D90 User Group (thread II)

just to set the record straight:

The focal lengths on the D90's kit lens (and I think any Nikon F-mount lens for that matter) are actual focal lengths, regardles whether the lens is DX or not.
Therefore, the kit lens at 35, the 35/1.8DX and the 35/2 all give the same field of view on the D90. There's no multiplication involved.

[I also hope I'm not wrong... If I did make a mistake, kindly correct me. Thanks]

step up rings..marketplace can find bo? any links? hehe...

answer is yes, unless you get step up rings. screw-in types, as you all know, makes use of the filter thread of the lens, which in the case of the kit lens, is 67mm. so if you get a UWA and intend to use the same filter, it is a better choice to buy 77mm thread size. it is better to bigger size filters than smaller, I think, as smaller ones may cause vignetting issues. Like if my lens is 67mm, it is ok to use 72mm, but if I use 62mm, then may have some issues.

ah okay.. 77mm it is then..:D hoya so cheap de meh? i tot i saw someone in mkt place selling @ 100+ wor..

Head/Shoulder and full body would likely require 2 prime lenses of different focal lengths. You could try using the 50mm prime (middle ground) and use legs to zoom, but I'm worried that the results won't be flattering. Try with your kit lens first (ignore the bokeh) and see if you're comfortable with the results.

As for filters, my observation is that a lot (but not all) of the 'serious' lenses tend to have 77mm filter threads. If your long term plan is to replace your kit lens, then it might be worthwhile to get a 77mm CPL filter and a 67-77 step up ring.
Hoya should be a good value for money option. I think I paid in the $50-60 range for mine... can't really remember, sorry.

wah this is confusing~ :sweat:

No meh?? But 50 f/1.8 prime is a FF lens what? On DX it is not 50mm's FOV right? :confused: I thought FOV will be changed when you use FF lens on DX body?... Wah need to learn more in this aspect on next D90 outting... (see? I'm not a pro! lolz)

sorry ar..kit lens simply refer to the lens tt nikon bundles with the body itself? say if they bundle a 70~200mm..means tt one also considered kit lens? :angel:

The focal lengths on the D90's kit lens (and I think any Nikon F-mount lens for that matter) are actual focal lengths, regardles whether the lens is DX or not.
Therefore, the kit lens at 35, the 35/1.8DX and the 35/2 all give the same field of view on the D90. There's no multiplication involved.

[I also hope I'm not wrong... If I did make a mistake, kindly correct me. Thanks]

step up rings..marketplace can find bo? any links? hehe...

ah okay.. 77mm it is then..:D hoya so cheap de meh? i tot i saw someone in mkt place selling @ 100+ wor..

step up rings are actually quite readily available. But I need a step up ring from 67-77mm. so I think I'm going to TK if they have it. hehe. in preparation for my ND110!

wah this is confusing~ :sweat:

sorry ar..kit lens simply refer to the lens tt nikon bundles with the body itself? say if they bundle a 70~200mm..means tt one also considered kit lens? :angel:

yes. it's considered I think. But you wait long long tt they will give so good lens... ;pLOL

"The Nikkor AF 35mm f/2D is one of the more affordable fix-focals in the Nikon lens lineup. On classic full frame SLRs it is a moderate wide-angle lens whereas its field-of-view is equivalent to 53mm on today's APS-C DSLRs. Combined with its rather large max. aperture it can be regarded as a substitution for a classic standard lens within this scope. "

Taken from here:
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-c-lens-tests/214-nikkor-af-35mm-f2-d-review--test-report

So, am I wrong or am I wrong? :bsmilie:

Sorry I didn't clarify properly... I bought 67mm CPL filter for my D80's kit lens (18-135) at that time. Just saw the mass sale site by Henessey (http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=689566)... seems like you are right... >$100... But I don't recall paying that much.

I remember accompanying my friend to Peninsula a few months back, also to get CPL for his Canon dSLR (i think it was 58mm). I sorta remember him paying about $40. Sorry... memory loss.

and about the kit lens thing... We are referring to the 18-105VR lens, which is the usual bundled lens in the one box marked as "D90 Kit".

"The Nikkor AF 35mm f/2D is one of the more affordable fix-focals in the Nikon lens lineup. On classic full frame SLRs it is a moderate wide-angle lens whereas its field-of-view is equivalent to 53mm on today's APS-C DSLRs. Combined with its rather large max. aperture it can be regarded as a substitution for a classic standard lens within this scope. "

Taken from here:
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-c-lens-tests/214-nikkor-af-35mm-f2-d-review--test-report

So, am I wrong or am I wrong? :bsmilie:
the text you quoted is definitely not wrong... :)

but that's comparing the same lens on a classic full frame SLR and a crop-factor DSLR. (Lens same, body different)

what we're comparing is different lenses on the D90 (lens different, body same)

so don't confuse the 2 issues.

pay more nia~~ :bsmilie:

recently they had this D90 bundle for GSS ma..1st bundle is with the 18-105mm VR, 2nd one is the 70-200mm VRII..almost $1k more la~ :sweatsm:

yes. it's considered I think. But you wait long long tt they will give so good lens... ;pLOL

yes yes..tt henessey thread~

does a CPL effectively remove reflection, say from a glass surface?

say i taking photos of fishes in a tank..:dunno:

Sorry I didn't clarify properly... I bought 67mm CPL filter for my D80's kit lens (18-135) at that time. Just saw the mass sale site by Henessey (http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=689566)... seems like you are right... >$100... But I don't recall paying that much.

I remember accompanying my friend to Peninsula a few months back, also to get CPL for his Canon dSLR (i think it was 58mm). I sorta remember him paying about $40. Sorry... memory loss.

and about the kit lens thing... We are referring to the 18-105VR lens, which is the usual bundled lens in the one box marked as "D90 Kit".

the text you quoted is definitely not wrong... :)

but that's comparing the same lens on a classic full frame SLR and a crop-factor DSLR. (Lens same, body different)

what we're comparing is different lenses on the D90 (lens different, body same)

so don't confuse the 2 issues.

"As usual we'll take a look at how the lens performs on an APS-C DSLR. The field-of-view here is equivalent to a 52.5mm lens on a full frame body, so the Nikkor behaves like a normal lens on DX cameras. This market niche up to now has been populated by a single third party product only (the Sigma EX 30/1.4 HSM). One of the reasons not to make this a FX lens most likely was affordability: from the first day the lens is available for below 200,- EUR (in Germany)."

Taken from the same source:
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-c-lens-tests/422-nikkor_35_18g

So... isn't that infering that 35mm f/2 is actually 53mm on DX? And 35mm f/1.8mm is exactly 35mm on DX? The two lenses used on D90 has different FOV?

"As usual we'll take a look at how the lens performs on an APS-C DSLR. The field-of-view here is equivalent to a 52.5mm lens on a full frame body, so the Nikkor behaves like a normal lens on DX cameras. This market niche up to now has been populated by a single third party product only (the Sigma EX 30/1.4 HSM). One of the reasons not to make this a FX lens most likely was affordability: from the first day the lens is available for below 200,- EUR (in Germany)."

So... isn't that infering that 35mm f/2 is actually 53mm on DX? And 35mm f/1.8mm is exactly 35mm on DX? The two lenses used on D90 has different FOV?
no ah... they are comparing 35/1.8DX with the Sigma 30/1.4, and stating that both offer a field of view approximating a "normal lens" (and by "normal lens" they mean about 50mm on a full-frame body).

I'm not denying that 35/1.8DX gives a FOV which approximates 53mm on a FX camera.

What I'm saying is that if you then un-mount the 35/1.8DX from the D90, and mount the 35/2 (an FX lens), you essentially see no change in the field of view through the D90's viewfinder.
Read carefully hor...
So if I turn the 18-105VR lens to 85mm, look through viewfinder, un-mount lens, mount 85/1.8 (FX lens), and look through viewfinder, I should see no perceptible difference in field of view.

pay more nia~~ :bsmilie:

recently they had this D90 bundle for GSS ma..1st bundle is with the 18-105mm VR, 2nd one is the 70-200mm VRII..almost $1k more la~ :sweatsm:

yes yes..tt henessey thread~

does a CPL effectively remove reflection, say from a glass surface?

say i taking photos of fishes in a tank..:dunno:

bro I think tt's 18-200 VRII. Big difference between 18-200 and 70-200.

you have to rotate the CPL filter.

oh issit, haha my bad~ :bsmilie:

feel like making a trip down to TK after work..lol..pay just came in..hands itchy.. :lovegrin:

rotate? u mean at different positions..the filter will produce a varying effect?

bro I think tt's 18-200 VRII. Big difference between 18-200 and 70-200.

you have to rotate the CPL filter.

oh issit, haha my bad~ :bsmilie:

feel like making a trip down to TK after work..lol..pay just came in..hands itchy.. :lovegrin:

rotate? u mean at different positions..the filter will produce a varying effect?

erm. I don't really know how to explain. But the CPL works best when perpendicular to the sun. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Haha! We didn't really poison you you know? But if you're already sure of what you want/need, then good!

no ah... they are comparing 35/1.8DX with the Sigma 30/1.4, and stating that both offer a field of view approximating a "normal lens" (and by "normal lens" they mean about 50mm on a full-frame body).

I'm not denying that 35/1.8DX gives a FOV which approximates 53mm on a FX camera.

What I'm saying is that if you then un-mount the 35/1.8DX from the D90, and mount the 35/2 (an FX lens), you essentially see no change in the field of view through the D90's viewfinder.
Read carefully hor...
So if I turn the 18-105VR lens to 85mm, look through viewfinder, un-mount lens, mount 85/1.8 (FX lens), and look through viewfinder, I should see no perceptible difference in field of view.

Okay okay, thanks for setting the records straight... and reset my confused thoughts. I better go delete my post so that it will not confuse peeps... :thumbsup:

if not under sunlight leh.. u know la..its very irritating to see a reflection of urself whenever u take pitures against a glass surface~ :confused:

erm. I don't really know how to explain. But the CPL works best when perpendicular to the sun. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Haha! We didn't really poison you you know? But if you're already sure of what you want/need, then good!

if not under sunlight leh.. u know la..its very irritating to see a reflection of urself whenever u take pitures against a glass surface~ :confused:

tt 1 I'm not so sure. but should be able to

50mm f1/.8. Got buyer this Fri appointment with him already.

Bro, no matter DX or FX body, DX or FX lens, when focal length is stated it is always the same and absolute scale. So a 35/2 and 35/1.8 will have the same FOV on a DX (which is equivalent to 53mm on a FF camera).

The only difference between a FF lens like 35/2 and a DX one like 35/1.8, is that 35/1.8 can be made smaller because the ring of view is smaller. So if you mount a 35/1.8 on a FF camera, the FOV will still be 35mm, just that you get vignetting.

Hope this clears it up.

Bro, no matter DX or FX body, DX or FX lens, when focal length is stated it is always the same and absolute scale. So a 35/2 and 35/1.8 will have the same FOV on a DX (which is equivalent to 53mm on a FF camera).

The only difference between a FF lens like 35/2 and a DX one like 35/1.8, is that 35/1.8 can be made smaller because the ring of view is smaller. So if you mount a 35/1.8 on a FF camera, the FOV will still be 35mm, just that you get vignetting.

Hope this clears it up.

Yep, sure does. Learnt something new again. Thanks for the reinforcement and clearing it up. Apologies to ZCA for screwing up on the concept.

Edit: hence, Nikon DX 85mm lens... the FOV will be exactly the same as FF 85mm lens if used on the same DX body. Correct?

Hope this clears it up.

hope u dun mind,
also to note, juz for easy comparison.

35 F2 on a DX body will be having a FOV of 52.5mm
35 F2 on a FX body will be having a FOV of 35mm

35 F1.8 on DX body will be having a FOV of 52.5mm
35 F1.8 on FX body will be having a FOV of 35mm but with vignette

hope is correct.