D90 User Group (thread II)

50mm f1/.8. Got buyer this Fri appointment with him already.

Wah... I didn't know. So his 35mm sold already?

BTW anyone knows how to quote a post from another thread? This is just purely for my knowledge only. Possible use in future. Haha

Bro not 35mm meh? :think:
Sold!!!!!!! :cry:

Wah... I didn't know. So his 35mm sold already?

BTW anyone knows how to quote a post from another thread? This is just purely for my knowledge only. Possible use in future. Haha
I think Multi Quote den u go other thread it should still be selected if i'm not wrong.

50mm + plus 35mm Hmmmmmm....looks like he's moving to get the Voigtlander 58mm (aka the cream machine)... :bsmilie: BBB DD123!!! :devil:

35mm? I'm still wondering if its worth it.. :think:

Still is! But if you want f/1.4 and can live with manual...... look no further...;) (*pop*sizzle*sizzle*pop*...poison...:devil:)

If I buy from DD123. Confirm no $ for 35mm liao. tt is for sure. I'm have a hard time trying to make sure I dun over budget every month. as much as I have quite a few items on my list tt I need to get first. 35mm most likely will put one side. I will be getting 50mm then UWA first or else when I go Sydney end of year I cannot take nice photo!! :angel::sweat:

Welcome to CS. ^^

You are encourage to read more online, and join some newbie outings under the Outings subforum.

Good start here:

Camera basics
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=309544

Composition
http://www.amateursnapper.com/photog...position-rules
http://digital-photography-school.co...mposition-tips

More topics covered here:
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials.htm

Above links extracted from Daredevil123 compiled copy. ^^
Thanks jeezuinn. Cos I always travel due to my job nature, can't follow the thread on time.

Thanks skylover.

Please read this and observe this http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=216386 (posted in 2006 and is still relevant today) and kept it to D90 users discussion on the technicals of D90 and not kopitiam talk.

Thank you

Thanks jeezuinn. Cos I always travel due to my job nature, can't follow the thread on time.

Thanks skylover.
No problem. Look through this thread for some other stuff like the FN button function if you are using D90 and many other things. :angel:

morning brothers~

i'd like to find out what's the main difference/usage between these prime lenses for taking portraits..

30mm vs 50mm vs 85mm f1.4

morning brothers~

i'd like to find out what's the main difference/usage between these prime lenses for taking portraits..

The FOV (field of view) will be very different.... with 30mm you'll get more background into the picture, with 85mm, probably much much less. But for portraitures, background tends to be less important. However, the way that the details on the face and body features appear will slightly differ between the three (this is due to the angle differences)... hence it depends on your preference of shooting. Each to his/her own... Imaging this simple idea - 30mm is like a UWA for portraits... whereas 85mm is like super zoom where the angle is tighter than the other two...

Imagine standing one feet away from the subject, with 85mm the subject will much closer when compared to using 30mm when you compare the images taken with the two. 50mm smacks right in between the two. For full body portraits, using 30mm you don't have to stand too far away, whereas 85mm you'll need to step further back.

Keep in mind the crop factor when using D90 with FF/film prime lenses... there is a 1.5 (actually 1.52) mm multiplier... 30mm becomes 45mm (becomes even tighter). 85mm = 127.5mm (not only tighter, but need to stand even further away because of the crop factor)

morning brothers~

ignoring the part about "taking portraits" first, the main difference between these 3 lenses is the focal length.

If you have your kit lens, turning the zoom ring to 30, 50, and 85 mm will give you an idea how 'tight' or 'wide' the view will be with the abovementioned prime lenses.

Factors like distance to subject and how you would like to portray the subject affect your choice of focal length. This is a bit subjective. I can't give you a definite answer. Sorry.
I think 85mm on a D90 (crop factor) is commonly used for head and shoulder -type shots, where comfortable distance is like... 3-5 metres away (easy communication)?

say if the portrait shots i wanna take comprises of head/shoulder & full body, which is more suitable ar? 50mm?

The FOV (field of view) will be very different.... with 30mm you'll get more background into the picture, with 85mm, probably much much less.

Imagine standing one feet away from the subject, with 85mm the subject will much closer when compared to using 30mm. 50mm smacks right in between the two.

oh okay..i will try it out later! :)

another qn..i'm thinking of grabbing a CPL filter..currently my kit lens is the 67mm kind, so if i ever change my lens..tt will mean that i got to buy another filter(screw-on type) to fit the new lens? or is there some kind of adapter? :dunno: and which brand would u recommend? budget $100+

ignoring the part about "taking portraits" first, the main difference between these 3 lenses is the focal length.

If you have your kit lens, turning the zoom ring to 30, 50, and 85 mm will give you an idea how 'tight' or 'wide' the view will be with the abovementioned prime lenses.

Factors like distance to subject and how you would like to portray the subject affect your choice of focal length. This is a bit subjective. I can't give you a definite answer. Sorry.
I think 85mm on a D90 (crop factor) is commonly used for head and shoulder -type shots, where comfortable distance is like... 3-5 metres away (easy communication)?

say if the portrait shots i wanna take comprises of head/shoulder & full body, which is more suitable ar? 50mm?

another qn..i'm thinking of grabbing a CPL filter..currently my kit lens is the 67mm kind, so if i ever change my lens..tt will mean that i got to buy another filter(screw-on type) to fit the new lens? or is there some kind of adapter? :dunno: and which brand would u recommend? budget $100+

I think 50mm will allow for more flexibility. 85mm might be too tight for half body shots. Full body would most probably have to go for 35mm liao.

Im curious about the filters as well. Mine is currently 67mm too. Will i need to get a brand new filter for a different sized lens?

I think 50mm will allow for more flexibility. 85mm might be too tight for half body shots. Full body would most probably have to go for 35mm liao.

Im curious about the filters as well. Mine is currently 67mm too. Will i need to get a brand new filter for a different sized lens?

answer is yes, unless you get step up rings. screw-in types, as you all know, makes use of the filter thread of the lens, which in the case of the kit lens, is 67mm. so if you get a UWA and intend to use the same filter, it is a better choice to buy 77mm thread size. it is better to bigger size filters than smaller, I think, as smaller ones may cause vignetting issues. Like if my lens is 67mm, it is ok to use 72mm, but if I use 62mm, then may have some issues.

Head/Shoulder and full body would likely require 2 prime lenses of different focal lengths. You could try using the 50mm prime (middle ground) and use legs to zoom, but I'm worried that the results won't be flattering. Try with your kit lens first (ignore the bokeh) and see if you're comfortable with the results.

As for filters, my observation is that a lot (but not all) of the 'serious' lenses tend to have 77mm filter threads. If your long term plan is to replace your kit lens, then it might be worthwhile to get a 77mm CPL filter and a 67-77 step up ring.
Hoya should be a good value for money option. I think I paid in the $50-60 range for mine... can't really remember, sorry.

answer is yes, unless you get step up rings. screw-in types, as you all know, makes use of the filter thread of the lens, which in the case of the kit lens, is 67mm. so if you get a UWA and intend to use the same filter, it is a better choice to buy 77mm thread size. it is better to bigger size filters than smaller, I think, as smaller ones may cause vignetting issues. Like if my lens is 67mm, it is ok to use 72mm, but if I use 62mm, then may have some issues.

sorry har... I correct you a bit... if your lens has 67mm thread and you use 62mm filters, you won't have some issues... you'll have a BIG issue! The entire rim of the filter will probably be visible in your frame, not to mention you can't screw on the filter. hehehe :)

It depends on how far you're standing (or prefer to stand - depends on your environment)... Like ZCA says use your kit lens to test out the distances, fix it to 45mm (30mm), 75mm (50mm) and 127.5 (85mm). Just get someone to pose for you using the above distances. Well, if you have 105mm max, you can't test out the 127.5mm obviously... unless you have the 18-135mm lens handy...
eh no leh... why you convert the focal length? It's the same on the kit lens... 50 on the kit lens is the same FOV as 50/1.8 prime.... no need to multiply 1.5 unless comparing DX body to FX body.

sorry har... I correct you a bit... if your lens has 67mm thread and you use 62mm filters, you won't have some issues... you'll have a BIG issue! The entire rim of the filter will probably be visible in your frame, not to mention you can't screw on the filter. hehehe :)

ya lor. unless the person using it doesn't mind having to crop out a sizable portion of his image.

eh no leh... why you convert the focal length? It's the same on the kit lens... 50 on the kit lens is the same FOV as 50/1.8 prime.... no need to multiply 1.5 unless comparing DX body to FX body.

ya lor. when I read I had a lot of ??? above my head. haha. but the thing tt is most important is the focal length he is most comfortable at. And maybe budget comes in as well. price difference is almost X2 between the 35mm and 50mm f1.8

No meh?? But 50 f/1.8 prime is a FF lens what? On DX it is not 50mm's FOV right? :confused: I thought FOV will be changed when you use FF lens on DX body?... Wah need to learn more in this aspect on next D90 outting... (see? I'm not a pro! lolz)