Hands-on with Pentax K-r :)

night86mare, with the new K-r and K-5 you got to get used to pressing the OK button longer to toggle... menu system is a lot better than the older cameras... I like it when I press the info button a few times.
yes, i agree, the menu system is very useful.

it's ok, i will get used to it. i think it's not too bad, just a matter of developing habit.
K-x dun have AF points in the VF :bsmilie:, so i never bother changing the AF points... just use center all the way... so no need to change mode...
lol!!! yar, i didn't consider that.
Night86mare, it lacks the Infrared proximity sensor where it will turns off the rear LCD screen when you hold the camera up to your eye. I know Canon have this but not sure those sensor will work if the camera is on a tripod.

You will get use to the toggling after a while.:)

actually, i don't really want it to be on unless i want it on, etc, when i am too lazy to look through the viewfinder anymore, and just want to change settings, e.g. when i'm taking sunsets and want to take the same composition under differing light conditions (from transition from sunset to twilight). :)

so there isn't really a need for the infrared prox sensor... and on the bright side, when it's off, you save battery life!

Hello all!
I am a total newbie. Just got my first ever DSLR just now...and it's a Pentax K-R! Been following your threads. Your poison is very potent...ahahahahaha Hope to learn from all the sifus here.

i think the k-r's DR is amazing.

tonight, i noticed a very minor design flaw though. well, maybe it will just happen for me, because i like to make my camera neck strap quite short, so it won't swing around when i run or something....

just now everytime i tried to look at my playback vertically the camera seemed to try to autofocus. i thought at first, that there was some serious design flaw going on here, perhaps something wrong with the sensor... or worse, somehow the neck strap attachment area was CONNECTED TO THE SHUTTER BUTTON. the weirdest thing was that when i took it off my neck and did the same thing, i couldn't replicate it!

then i was so puzzled, i kept checking, and finally i realised that the AE-L button was being pushed down whenever the neck strap was stretched around my neck... :sweat:

this is probably because it's placed very nicely at the corner - i can see why it's there.... makes for easier handling if you use it. but perhaps could make it less protruding.

all i can say is that, with the k-r's sensor and features.... added with the build and handling of my old k20d, this is as close to the perfect camera (note: i'm easily pleased) as i can get. now imagine the levelling sensor on the k-5, 14-bit raw files for smoother graduation......... i think pentax is really (continually) doing it right, and this is the best buy i have ever made since 3-4 years ago. :thumbsup:

more from the k-r, from tonight, all iso100 - no filters used, taken around 8 pm.

5104744213_8a28671ba4_o.jpg

IMGP0015.jpg

IMGP0023.jpg

Nice pictures. The smoke isn't all bad after all.

Awesome shots night86mare. :thumbsup:
The colors are just great and I think the star effect adds to the photo.
But there looks like a little uneveness in the sky perhaps because of downsizing the image.

Great. I really like the reflection from the water.

more from the k-r, from tonight, all iso100 - no filters used, taken around 8 pm.

Man! This is beautiful! I think our next outing will be night scene shoot out, and we need Shi Fu like you and flowerpot to be there :)

:thumbsup: Sure no need for any filters. The haze gave Marina Bay that different look :)

This is about the most beautiful photo of the Marina Bay Sands I've seen so far. The unusual vantage point is what makes the photo stand out from the pack. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Man! This is beautiful! I think our next outing will be night scene shoot out, and we need Shi Fu like you and flowerpot to be there :)

I vote for that too . Been waiting for a landscape outing for very long liao :)

Nice pictures. The smoke isn't all bad after all.

actually I think the haze helps. I remember seeing some very beautiful night shots the last time the haze was here in 2006.

thanks guys -

since we're on the k-r, initially i was a bit worried that the new sensor might not retain as much detail as the previous one on the k20d. but obviously these fears were unfounded.

Power ! with kit lens or yr sigma 10-20 ?

taken with 10-20, kit lens not wide enough. :)

Man! This is beautiful! I think our next outing will be night scene shoot out

wa, that would be great - i should be able to make it then. :)

oh great shot night86mare! Its taken at a unique angle different from the usual Helix Bridge pix. How did you manage to get the starlight effect so nicely done? :)

Hi guys!

I have recently bought my first dslr, the KR :)

After some YouTube self learning, I tried the " how to make the background " blur technique, which is to use the aperture priority mode and using the lowest settings possible.

It worked for my 18-55 lens :)
But when i tried using this for my zoom lens ( 50-200 ), I'm keep getting blurred images from my liveview box. I'm suppose to get a "green box" on the liveview to confirm it's focused right? But I'm keep getting "red boxes".

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi guys!

I have recently bought my first dslr, the KR :)

After some YouTube self learning, I tried the " how to make the background " blur technique, which is to use the aperture priority mode and using the lowest settings possible.

It worked for my 18-55 lens :)
But when i tried using this for my zoom lens ( 50-200 ), I'm keep getting blurred images from my liveview box. I'm suppose to get a "green box" on the liveview to confirm it's focused right? But I'm keep getting "red boxes".

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

you are using live view to take telephoto shots?

if you are doing it handheld, you are going to have problems for sure.

maybe watch this instead:

[vid]sFQRy4Rr7as[/vid]

this is one reason why i don't want to get a EVIL camera... TTL VF > EVF, and that handholding method >>>> anything you could do handheld with live view.

oh great shot night86mare! Its taken at a unique angle different from the usual Helix Bridge pix. How did you manage to get the starlight effect so nicely done? :)

hey bro....

i don't know, i think the fog helped with the exposure quite a bit, but basically, with concentrated lightsources it won't be too hard to get the starlight effect via small aperture :)

that was f/11