DNP0i$onou$ Clubh0us3 - TCSS Part II

haha i beg to differ. took me few days to read from pg 11 - 20.. thread moves fast!
btw im not a xmm.. ;)

Sis, we're having a mini outing, see if you would like to join us

=====================================================================
Pasting the list again for anyone new who enters this thread :bsmilie:

D90(actually anyone la!!!!) dinner and poison session

Date: Wednesday, 13 October 2010
Time:1830 onwards
Venue: to be confirmed. (top suggestion: T.Payoh North zi cha)
Itinerary: TCSS, poisoning, and some semblance of food photography if possible

1) Jeezuinn
2) Skylover (Di866 + some ugly manmade reflector and diffuser)
3) Kriegsketten
4) Ongoinglearner
5) ZCA (SB600)
6) quizesilver (looking to be poisoned)
7) akerue (?)
8) Smiles88 (Should be okay. Just got pay on 13th. :))

thanks for the info guys.
im assuming CF tripods r more ex mainly cus its lighter than aluminium?

lotsa bbb soon.. :confused:

choose a tripod base on height 1st then look at the material.
take note, the height mention is without the centre column extended.
i choose r2204 because i am tall.
the T series are shorter and lighter as it is Travel series.

N series are with the monopod leg.

haha u are nt newbie lor!!!
we are the old ppl with young heart :sweatsm:

I really a newbie. I yet to have a 'good' tripod. Now still using 3 broomstick. wahahaa.. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

But should be getting this Sunday. ;p ;p

I really a newbie. I yet to have a 'good' tripod. Now still using 3 broomstick. wahahaa.. :bsmilie::bsmilie:

But should be getting this Sunday. ;p ;p

haha, at least u are using 3 broomstick. i was using "stalk" from some road side flower. :angel:

Bro, we are using the 'bro' term too often la. Bitez is a SISTER. You made the same mistake as me :bsmilie:

sorry zca.. haha.. sista not brudder here btw..

but do we really need a tripod for the sunrise shots?
i see a few peeps using Sirui's T1004, R2204 and N2204.. wads the diff between these? read dat they are gd starter tripods... all below $200 rite?

oops! My bad :embrass: ya common mistake to assume that all CSers are boys/men. hahaha.

Sirui is a Chinese manufacturer... as is often the case with products from that country, prices aren't exactly what you would call..... expensive. And yet the quality is quite all right. So it's a good value for money choice.
The tripod is just the legs and the base. On top of that you need a tripod head.
The cheapo tripod usually comes with a pan & tilt head that is FIXED onto the tripod or built as part of it. Thus it cannot be removed. The better tripods are sold with legs and head separately, so you have a choice (but then have to pay more... haha).
You can choose either a ballhead or a pan&tilt head. If you ask the folk here, I think 100% would vote for the ballhead for still photography.

Sis, we're having a mini outing, see if you would like to join us

=====================================================================
Pasting the list again for anyone new who enters this thread :bsmilie:

D90(actually anyone la!!!!) dinner and poison session

Date: Wednesday, 13 October 2010
Time:1830 onwards
Venue: to be confirmed. (top suggestion: T.Payoh North zi cha)
Itinerary: TCSS, poisoning, and some semblance of food photography if possible

1) Jeezuinn
2) Skylover (Di866 + some ugly manmade reflector and diffuser)
3) Kriegsketten
4) Ongoinglearner
5) ZCA (SB600)
6) quizesilver (looking to be poisoned)
7) akerue (?)
8) Smiles88 (Should be okay. Just got pay on 13th. :))
thanks jeez, was considering to join in, but wedn is my running day.. haha

choose a tripod base on height 1st then look at the material.
take note, the height mention is without the centre column extended.
i choose r2204 because i am tall.
the T series are shorter and lighter as it is Travel series.

N series are with the monopod leg.
how tall are you? i need to choose based on height too as hubbs is very tall..
so R n N series about the same, but N has the monopod leg... but i stil dun understand why monopod is impt....

Sirui is a Chinese manufacturer.

I check online those big shops in HK but seems like none selling them. They dun even have a sole distributor in HK!! But their webby show company register as (HK)P/L. :dunno: :dunno:

Wanna chk if they r selling cheaper in HK. Sent some emails to them in HK n China oso no reply. sianzzz :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

so R n N series about the same, but N has the monopod leg... but i stil dun understand why monopod is impt....
you'll learn a lot by joining in...! :)

monopod feature is nice to have, but if you ask me (and some here won't agree with me :) ), the height requirements for monopod and tripod are slightly different.
Tripod should not be so tall that you can't see the top LCD of your camera. That is, you probably need to stoop down a little to get your eye level with the viewfinder.
Monopod should be tall enough that the viewfinder is level with your eyes when you're standing straight. This is a comfortable posture.

So it's hard to satisfy the different height requirements in 1 device.

I check online those big shops in HK but seems like none selling them. They dun even have a sole distributor in HK!! But their webby show company register as (HK)P/L. :dunno: :dunno:

Wanna chk if they r selling cheaper in HK. Sent some emails to them in HK n China oso no reply. sianzzz :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
I heard that it's cheaper in Singapore, but can't really confirm.
But seriously, how much cheaper do you expect it to go? ;)

you'll learn a lot by joining in...! :)

monopod feature is nice to have, but if you ask me (and some here won't agree with me :) ), the height requirements for monopod and tripod are slightly different.
Tripod should not be so tall that you can't see the top LCD of your camera. That is, you probably need to stoop down a little to get your eye level with the viewfinder.
Monopod should be tall enough that the viewfinder is level with your eyes when you're standing straight. This is a comfortable posture.

So it's hard to satisfy the different height requirements in 1 device.

thanks for the advice... we'll head down soon to tk and check out the different models... but of cus subjected to moolah in pocket.. haha

hi bitez, every day is a running day :D but not every day is a outing day :p haha

i'm 1.8m,
http://www.zssirui.com/en/products.html
height w/o , w extended column (in mm)
R2204 - 1350, 1610 + ball head (G-20) will be 98 + camera body (d90) 103 = 1.51m, 1.81m
T2204 - 1230, 1480
N2204 - 1390, 1650

i am showing are the 4 section tripod. dun go to 5 section kind. as it will be usually too thin a leg on the last section.
the 2 denote Carbon fiber.

the 1 digit 2 are the higher one.

hope the above helps.

on the monopod, unless u are taking some fast moving sport etc, u dun need them. as there will not be enuff space to open the tripod leg and u need to move ard alot. this will save time and faster too in deploying.

Do note that human eyes are NOT located at the extreme top of the head :)

Ya, agreed!! So I'm getting it dis weekend. :sweatsm: :sweatsm:

Are you getting the T1004X? I :dunno: whether TK has stock for it right now. Best if you call them and check. :)

bye no more TCSS le.
going home for run le :D haha