Hands-on with Pentax K-r :)

SLR Revo has posted up the Price for K-r already in Facebook.

4) Pentax kr 18-55 kit (Black, White and Pink only) = $921
5) Pentax kr 18-55, 50-200 Dual kit (Black only) = $1070
No free gifts for all bundles

Wow! The prices are really good. Better than I expected. Thought it's gonna be a lot higher.

Ok guys,.. thanks very much.....

This is one hands-on we like to see for many years to come.
K-r+DA35/2.4.
Shot with LX+TAIR 135/2.8+ Fuji Reala 100.

24610035.jpg

wonder if the red one will be coming to our shores

iso3200 (with Noise Ninja)
IMGP4052.jpg

iso200, panoramic from 4 frames at 10mm
pano0003.jpg

Ok guys,.. thanks very much.....

Just buy lah!
You consider so long until the Kr has replaced the Kx :bsmilie:

The proof is already in the pudding (er.. photos). No need to think so much.
Certainly better detail retention and good NR in JPEG at high ISO than that EVF camera you are considering ;)
At an unbeatable price too.

night86mare, congrats on your new Kr.
I like your pano sample, looks great :thumbsup:

Tried the wireless remote last night and it works
even you are at the back of the camera, even you
are few meters away it never fail to focus and fire.
Auto focus feature via wireless remote is supported
thru setup in camera, no need to buy those expensive
remote with auto focus feature those cheap china made
works fine.;)

Night86mare, nice shots, especially the 4 shot pano... where is the location? :thumbsup:

BTW to all new owners of the Pentax K-r, one thing that is still not yet fully known yet is how many shots can you roughly get from a single charge of the new D-LI109 rechargeable battery. Please tell us your typical use... flash, LV, constant chimping, etc. Personally I think using the new Lithium ion battery is great because of the weight saving compared to using 4 AAs with the optional AA Battery Holder D-BH109 (not yet available). Awaiting K-r user feedback...

Night86mare, nice shots, especially the 4 shot pano... where is the location? :thumbsup:

BTW to all new owners of the Pentax K-r, one thing that is still not yet fully known yet is how many shots can you roughly get from a single charge of the new D-LI109 rechargeable battery. Please tell us your typical use... flash, LV, constant chimping, etc. Personally I think using the new Lithium ion battery is great because of the weight saving compared to using 4 AAs with the optional AA Battery Holder D-BH109 (not yet available). Awaiting K-r user feedback...

Denis, the location is La Salle SIA near Sim Lim.

Night86mare, nice shots, like those in your photo thread.:)

Denis, the location is La Salle SIA near Sim Lim.

Night86mare, nice shots, like those in your photo thread.:)

Ah yes, now that you mention it it does look familiar. Thanks.

like what desmond said, is la salle. :) i wonder why the pesky security guards did not wave at me this time round.... i think there was a concert going on so all attention was focused there.

the D-LI109 is 1050 mah i think... so far i think i have done close to 100 shots and indicator is still full.

anyways, thanks. i know i didn't ask you, but i was surfing around to find out how to prevent the lcd from turning on all the time (it should be off by default, since it is distracting when looking through the viewfinder)... and i found a thread in pentaxforums by you detailing how to do that for the k-x. :bsmilie:

i do have one gripe about the k-x, one of the major differences between it and the k20d/k100d is the need to toggle between the af point selection (if you have selected af point selection, at least, i always use that) and the iso/wb/timer/etc settings. i understand why they wanted to make it that way, so that people can change iso/wb/timer/etc settings faster, but sometimes i forget which mode it is in, and that can be a tad irritating. honestly though, i think this is just a teething issue, i.e. since i'm new to the cam, and would probably get used to this in the long run. i do think that keeping it separate is best though (via the old "FN" button).

was the k-x like this?

This is one hands-on we like to see for many years to come.
K-r+DA35/2.4.
Shot with LX+TAIR 135/2.8+ Fuji Reala 100.

Lucky young pentaxian...he will have a huge treasure chest of lens to play with ;)

night86mare, with the new K-r and K-5 you got to get used to pressing the OK button longer to toggle... menu system is a lot better than the older cameras... I like it when I press the info button a few times.

K-x dun have AF points in the VF :bsmilie:, so i never bother changing the AF points... just use center all the way... so no need to change mode...

Night86mare, it lacks the Infrared proximity sensor where it will turns off the rear LCD screen when you hold the camera up to your eye. I know Canon have this but not sure those sensor will work if the camera is on a tripod.

You will get use to the toggling after a while.:)

SLR Revo has posted up the Price for K-r already in Facebook.

4) Pentax kr 18-55 kit (Black, White and Pink only) = $921
5) Pentax kr 18-55, 50-200 Dual kit (Black only) = $1070
No free gifts for all bundles

Sigh... for 1st time DSLR owners and those who are looking for a separate DSLR, this is great news.

For pple like me who bought their k-x a month ago?.... bang...:cry:

Sigh... for 1st time DSLR owners and those who are looking for a separate DSLR, this is great news.

For pple like me who bought their k-x a month ago?.... bang...:cry:

sell it and get a k-r? ;p