore wanna "enter" into his body! :o
This is real story wo not I made up one! A Chinese Mahayana monk suggested that he should everyday chant "Leng Yan Chou" and he did, now the ghost dun disturb him anymore.

My uncle got a similar problem, but the "thing" that wanted to enter his body is some kind of "diety", but he doesn't want to become a medium, some thai monk recommend him to look for a high monk in Tibet, he went there stay for 2 weeks, now come back no problem liao..

doesnt it look eerie?so i'm telling him to change his avatar pic FIRST.
you'll be surprised what your brain does to your psychological health.

yes i wanted to say that too..that avatar pic is kind of ghostly too...maybe that is the ghost..

If you are a person with religious faith, just open the door to find out what is knocking on the door, you may find out it could be a neighbour come back late or just wind is blowing something that make it appear like a knocking on your door..

Try to change yourself and be humble, instead of asking God or Buddha or whoever to protect you and help you, do something for yourself.

People had just suggested that your avatar picture is eerie (I agree too) and your response to it had told part of your characters..

God will protect you only if you do something good and be humble to learn, right?

If you are a person with religious faith, just open the door to find out what is knocking on the door, you may find out it could be a neighbour come back late or just wind is blowing something that make it appear like a knocking on your door..

Try to change yourself and be humble, instead of asking God or Buddha or whoever to protect you and help you, do something for yourself.

People had just suggested that your avatar picture is eerie (I agree too) and your response to it had told part of your characters..

God will protect you only if you do something good and be humble to learn, right?

Can't u see I am just joking?
And some more change my avatar will have a effect of stopping the ghost from knocking my door? Thats cool isn't it?

wowwww. your whole composition makes sense, like from a diety

anyone been to Ubin ? heard there are some spooky areas barred from general public. :sweat:

I agree. All beings are to be accord with proper respect , even if it is a "ghost" . "Jumping up and down", will not resolved this. The solution all lies "within".

Actually I wanted to suggest you to chant leng yan chou, the most powerful mantra in buddhism. But in order to chant that, you have to be a vegetarian for 3 days before you can start chanting. And it is quite difficult to chant the mantra, as in the words are very hard to pronounce. The mantra is also quite long, consists of 5 chapters.

How come nobody mentioned about hiring a structural engineer to check out the place?

Don't always jump the gun that a place is "haunted". Make a log of what time these things happen: time, date, weather, temp and humidity levels. It's not that I don't believe in such things, but I do believe one should make proper real-world investigations first before classifying problems as "unexplained".

And yes, just open the door lah. It could very well just be a prankster.

Ockham's razor: The simplest explanation is usually the correct one.