FREE!! wedding photographer for hire!!

catchlights said:
No, he will be just another competitor to other free service photographers, not to a real pros who shoot wedding day.

bokeh1.8 said:
hi, this is bokeh1.8, a student photographer learning the arts of wedding photography.. wanted to do some practical works by offering free photography services for couples. (I will be covering your wedding shoots, but no prints will be provided.. a digital version will be given instead) interested please PM me or contact me at 91499113 for more details. thanks!
just wanted to share my opinion.

I personally don't think there's anything wrong with wanting to provide free service. You're free to do what you want. If you want to pay to take photographs, go ahead. Yes, you might be "spoiling" market but that's business. Undercutting is a way to stay ahead. If people want to use you, that's their problem. If you screw up, that's your problem too.

westwest1 said:
portfolio pls...
this is a catch 22 situation:

No portfolio, no one hire you.
no one hire you, so no portfolio.

catchlights said:
No, he will be just another competitor to other free service photographers, not to a real pros who shoot wedding day.

pro comments....:thumbsup:

to bokeh1.8, re read all the postings, filter out where are the genuine advices to you. you already have the answers.

catchlights said:
this is a catch 22 situation:

No portfolio, no one hire you.
no one hire you, so no portfolio.

So shoot for free, so people will hire u, so will have portfolio? :bsmilie:

BOKEH1.8,

You sound very young.

Wedding is an important affair. Yeah, some couples may not mind paying low price for their wedding photos cos to them, the pictures part is less essential than the other parts of the wedding.

But I feel that's really a low level way for you to experiment or practice your photography skills. Either you wait years later or get yourself a mentor to tag along. Or, if possible, pay to attend a course.

Taking pics of wedding is not like you arm yourself with a cam and go out in the streets. Shoot wrongly there's a 2nd take. Think about what happens if you do make mistakes during the wedding. It's very irresponsible on your part to learn at the expense of the couples suffering unjustified photos.

Anyway, my guess is if you can't show them you can deliver the results, I doubt many, if at all, any would want your services. Just being frank here.

Unless there are couples out there who are bo chap enough to let a student like you experiment and don't mind even if many shots turn out less than satisfactory. Then go ahead. A good place to start might be your uncles or aunties, cousins, etc who are getting married and they trust you with the shots.

dont give free service mah... at least ask for food in return... :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

DT_ said:
dont give free service mah... at least ask for food in return... :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
and drink....:)

best if got a seat at the table...

Pls don't do this lar. Even when i started out nearly 2 years ago, i remember i was offering $550 with 388 4R and a 28 pages S8R picture book (not collage just pure pix).

Remember, i dived into it as a virgin, experience is only through 6 colleagues' weddings as play-play. Not even with any mentoring.

It is a very very very farking serious issue to all those who are doing this full or part time (i don't absolutely care what type actually) who needs at the very least 30, 40K per year to sustain the single biggest liability, to pay off the HDB loan.

Bokeh,

Frankly speaking, u sounded very confident of your own skill. Let me put it this way, why dun u put up some of your shots that highlight certain human emotions that depict the event. No PS please so that we can help u to ascertain whether u are up to a certain std.

However, please note that I still feel very strongly that u should follow someone for the event.

Brokeh,

You dont need to prove to the people here but you could share a few pictures at any one of the picture threads.

Yes, if you do want to go professional, you should aim to get the most out of your shots. Doing a free job is one way of getting started but there are other options too. You could also try posting your offer at other forums to maximise the exposure.

Yes, you might be spoiling some other photographer's ricebowl but if they are professional, i'm sure they would have no problem convincing cilent's to sign a package with them. Their photos will show their quality. No doubt about that. If the cilents do not appreciate quality pictures/prints, and want to cut cost for their once-in-a-lifetime event, then might as well. It's their call and freedom.

Have you worked with a professional wedding photographer before? I suggest you try if you have not. Some do treat you well and teach well, some will not translate all their skills to you because you might be their next competitor but there are still plenty of chances to learn and pick up skills on your own when working alongside with a professional photographer in an actual event. You will also be able to expose yourself to other pro in the market. Makign contacts and friends as important too, better than enemies.

All in all, I would not suggest to you to offer free services, at least charge a token for your own expenses/effort/equipment/work unless they're your friends or relative.

Yup. All the best to you! It's a competitive world.

I am just a student trying to learn.. my relatives are all married.. cousins still need to wait 5-10 years more..

my friends are all too young.. what can I do? I dun mind tagging along to a pro.. but will any pros even consider to take me in?

maybe its just me.. I can feel that most of the replies are very harsh.. and some even wanted to see my portfolio.. but what's the point? you are like attacking someone who wants to learn and nothing else..

I'm tired of all these comments.. I shall close this thread.. (mods, can do this for me? I dunno how to.. thanks)

but I have to emphasize. all of these is not aimed at targetting or upsetting the "rice bowl" of professionals.. I'm just shooting out of love for photography..

sorry to cause any misunderstandings that I want to be pro or whatsoever. I have never wanted to do that.. sorry to make you all feel that I sound confident.. (maybe I am not too good with words, ha ha..)

regards,
Bokeh1.8

ok. something more to add. I love photography and I love what I do. cheers.

bokeh1.8 said:
I am just a student trying to learn.. my relatives are all married.. cousins still need to wait 5-10 years more..

my friends are all too young.. what can I do? I dun mind tagging along to a pro.. but will any pros even consider to take me in?

maybe its just me.. I can feel that most of the replies are very harsh.. and some even wanted to see my portfolio.. but what's the point? you are like attacking someone who wants to learn and nothing else..

I'm tired of all these comments.. I shall close this thread.. (mods, can do this for me? I dunno how to.. thanks)

but I have to emphasize. all of these is not aimed at targetting or upsetting the "rice bowl" of professionals.. I'm just shooting out of love for photography..

sorry to cause any misunderstandings that I want to be pro or whatsoever. I have never wanted to do that.. sorry to make you all feel that I sound confident.. (maybe I am not too good with words, ha ha..)

regards,
Bokeh1.8

If u consider this harsh, then what can we do? i got much harshes lessons from my shifu b4, trust me, this is nothing,
Also, it is better for us to advise you then your couples scolding u later.

we are not harsh, we just wanna u good.:)

smurfman said:
If u consider this harsh, then what can we do? i got much harshes lessons from my shifu b4, trust me, this is nothing,
Also, it is better for us to advise you then your couples scolding u later.

we are not harsh, we just wanna u good.:)
thanks. I think my next thread shall be "newbie finding for shi fu" :bsmilie:

I understand how Bokeh1.8 feels.

Very much the same as Gaints vs Elves.

Both have its advantages and disadvantages.....

Chances is wat Bokeh1.8 need..

Keep on fighting for your passion !

Quite a number of Pros here.

Why not someone offer to let him tag along? He did state that he will not be charging.

Pm him lah. He sound like someone with passion.

okaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!
the school holiday is a tad too long.:bsmilie:
thus some student is out offering F.O.C services?

seriously, which true pro is threatened by this newbie? :bsmilie:
suggest the threadstarter to start off as a photographer's assistant before taking the plunge into the world of commercial photography.

talk is cheap. walking the talk is another thing altogether.

take it easy, there's no sugar!

binbeto said:
Quite a number of Pros here.

Why not someone offer to let him tag along? He did state that he will not be charging.

Pm him lah. He sound like someone with passion.

Some guy nearly messed up my wedding shoot and really messed the wedding couple up when he tagged along with me. So....
Not that there are not guys who are unwilling.