doctor son throws cleaner mom out of the house

Its not just doctors per se FYI.

If u heard stories about doctors (yes, yes. I'd heard all those stories in Hospitals abt doctors cracking jokes on a paitent's life & family), I'd heard even more stories out there on other professions. Why target doctors specifically? Is it due to their pay?

Still, I'm pretty surprised. The old woman said that SHE FAILED to gain respect from HER DAUGHTER-IN-LAW? I thought it shld be the other way? Or has time and morals gone down the drain now it has to be the reverse?

In the first place, I don't understand what is with the stigma accompanied from being a cleaner or in a blue-collared job? Are so many people around working in white-collared office jobs too long that they'd forgotten about the basis and lifeline essentials of any society is a blue-collared worker?

Noticed some are talking about "Karma". I guess its all a cycle of potentially past misdeeds returning to oneself hitting another and so on and so forth. Those who are gonna shoot me down, go ahead I'd say. But to those who understand the Buddhist principle of Karma (at least even the slightest inkling of it) would know what I'm trying to say. Ok, wun go into specifics or into religion matters liao.

Of course it has nothing to do with their pay but the result of it. More so it is the result of society placing these people on a pedestal and to a lesser extent, the drug companies pandering to them (by offering them free dinners, holidays).

Yes, it is true that it happens in other professions as well but more so in the medical profession. They are constantly reminded that they are the elite and the creme de la creme - so you can understand why a large number of them have distended egos. All that is needed is to associate with them on a social level and you will understand.

Hmmm, my Aussie collegues choose not to work in the Outback because it's simply too boring. The incentives are good, however, there are MILES of emptiness there. Can you imagine working there? It's not always the case that work in the city brings better money...

Sigh.... Tetrode, you're just taking this all too personally....you shouldn't. I have always maintained that "funny" people exist in ALL parts of society. We, yes, you, me, the others, are all capable of making bad decisions. The question is "Where do we draw the line?"

This discussion has NOTHING to do with "class", and it should not. Unfortunately your posts seem to suggest that you are holding a "class" debate. Incidentally, "class" and "elite" concepts are ideas I do NOT subscribe to.

I realize that there are individuals that choose to practice these concepts. Well, that's their choice. It's a choice we all have.

By the way, in my personal experience, it's usually not the truly rich that dish out attitude, those guys are secure of their positions and have nothing to prove. Rather it's the new rich, the recent "up-graders" that give the MOST attitude. Perhaps it's because they harbour a lot of bitterness and resentment over the years, felt like they have been trodden upon, and all of a sudden, they strike it rich. You would not believe what these chaps can say or do. Money can change people, nobody is immune. So for all you guys who HUAT AH! and win the $10 Million TOTO, please don't forget your fellow CSers. Some of us are still looking at the new VR lenses :bsmilie:

Again, we should not bring out the lynch ropes and torches simply because a rag like TNP publishes a one sided storey. How many times have we have to re-evaluate the situation when new facts come to light. MAYBE the mother is a gambler and borrows money from loan sharks. Flat maybe paid in full by the father, that's why the Dad wanted the son to have it. Mother goes to TNP to get her side published to help in making a claims against the son and succeeds. We would all look rather silly if something like that came up next week. The only winner is TNP who manages to sell more papers. Jusging by the responses on this forum, TNP has accomplished it's objective of "flame-baiting" the public in order to increase sales.

Usual TNP headlines are stories like "MILLIONAIRE HUSBAND DUMPS WIFE AND KIDS WITH NO ALIMONY!!" Lots of people get worked up. A few weeks later, readers may find out that the wife had an affair and the kids do not belong to the millionaire.....SIGH...

I'm still of the opinion that we should wait for more information before coming to any conclusion. Unfortunately, I don't think that's going to be anytime soon. From a legal perspective, it seems like there are no more outstanding issues. We've heard "her" side, we have not heard "his" side, which is bound to be biased anyway, and we may never get the "true" story.

So is their primary aim of studying medicine is not to help those in need then? just bec they live in inaccesible regions?

Their aim of getting a medical degree is one of monetary or personal rather than humanitarian reasons then?

I'm not taking this personally at all. But some others are by taking swipes at me (the usual suspects I might add) and I will respond in kind. ;)

kicking your own mother out of the house the day she change the ownership.... I don't think we are susceptible t this sort of behaviour.

Have more faith in human nature. It takes a special breed to do this kind of things.

Actually, I have seen SO MANY cases. Do you guys know what is the main problem, it is those stupid old people who transfer their houses to their kids.

NEVER NEVER NEVER TRANSFER the ownership of your house to your kids. DON'T sell your hdb to help your kids pay for their houses. If you do, insist on being a co-owner.

And I also don't really like young people asking their parents to sell their HDB to help them finance a private property. If you can't afford it, DON'T buy.

my wife's grandmother is a case study. Sell HDB to help youngest kid buy bigger flat. Later youngest kid kick grandmother out. Other sons/daughters don't want here cuz they say they never get any money from the sale of the flat.

Another uncle is smarter. Sell hdb to help son buy private property but put his name inside. So now kid want to sell private property and kick his papa out, cannot :)

This is a bit rich, your argument is that it is the victims fault that they are in this predicament. If you can't trust your flesh and blood, who can you trust?

It is akin to the argument that women who have been raped, deserved it because they wore seductive clothing.

So is their primary aim of studying medicine is not to help those in need then? just bec they live in inaccesible regions?

Their aim of getting a medical degree is one of monetary or personal rather than humanitarian reasons then?

I'm not taking this personally at all. But some others are by taking swipes at me (the usual suspects I might add) and I will respond in kind. ;)

Agreed, that one of the aims of pursuing medicine should be for humanitrian reasons.

Nonetheless, doctors are also human. Would it be unreasonable to assume that doctors also want a slice of "the good life"? It would be unrealistic to expect anybody to work long hours performing work which comes with a hefty chunk of responsibility for a pittance.

Third world countries suffer a chronic shortage of doctors and nurses. Why? Because these people are being poached by richer countries that offer them better terms (ie: living conditions and pay). I personally know 2 African doctors who are contemplating of migrating to Western countries because of the afore-mentioned reasons. If you take a look at Singapore's papers today, we are also beginning to poach these professionals from other countries, no third world countries were mentioned, but we do see quite a few Burmese and Indian doctors in the Polyclinics and hospitals these days.

Of course it has nothing to do with their pay but the result of it. More so it is the result of society placing these people on a pedestal and to a lesser extent, the drug companies pandering to them (by offering them free dinners, holidays).

Yes, it is true that it happens in other professions as well but more so in the medical profession. They are constantly reminded that they are the elite and the creme de la creme - so you can understand why a large number of them have distended egos. All that is needed is to associate with them on a social level and you will understand.

That notion is a usual mistake made by the general public. This leads to unrealistic expectations from doctors. There is a constant debate on this subject within the medical community, and there was a substantial article on it in the doctors' monthly magazine a couple of months ago. I would post the article here, but I have already recycled my old magazines. The gist of it is that the general public should tamper their expectations of the medical community, realize that doctors also have their own set of problems to attend to, and at the end of the day, are also subject to human failings. This would help alleviate overtly high expectations from the medical community and reduce the work stresses placed upon it.

I frequently tell patients that it's just a job....

Do you have the statistics or facts to back this up?
I'll be interested to see if it's really something to do with doctors per se

i'll kill myself if i have such an unfilial son and daughter-in-law:cry:

he's not fit to be a DOCTOR

all doctors should have a CARING heart bigger than anyone else in the world

Oh BTW Tetrode, if u do have an issue with my debate and have a vendetta, do bring it up here where we can all have a proper verbal joust.

It seems that u have a serious vendetta against those in the medical profession as u speak and reveal your mind and thoughts and not being entirely objective on the entire situation and seem determined to condemn doctors to eternal Hell. No wonder a friend once told me that nurses & doctors are the most unappreciated lot.

Don't have to PM me with "WTF is your problem, do you have an issue with me?" when the fact is I don't have an issue with anyone here on this thread and on kopitiam unless THEY CHOOSE TO DO SO.

he's not fit to be a DOCTOR

all doctors should have a CARING heart bigger than anyone else in the world
What you actually demand from a Doctor is that of a Utophian Dream.

Unfortunately, lets get back to Planet Earth. Doctors are humans as well and all humans regardless of profession, HAVE their individual fallacies which cannot be seen except in hindsight.

Upon taking the hippocratic oath as required, Doctors are bounded to perform tasks which serve everyone regardless of age, religion, colour. But that doesn't make them instant saints or gods. Even Doctors have their limits and are only human. :)

Actually the problem is an isolated case.
It will solve by itself once the doctor is identified and his photo, name, IC, current address, and (if he runs a clinic, the name and location of the clinic) are sent (together with a scanned copy of the article in Newpaper) to most hospitals public and private, most medical associations local and overseas; most medical professional societies and most popular blogs. If he is attending a medical seminar, you can stand outside the convention hall with his enlarged photo on one placard and the whole Newpaper article on another. All the other doctors will know who he is.
Or you can stand outside his clinic or hospital that he is working at.

It will solve by itself once the doctor is identified and his photo, name, IC, current address, and (if he runs a clinic, the name and location of the clinic) are sent (together with a scanned copy of the article in Newpaper) to most hospitals public and private, most medical associations local and overseas; most medical professional societies and most popular blogs. If he is attending a medical seminar, you can stand outside the convention hall with his enlarged photo on one placard and the whole Newpaper article on another. All the other doctors will know who he is.

i wanna boycot him, any idea who he is and where is his clinic?

I can see mixed emotions here. I too have posted a comment or two. Let me make myself clear. I don't care if he is a doctor. I am not judging him. I am not saying he is guilty or innocent. It is just the act of abandoning ones mother that really pisses me off.

That would not be an advisable course of action. Once carried out, this type of action cannot be rescinded.

Caution is indicated in cases like this. The authorities frown on vigilante justice and you might find yourself on the wrong side of the law.

Frankly, we have no business meddling in the private affairs of others. The public has no authority to take on the role of jury, judge and executioner. Especially based on a one sided account printed in a tabloid. Please read my previous posts.

I can see mixed emotions here. I too have posted a comment or two. Let me make myself clear. I don't care if he is a doctor. I am not judging him. I am not saying he is guilty or innocent. It is just the act of abandoning ones mother that really pisses me off.

agree with u...

whether blue collar, white collar, elite, non-elite, road sweeper... abandon parents... haiz...

so doc cannot abandon mom... then road sweeper can? :think:

Kharma... Bless the mom... its really 'Bu Xiao Zi' to abandon own mom. I don't respect such ppl be it which class he belong to.

agree with u...

whether blue collar, white collar, elite, non-elite, road sweeper... abandon parents... haiz...

so doc cannot abandon mom... then road sweeper can? :think:

A road sweeper can have the excuse of being not able to afford to support his mon. :)

We read it in newspaper, we watch it in dramas but thing like this happened everyday......it's easy for us to jump into conclusion as a by stander :dunno:

In my opinion I would say both are at fault, thing will not get this ugly if they can take a step back.....unfortunately both are stubborn and gone for the worst and the damaged has already done......so we have to learn and remind ourselve if one day we have to make a choice like this......we live in an inperfect world so just don't be surprise that if you have to take the son's approach......but before you do that, just take a second look at this thread :thumbsup:

i wanna boycot him, any idea who he is and where is his clinic?

Yup. ANYONE KNOW WHO this DOCTOR is???? We as consumers need protection lah. Such heartless doctor, later anyhow treat me.... not trustworthy at all.

For the good of all the CS members, who is this doctor????? :)

If all doctors were to treat their mommas like this (assuming, since we can't expect the newspapers to cover everything happening in Singapore every single day if not it would be like the Encylopedia Britannica), are u not gonna see doctors at all even if u're going to croak? :dunno: