Do you remember?

only know the following:

Oriental Emporium
Sogo @ Raffles City.
Yaohan Katong (next to Seaview Hotel), Thomson Plaza.
Daimaru at Liang Court, with that really high water-jet fountain.
Clifford Pier/Change Alley was totally happening.
Big Splash!
Galleries LaFayette @ Goldhill Square
"Centrepoint kids"
Fire Disco
Cherry Coke!
Sinalco!
Collecting bottle caps!
Marbles - "Gor-li". The opaque white ones (the "Goondu") were especially prized.
MPH Stamford Road (before renovation)
Magnolia milk in a pyramid-shaped box.
SBC only had channel 5 and 8. Then 12.
"Army Series" on channel 8.
Huang Wenyong (Ah Shui) and Xiang Yun in "The Awakening"
English subtitles for Chinese programmes were translated in 3rd person/reported speech.
There was a news bulletin prog for kids called "Newswatch".
Pop hits on cassette tapes, $6.50 - $8.50. $2.50 for pirated ones.
Kickass Sony cassette walkmans.
Ultra-hip if you owned a Discman.
When the postal code still had 4 digits.
Dial phones.
When we'd actually TALK on the phones with friends.
When was the last time you used a phone card/card phone? year 1998, just before i got my own hp
Pagers were like, damn cool, man.
Pen-pals!
Pong-pong trees by the roadside.
Toy soldiers! (now where to find?)
Matchbox die-cast cars.
Roller skates and "Chopper" bicycles.
Bata Badminton Master BM2000! Gotta have 'em!
Live chickens at the market!
Feather dusters made of real feathers.
"Teamy" the bee.
See-saws at the playgound.
*sand* at the playground!
Singapore in the Malaysia Cup/Semi-Pro League (Alistair Edwards! Abbas Saad!). yeah!
Kallang Roar, week-in, week out.
Van Kleef Aquarium with the shark-tank! And electric eels and piranha at the entrance. Uber cool.

damn! i remember all!!

lao liao loh..... :cool:

I posted the following list somewhere else and 3/4 of the people there didn't know 1/2 the stuff I was talking about. Let's test the crowd here, eh? :)

Oriental Emporium
Metro Golden Mile, Supreme House (now called Park Mall)
Fitzpatrick Supermarkets
Tokyu, followed by Sogo @ Raffles City.
Yaohan Katong (next to Seaview Hotel), Jurong, Thomson Plaza.
Yokoso Supermarket, S'pore's first 24H supermarket, Tanjong Katong Complex.
Sasaki Good Guys, Japanese departmental store next to Courts Bt. Timah
The ice-skating rink at Katong Shopping Centre
Hawker centres right by the S'pore river, Fullerton area.
Big Splash!
K-Mart @ Lucky Plaza
Printemps @ Hotel Meredien
"Centrepoint kids"
Fire Disco
Kampungs (Malay Village does not count)
Paya Lebar International Airport (pre Changi)
"In"/"In-kids" @ Dhoby Ghaut/Orchard MRT (late 80s)
When Upper Serangoon Shopping Centre, Bt. Timah Plaza & Thomson Plaza were really hip and happening
A&W Restaurant along Dunearn Road, opposite Novotel Orchid Inn (now Copthorne)
KFC served meals on ceramic plates.
HANDS DIY store at Bt. Timah Rd (next to Tan Chong Motors)
Hardees @ Parkway Parade, International Building. They had the Mushroom Swiss Burger before BK introduced theirs.
Wendy's was also at Parkway Parade.
Church's Texas Fried Chicken.
Big Rooster.
Shakey's Pizza
Cherry Coke!
Royal Crown (RC) Cola!
Sinalco!
Collecting bottle caps!
Marbles - "Gor-li". The opaque white ones (the "Goondu") were especially prized.
The Orchard Bowl at the Old Orchard Cinema.
$3.50 stall movie tickets, $4.50 circle seats.
Two huge-ass painted movie banners in front of cinema: "Now Showing" and "Next Change"
Green Spot
Bus-conductors/OMO
The MRT only travelled in one line from Clementi to Yio Chu Kang.

English subtitles for Chinese programmes were translated in 3rd person/reported speech.
Sen Lam and Duncan Watt read the news.
Kenneth Liang hosted Friday Background (or was it Feedback?).
TV started at 3pm daily, but occasionally at 9am, there'd be CDIS programmes on TV till about 11am. Cooool!
When CHIJMES was still a school.
Radio One 90.5 played oldies till 2am on Fri nites, pop hits till 2am on Sat nites. All other stations stopped at 12mn.
Batam radio Zoo 101.6 was our first taste of 24hour radio.
Ocean Pacific and IXI;Z were cool brands.

When the postal code still had 4 digits (or even 2!).
Dial phones.
When was the last time you used a phone card/card phone?
Pen-pals!

Matchbox die-cast cars.
"Top-Trump" cards.

Floods along Bt.Timah/Dunearn Roads.
School being cancelled because of floods.
Roti-man delivering bread on his motorbike at night. Sometimes got freshly-bottled goat's milk.
"Teamy" the bee.
The first remote-controlled TV/VCR. (cabled, not infra-red)
Smugglin' porn to school on VHS cassette. :p
Singapore in the Malaysia Cup/Semi-Pro League (Alistair Edwards! Abbas Saad!).
When kids bought the national jersey and had names like 'Hasnim Haron' and 'D.Tokijan' printed on the back.
Van Kleef Aquarium with the shark-tank! And electric eels and piranha at the entrance. Uber cool.

:sweat:

I didnt know I was so old.:dunno:

Oriental Emporium
Fitzpatrick Supermarkets
Big Splash!
K-Mart @ Lucky Plaza
"Centrepoint kids"
Fire Disco
When Upper Serangoon Shopping Centre, Bt. Timah Plaza & Thomson Plaza were really hip and happening
A&W Restaurant along Dunearn Road, opposite Novotel Orchid Inn (now Copthorne)
Hardees @ Parkway Parade, International Building. They had the Mushroom Swiss Burger before BK introduced theirs.
Wendy's was also at Parkway Parade.
Big Rooster.
Shakey's Pizza
Cherry Coke!
Royal Crown (RC) Cola!
Sinalco!
Collecting bottle caps!
Two huge-ass painted movie banners in front of cinema: "Now Showing" and "Next Change"
Green Spot
Bus-conductors/OMO
TV started at 3pm daily, but occasionally at 9am, there'd be CDIS programmes on TV till about 11am. Cooool!
Radio One 90.5 played oldies till 2am on Fri nites, pop hits till 2am on Sat nites. All other stations stopped at 12mn.
Dial phones.
Pen-pals!
Matchbox die-cast cars.
"Top-Trump" cards.
Roti-man delivering bread on his motorbike at night. Sometimes got freshly-bottled goat's milk.
"Teamy" the bee.
Smugglin' porn to school on VHS cassette.
When kids bought the national jersey and had names like 'Hasnim Haron' and 'D.Tokijan' printed on the back.

ice kacang 50 cents only. :sticktong

Some of the things I have experienced....

Oriental Emporium
Fitzpatrick Supermarkets
Big Splash!
K-Mart @ Lucky Plaza
"Centrepoint kids"
Fire Disco
A&W Restaurant along Dunearn Road, opposite Novotel Orchid Inn (now Copthorne) ( I think the actual location is opposite the current SCGS, if I remember correctly)KFC served meals on ceramic plates.
Hardees @ Parkway Parade, International Building. They had the Mushroom Swiss Burger before BK introduced theirs. (I love their roast beef burger!!)
Wendy's was also at Parkway Parade. (& Far East Plaza)
Big Rooster.

Shakey's Pizza
Cherry Coke!
Royal Crown (RC) Cola!
Sinalco!
Collecting bottle caps!
Green Spot
Bus-conductors/OMO

Dial phones.
Pen-pals!

Matchbox die-cast cars.
"Top-Trump" cards.

"Teamy" the bee.

Oriental Emporium
- I always went to the one at Queensway shopping centre (I think now become McDonald's, a long time ago, it was a video-game arcade)
Fitzpatrick Supermarkets
- same as above, at the Queensway SC. I think there was one in Holland V (but can't be sure)
Yaohan at Plaza Singapure
- went there with my brother. There was a video-game arcade in the basement. Tank Battalion, anyone ?
- youngsters used to hang out there then, now they all go to Bugis Junction
Big Splash!
- got some photos of this with my family
"Centrepoint kids"
- also the McDonald's kids used to hangout at Liat Towers
- yeah, I remember this. used to go to the KFC at Bukit Merah. They also had waiters/waitresses in those days.
- went there on launch day. never figured out how they justified such a big place as DIY isn't as big here as in the West.
Big Rooster.
- I remembered Tai Kah Lock (still in HK, but no longer here).
Royal Crown (RC) Cola!
- yeah, used to pass by the factory itself
- one of my fav hangouts as a teen
Bus-conductors/OMO
- when the MRT started, it was only along the NS line, up to YCK only I think. My father used to bring us on joy-rides on the MRT.
- remember when before the TV commercials started, there was this radial "thing" with many colours that appeared on the TV screen first, dunno how to explain it.
- I think Duncan Watt was writing books some years back (dunno about now). Saw him at a book fair.
- yeah, used to watch those CDIS programmes in primary school. I also remember every Sat night on Ch 8 those 70s Qiong Yao movies with Lin Qing Xia, Lin Feng Jiao, Qin Xiang Lin and Qin Han.
- oh yes, this radio station really kicked some RTS butt.
- yeah, i remember some of the pirated cassettes have photos pasted on the front, you know what I mean.
- yeah, almost as small as the cassette box itself.
- I had one of the 1st discmans. A small tap on it and it will skip like crazy.
- phone numbers also 6 digits only
Dial phones.
- I got my 1st Motoroal pager a abt $200+ (discounted some more). Cannot change the ring tone one, haha.
Pen-pals!
- yes, IYS (international youth service). my penpal was a girl from US (all the boys in my class requested for only girl penpals ;)
- also casuarina trees in school. used to collect those "cones"
- got those Airfix ones.
"Top-Trump" cards.
- used to cheat at these. When your Super aircraft carrier or some big card is on top, you pull out the next card abit so if you lose, you just let the guy pull the 2nd card out and keep your aircraft carrier (or whatever). If you win, you just show your king lor !
Roller skates.
- must tie to the normal shoes one.
- floods near Tanglin Halt (near my school) also
- never cancell leh, but wear slippers to school and put my shoes/socks in a plastic bag, then change in the school tuckshop (tuckshop, now there's a word you don't hear anymore)
- yeah BM2000 was considered "branded" oredi, most of us just wear those China-made shoes.
- still remember the stinky smell and the feather-plucking machine they used.
"Teamy" the bee.
- also that courtesy lion, forgot his name.
- heard of people who smuggle porn video from JB, they just take out the inner spools and throw away the outer casing.
- still got, but very rare
- I really missed the aquarium. on the ground floor, they have those crocodiles. I remember a marine tank on the 1.5 floor and some really big ass goldfishes on the actual aquarium flloor. Also huge oscars and a tank full of arowanas. I think I saw electric eels at Science Centre. Piranhas are always a draw. The shark don't move much one - not so fun.
Airrfix model kits
- must've spent literally thousands of dollars of my pocket money on plastic model kits. Started with Airfix, then Tamiya and Hasegawa. All thrown away when I moved house.

Whew, what a trip !
Thanks for the memories.

Wow, brings back fond and vivid memories of my childhood. Please allow me to contribute some (not in any chronological order).

1. Bata? Nah, I preferred the high-cut Panda brand sneakers - the Converse wannabe.
2. Anyone wanna play "catching"? "One-leg"? "Police & Thieves"?
3. Vitalis Superhold was my grooming solution before moving on to the baby-blue or pink gel.
4. Singa the Courtesy Lion, ring any bells? "Courtesy is for free; Courtesy is for you & me!"
5. A&W's root beer float rocks! Served in their trademark chilled mug!
6. Muppet Show!
7. Loved Saturday mornings when I got to tune in to Sesame Street, Electric Company all at one go.
8. My beloved Nintendo "Game & Watch" was the Popeye version. Long before Western Bar became the hip new toy.
9. Silver Spoon @ the Supreme House (now known as Park Mall) was a special treat given by my parents for special occasions.
10. Before the Merlion was moved, it was not just a symbol of our nation, it was a park that we visited often.
11. Satay Club was THE place, not a name you use on your signboard.
12. My first digital watch was from Texas Instruments.
13. Buck Rogers was one of my idols.

I'll be back with more!

Six Million Dollar Man?
Bionic Woman?

Six Million Dollar Man?
Bionic Woman?

Wonder Woman
The Incredible Hulk (the TV series, not the movie)
Flash Gordon
Space 1999
The A-team

cartoons:
squidly-diddly
felix the cat
penelope pitstop
pink panther

Old my goodness! I remember most of the items mentioned!! :p

I also remembered all in the 1st list, including the Hardees and parkway playdeck at the top floor. :o The old WTC and exhibit center. I also remember those old Leyland double decker buses. Taxis with the gear shift level behind the steering wheel, can sit 3 in front. Umbro and Lafuma bags!

Retro headphones like this:
DSC02357640x480.jpg

DSC02356640x480.jpg

The Neptune, National Stadium and Kallang Theatre will close down soon...

better hurry up and take some pic! the generation born in Y2K will not know its existence!