Fujifilm X-Pro1

this is poison... now i am no longer keen on X100... but X-Pro1!

My only bloody worry is execution. I will wait for the reviews and the first user comments on the system.

As for Leica... well.. I am not sure if I can afford anything Leica these days. :bsmilie:
If it performs as good as Fuji claims, it will really be a "poor man's Leica", and not in a bad way. I hope Fuji keeps the standards high on the Fujinon lenses for this system, too. This way we can have a worthy Japanese rival to the established German incumbent. I will be extremely tempted to switch from my APSC DSLR system to this Fuji system once the 14mm f/2.8 is launched.

Fujifilm succeeded with X100 because it is niche as a Pro's toy. I'm a happy X100 user despite its shortcomings. But I will certainly not fork out ~$3000 for a system with dedicated lens focusing "by-wire"!
Care to share your adversity to focusing by-wire? Many sensitive mechanical control systems are now converted to by-wire, and are still performing very well even at top levels. Some examples can be found in racing motorcycles, F1 and high-end sports cars, and fighter jets. These applications all demand extremely accurate and responsive controls.

Fujifilm succeeded with X100 because it is niche as a Pro's toy. I'm a happy X100 user despite its shortcomings. But I will certainly not fork out ~$3000 for a system with dedicated lens focusing "by-wire"!

X100 focus-by-wire manual focus is retarded.

However, the implementation is excellent with Panasonic m43 cameras.

Care to share your adversity to focusing by-wire? Many sensitive mechanical control systems are now converted to by-wire, and are still performing very well even at top levels. Some examples can be found in racing motorcycles, F1 and high-end sports cars, and fighter jets. These applications all demand extremely accurate and responsive controls.

There is nothing wrong with by-wire in other industries where by-wire is applied to save human strength on operating such heavy load. However there must be a reason for even the most expensive & sophisticated lens from Nikon/Canon still adopting mechanical focusing. If you have tried the by-wire focusing on X100, you will understand the pain :). Hopefully Fujifilm somehow resolves it in the X-Pro1, especially the macro lens.

If it performs as good as Fuji claims, it will really be a "poor man's Leica", and not in a bad way. I hope Fuji keeps the standards high on the Fujinon lenses for this system, too. This way we can have a worthy Japanese rival to the established German incumbent. I will be extremely tempted to switch from my APSC DSLR system to this Fuji system once the 14mm f/2.8 is launched.

Fuji's X100 is still plagued with some issues, despite a few firmware fixes. This is my general worry about implementation. I don't plan to buy a camera that is literally a poor man's Leica, having tonnes of issues just as Leica's M9 is riddled with problems requiring multiple firmware fixes.

My only bloody worry is execution. I will wait for the reviews and the first user comments on the system.

As for Leica... well.. I am not sure if I can afford anything Leica these days. :bsmilie:

There is nothing wrong with by-wire in other industries where by-wire is applied to save human strength on operating such heavy load. However there must be a reason for even the most expensive & sophisticated lens from Nikon/Canon still adopting mechanical focusing. If you have tried the by-wire focusing on X100, you will understand the pain :). Hopefully Fujifilm somehow resolves it in the X-Pro1, especially the macro lens.

Fuji's X100 is still plagued with some issues, despite a few firmware fixes. This is my general worry about implementation. I don't plan to buy a camera that is literally a poor man's Leica, having tonnes of issues just as Leica's M9 is riddled with problems requiring multiple firmware fixes.

Like what they say, the proof is in the pudding. Let's leave our expensive purchase decisions till after the camera is available and reviewed by a number of reputable sites. Even better if we can play with it at the stores after the early adopters are done snapping up the first wave of stock. ;)

I don't plan to buy a camera that is literally a poor man's Leica,

If it is a firmware issue, it can be fixed. I dun see XPro is poor man Leica, indeed more technology advanced than Leica. It has AF, no AA filter, new EXR technology, hybrid viewfinder.

It will be my poor man's leica.
I will foresee myself getting leica lenses for this. and with the EVF, the VF magnification issue can be negated.
Now I want to see how do they do manual focus. (by focus confirmation/split screen option)

One has to keep in mind the pre-order price of the X pro1 body is already almost the same as the price of a new D700 body in Malaysia...

Not cheap. Fuji is certainly charging a premium for what they position to be a niche product. I wouldn't exactly use the "poor man" term with this cam.

One has to keep in mind the pre-order price of the X pro1 body is already almost the same as the price of a new D700 body in Malaysia...

Not cheap. Fuji is certainly charging a premium for what they position to be a niche product. I wouldn't exactly use the "poor man" term with this cam.

It's poor man leica, as it makes u as poor as leica does? ;p

Body is indeed expensive...though there were short glimpse of USD$13xx preorder prices with 35/1.4 on expansys USA, it had been removed liao...

43 Rumors | Blog | Fuji marketing trick? X PRO 1 real price damn low? If this was "right" price, that would be interesting...

$13XX with 35/1.4 ? wonglp, let order one piece each.

Bo liao lor...maybe it's a gimmick, amazon post few hrs price gone, expansys do the same...fuji probably want to test water?

Even if can preorder they may not honor...

Really poisoned by this camera. Already start saving for the camera and the 3 lenses.. I don't have a system now and this will be a good start for me!:)

Hmmm... Not sure whether it is just me or not but after looking at some pictures and videos, i thought the camera looks quite plasticky and a bit cheapo looking... :/ However I do hope the IQ produced by this camera will be on par or even better than the X100.. And hopefully they release a chrome version too!

Is the MF on the X100 still gimmicky? :dunno:

Fujifilm X-Pro-1 Hands-On: Intoxicatingly Simple | Gizmodo Australia

"The camera’s one drawback, and Fuji has told us that this will be the case on the production models, is that the autofocus isn’t going to be as snappy as it is on other cameras. Fuji says thats because that’s not what this camera is about. Fine, but it’s going to annoy the hell out of you if you’re used to a good point-and-shoot camera or DSLR."

Looks like this is going to be a deal breaker for me. That's the precise reason I got rid of my X100. The other deal breaker for me is the lack of built in flash and the optional small flash EF20 make the thing much bigger. And the other thing is that I wanted a zoom and the zoom coming out 18-46 F4 is two stops less than the X10.

Comparing the X10 at ISO 800 with a X100 at ISO 3200 to simulate the two stop difference, via the studio comparison tool shows that the quality is similar in terms of noise.
Studio shot comparison: Digital Photography Review

So I'll probably skip the Pro1, unless the Pro1 noise levels are at least 3-4 stops better than the X10. Or wait for the generation X100/Pro1 which hopefully will have better auto focus.

Fujifilm X-Pro-1 Hands-On: Intoxicatingly Simple | Gizmodo Australia

"The camera’s one drawback, and Fuji has told us that this will be the case on the production models, is that the autofocus isn’t going to be as snappy as it is on other cameras. Fuji says thats because that’s not what this camera is about. Fine, but it’s going to annoy the hell out of you if you’re used to a good point-and-shoot camera or DSLR."

This will not really bother people who wants to put manual focus M mount lenses in front of the cam....

True. But for me, I not yet reach that level of Nirvana ... I'm just looking for a great point and shoot, which needs to have good high ISO, fast and accurate auto focus and view finder.