Fuji S602Z has arrived...

Wow...I'm damn excited. I juz bought my Finepix S602Z at 7pm today from MS Color. Like expected, the camera is SUPERB!!

Will try to post some pictures soon. Pay $1260 for it with freebies like a original finepix minipod and leather casing.

Have placed an order from AP but their stk will only arrive earliest on MOn as I have enquired from them in the afternoon. AP's price is fixed at $1260 as well, but dunno before GST or not.

The Uncle at MS COlor is so pretty friendly, they let me played 1 hr with the camera until I can't resist the temptation but to buy it...haha:rbounce: :rbounce:

Originally posted by chronox
Wow...I'm damn excited. I juz bought my Finepix S602Z at 7pm today from MS Color. Like expected, the camera is SUPERB!!

Will try to post some pictures soon. Pay $1260 for it with freebies like a original finepix minipod and leather casing.

Have placed an order from AP but their stk will only arrive earliest on MOn as I have enquired from them in the afternoon. AP's price is fixed at $1260 as well, but dunno before GST or not.

The Uncle at MS COlor is so pretty friendly, they let me played 1 hr with the camera until I can't resist the temptation but to buy it...haha:rbounce: :rbounce:

can post some samples?

congrats :) had wanted to go down but decided against it. do they have lots of stock?

Will be going out soon to take some night shots, hopefully can post some sample pictures soon;)

Anyway, I'm not very sure if there are lotsa stk. There were only 2 pieces when I called in the afternoon. A few more arrived in the evening. Think more shd be coming in soon.:)

Great! Hope to see your sample pics soon. :)

Question: Are the mini tripod and leather case the only freebies? Can you give us a breakdown of the items that comes along in the S602 package? Thanks!

That's right, the tripod and the casing are the only freebies, but u can get special discount should u get other accessories. I already had a 128mb CF so I didn't get any.

Anyway, MS color is in AMK Central. Very close to Jubilee and the S11 coffee shop. At first I thought the place looks abit intimidating but I soon realise the people there were great. They actually ahve a website.

Anyway, the accessories that came only was pretty standard. No rechargeable but only 4xAA alkaline batteries; the software provided is Photoshop deluxe, I was hoping they will give Photoshop Element; 16mb SM card...:)

I have already taken some night shots...anyway I can post the pictures? I have a Yahoo Photo A/c, will that do?

comparing c4040, G2, CP5000 & some other cameras, i feel that each MP will cost about S$300 or so......

since fuji602z is 3 MP and cost almost the same as G2/C4040, you would be paying about S$300 for the extra zoom....

i don't know if the shutter lag is really short for fuji602z, but my my C4040 is rather fast (after half pressed), the G2 is even faster (comparable to a DSLR lag, read from imaging resource comparing c4040, G2, CP5000 & some other cameras, i feel that each MP will cost about S$300 or so......

since fuji602z is 3 MP and cost almost the same as G2/C4040, you would be paying about S$300 for the extra zoom....

i don't know if the shutter lag is really short for fuji602z, but my my C4040 is rather fast (after half pressed), the G2 is even faster (comparable to a DSLR lag, read from imaging resource see prefocus timeing 0.095 sec http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/G2/G2A7.HTM ....)

C4040 aperture is F1.8-F10, very bright and wide too......., uses AA batteries....

Originally posted by looteer
comparing c4040, G2, CP5000 & some other cameras, i feel that each MP will cost about S$300 or so......

i don't know if the shutter lag is really short for fuji602z, but my my C4040 is rather fast (after half pressed), the G2 is even faster (comparable to a DSLR lag, read from imaging resource comparing c4040, G2, CP5000 & some other cameras, i feel that each MP will cost about S$300 or so......

i don't know if the shutter lag is really short for fuji602z, but my my C4040 is rather fast (after half pressed), the G2 is even faster (comparable to a DSLR lag, read from imaging resource see prefocus timeing 0.095 sec http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/G2/G2A7.HTM ....)

C4040 aperture is F1.8-F10, very bright and wide too......., uses AA batteries....

if people were to take into consideration one MP would cost around S$300, then who would buy cameras like D1X or od D60 already. 6 megapixels for S8k plus for a D1X? where would the extra money go into after paying S1.8k for the the megapixels alone? and that is the body alone.

maybe you can say that the those are digital slrs and cannot be compared to the consumer digital cameras, fair enough. then tell me, how is that so that you pay a few thousand more for the D1X when it is the same megapixel as the D60? both also 6 megapixel machines right?

just the humble thoughts of a newbie. dun flame me.;)

Some Night Shots Taken with the S602Z.

2292912.Dscf0045.jpg

2292931.Dscf0047.jpg

2292989.Dscf0035.jpg

2293016.Dscf0031.jpg

2293022.Dscf0029.jpg

The pictures were all straight out of the camera, no editing done done.

Sorry, not aware that Pbase doesn't allow direct linking.

Anyway, the pictures are under the Gallery name "Woodlands Causeway".

Pls pardon my skill;p Will try to post some day shots later in the day:rbounce:

looteer,

You reasoning is a bit simplistic.

The different cameras cater for different markets. That's why Olympus have big zoom cameras like the 2MP C700UZ and C2100UZ (selling for ~$900) and Canon have the Pro 90 IS (still selling for >>$1000 despite only 2.6MP!!!). There're 3MP/4MP cameras selling for less than the prices of these cameras but people still go for these cameras.

The reasons why people like the S602Z (bigger zoom, hotshoe, microdrive support, low noise, etc, etc) will of course be different from why people go for the C4040 (with a faster lens and higher MP CCD). There's no perfect camera yet for every budget.

The S602Z meets my needs (apparently not yours ;p ) and allows me to shoot the things I want. I would like a faster lens and higher MP but the corresponding price of the camera would be higher. Anyway, like I mentioned, the pics taken by the S602Z don't lose much in resolution compared to any 4MP prosumer/consumer cameras.

from imaging resource: S602Z 1150/1450 (strong details/extinction), C4040 1200/1500, G2 1100/1300.

from dpreview: S602Z 1200/1200/900 (horizontal/vertical/diagonal) C4040 1150/1100/1000 G2 1250/1200/1000

yes looteer, I agree with mpenza's reasoning. Pricing nowadays is not just on megapixels and zoom and that's it. Camera's build, functions, capabilities, features, consumer's demand, quality control, and a whole lot of other things determine whether the price is worth it or not. In my opinion the s602z is reasonably priced at $1260, although I wished it would be below $1200.

If we really compare megapixels, I would liken the s602z to a 6MP camera instead. I compared the super-CCD interpolated 6MP images of the s602z to the 5MP images of the Nikon 5700, and I must say s602z's images only lose out slightly. Given the price of $1200, I would take the s602z's slightly-lousier 6MP over Nikon's 5MP. Yah I know the CCD chip physically is still a 3MP one, but end of the day, is it the physical chip we are after, or the final image? I would choose the latter lah. :)

btw, chronox, I'm damn jealous. :D

Some Night Shots Taken with the S602Z.

2292912.Dscf0045.jpg

2292931.Dscf0047.jpg

2292989.Dscf0035.jpg

2293016.Dscf0031.jpg

2293022.Dscf0029.jpg

The pictures were all straight out of the camera, no editing done done.

Could you state the modes (shutter/exposure) you are using? These pixs are pretty dark. Did you use a tripod cause first pix not clear?

Still waiting for mine to arrive.

Originally posted by mpenza
you handled it in the stores today? there's an adaptor that needs to be fixed to the lens barrel before you can fix on filters/lenses.

there're few good teleconverters around. many claim to be 2x or more only to be less in reality. distortion or not would depend on how good the teleconverter is. It's hard to find cheap teleconverters for a big lens camera like S602Z cos the cost will be high.

so does the adaptor come in the box ? or must buy ?

Originally posted by shawntim

so does the adaptor come in the box ? or must buy ?

must buy separately. Fujifilm's one however, can only be bought together with either the wide-angle converter or the teleconverter.

There's an alternative OEM one.

Saw the S602 displayed at Harvey Norman parkway parade.
No price displayed. Quite nice built..... Didn't try it coz salesman very busy with another customer.

Originally posted by mpenza
must buy separately. Fujifilm's one however, can only be bought together with either the wide-angle converter or the teleconverter.

There's an alternative OEM one.

okie.. so do you know the price of it ? Does the current promo still gives the GP batteries ? charger or batteries ? how many batts ? charger included ? i'ts 1600 right ?

I'm planning my purchases liao
Code:
> Camera                        - $1260
> Telephoto Lens                -
> Lens Adapter                  -
> Rayovac Charger               - $49.90
> Additional 2 Rayovac AA Batts - $9.90
> 256 MB CF                     - $220