Dynax 5D: Should I buy now?

isomers007

I have read many reviews saying how good it is for its price.

I was contemplating to get a prosumer cam (panasonix lx1) since I do street photography and macro and rent a dslr when I'm doing studio photography. But long term wise, should I really get the dslr? With the Sony-KM merge, is this a good time to get the dynax 5D now?

isomers007 said:

I was contemplating to get a prosumer cam (panasonix lx1) since I do street photography and macro and rent a dslr when I'm doing studio photography. But long term wise, should I really get the dslr? With the Sony-KM merge, is this a good time to get the dynax 5D now?
For afforable body with lot of functions and a good selection of cheap lens
u won't go wrong with d5d
if sport/and fps mean alot to u canon is a better choice

eow said:
For afforable body with lot of functions and a good selection of cheap lens
u won't go wrong with d5d
if sport/and fps mean alot to u canon is a better choice

eow:flame:del_ctrlnoalt

y canon?

eow:flame:del_ctrlnoalt

y canon?
canon is good seriously ..
noise level and af accuarcy is :thumbsup:
except for the price:devil:

You have to remember that some people are also fans of Nikon you see. ;) (They even think of changing systems too you see. :D )

Anyway, yes, Canon noise levels are pretty low.

Hi
Any comparison between the istDL and the 5D?
Price and size advantage to the pentax but Image Stabilisation for the 5D...?

lens availability...pentax lenses are even harder to source in singapore compare to minolta

I equoted mscolor...but they just sent
<minolta dynax 5D: sony buy over minolta ,be adviced>

so where can i get this? i know i have to be careful at alan photo...mite have grey sets. how to tell the diff?

As to going into DSLR, you had stated you have used one before so you should be able to judge on the need for a DSLR.

If you are in no hurry, why not wait till SONY release the new DSLR in June/July. By then you can decide if it's good for you to go into the Minolta system. If you still like the KM5D then, most likely price will drop further after the new model is released. :)

isomers007 said:

tankm said:
As to going into DSLR, you had stated you have used one before so you should be able to judge on the need for a DSLR.

If you are in no hurry, why not wait till SONY release the new DSLR in June/July. By then you can decide if it's good for you to go into the Minolta system. If you still like the KM5D then, most likely price will drop further after the new model is released. :)

yup totally agree with it....

For ISOMERS007

i got my Dynax 5D on FEb 06... i found it was OK for me and So far so good ... coz if u r newbie in DSLR then then Dynax 5D was a good choice (in my opinion)... coz the body c/w AS (Anti Shake feature).. + the price of the Dynax 5D was lower than the Nikon D50 or Cannon 350D and it didnt c/w A/S or I/S .. u can consider it....
somemore u said u have use SLR b4 i think u can be decide or judge it urself... ;)

get the dynax 5d and own a piece of minolta history!

airconvent said:
Hi
Any comparison between the istDL and the 5D?
Price and size advantage to the pentax but Image Stabilisation for the 5D...?

Small size isn't always good except if you've got small hands. I've held the Pentax (at the recent computer show) and it feels like a toy.

now got alpha coming up...bet it would be expensive. and alan photo/ms color are not selling it anymore. guess have to wait and see. :S

u wait til the new Sony DSLR come out, i upgrade, den u buy my KM 7D lor...

to selfsell abit...

mine comes with... few stuff NOT available around now... and would cost u alot just to get them...

ML Screen - only few of us have...
2x Eye cup - not 1 but 2 (limited edition stuff, u got money also cannot buy liao), and also the original in the box...
talk about box, i have the box, and all the accessories inside, most untouched, strap unused...

hiak hiak...

u wait til the new Sony DSLR come out, i upgrade, den u buy my KM 7D lor...

to selfsell abit...

mine comes with... few stuff NOT available around now... and would cost u alot just to get them...

ML Screen - only few of us have...
2x Eye cup - not 1 but 2 (limited edition stuff, u got money also cannot buy liao), and also the original in the box...
talk about box, i have the box, and all the accessories inside, most untouched, strap unused...

hiak hiak...

If you are selling, do let me know.OK. I will be interested to buy over. ;p :)

isomers007 said:

Street photography is all about keeping a sharp eye and I can't emphasis this enuff, speed-speed-speed.

The extremely low shutter lag of a (D)SLR going in milliseconds and even a 'low' burst of 3fps I believe, would trounce prosumers anyday. Furthermore, with choices of quality lens, u can have the power and flexibility anyday. Some prosumers have their individual restrictions like a maximum aperture of f/8 and maybe a 10sec/bulb mode.

We're looking at control-control-control. If u do lotsa studio photography as ur hobby (or full-time work), u can juz get a (D)SLR to go instead of renting one since that's a 1-off investment for ur future's shooting sake.

As for the Sony-KM merge, with juicy horizon news that Sony is committed to continuing the A-Mount, continuing with lenses, I think there's little concern over the takeover. Assuming if Sony drops KM in future for good, killing DSLR range outright, forever and ever we are not seeing Konica-Minolta or Sony branded DSLRs, do u suppose ur camera will break down instantly? More oft than not, life goes on, u'll keep shooting and shooting as ur skills become better and better.

Brand takeovers is not really a major issue for me (so I wonder what's the biggie abt mergers and takeovers). If I wanna go deep into sports photography in the future, I'll get a fast sports camera like the Canon 20D, 30D, 1DMkII, MkIIn or the Nikon D200. If I'm going down on my current path of landscapes, Canon 5D, 1DsMkII or if Minolta comes up with a Full-Frame camera I dun mind (strike Toto, it will be Medium Format MamiyaZD).

Its all abt getting the right tools for the right job IMO.

I own a Dynax 5D. it's a great camera and the stock in Singapore are almost dried up.

eel said:
Small size isn't always good except if you've got small hands. I've held the Pentax (at the recent computer show) and it feels like a toy.

Yeah, the Pentax is a toy, but it's a toy that I like, as long as it can produce pics like these ;)

IMGP1660.jpg

IMGP1697_small.jpg

IMGP8005_small.jpg

IMGP2426.JPG

Besides, it (a Pentax Ds, similar to the DL) felt the best when I tried (including C/N/KM/O ones) during the Sitex Show.

All these dSLR cameras are good enough for us amateurs. It's just a matter of personal taste I guess.

My suggestion is go to a shop and try out these cameras by yourself, choose the most appealing one (to your self, not the salesman). As to lenses, you are not going to need more than 5 (mostly), and I'm sure you'd be able to find these 5 lenses sooner or later.

Cheers and happy shooting.

fengwei said:
Yeah, the Pentax is a toy, but it's a toy that I like, as long as it can produce pics like these ;)

IMGP1660.jpg

IMGP1697_small.jpg

IMGP8005_small.jpg

IMGP2426.JPG

Besides, it (a Pentax Ds, similar to the DL) felt the best when I tried (including C/N/KM/O ones) during the Sitex Show.

All these dSLR cameras are good enough for us amateurs. It's just a matter of personal taste I guess.

My suggestion is go to a shop and try out these cameras by yourself, choose the most appealing one (to your self, not the salesman). As to lenses, you are not going to need more than 5 (mostly), and I'm sure you'd be able to find these 5 lenses sooner or later.

Cheers and happy shooting.
Damn good shot!

Skin tone reproduction's damn good. :thumbsup: