D90 User Group (thread II)

Yeah I was there! Trying to shoot the old buildings there (but lousy sky leh) and then went to Clark Quay to shoot sunset - clouds were quite nice there!

Scroll down the Custom Setting Menu to f4: Assign AE-L/AF-L button... set it to AE lock (hold) - done!

You shy har? Next time come say hi lah! Unless you're across the road then no choice lor. :bsmilie: What were you doing there, walking to TK at Funan isit? lol

haha. I would have said hi to you if I wasn't on a bus. hmmm. dunno tmr want go shoot shoot a bit or not...

maybe I should go test my luck and buy it tmr. hopefully not many people notice the box. haha

haha. I would have said hi to you if I wasn't on a bus. hmmm. dunno tmr want go shoot shoot a bit or not...

maybe I should go test my luck and buy it tmr. hopefully not many people notice the box. haha

You all along have the AF-D 50mm f/1.8 meh? (didn't notice until now...)

On the bus har, aiyah say so lah - thought you jalan jalan lol... Shoot lah, rain or sunny whenever I do go out, my DSLR and tripod goes with me! :bsmilie:

You all along have the AF-D 50mm f/1.8 meh? (didn't notice until now...)

On the bus har, aiyah say so lah - thought you jalan jalan lol... Shoot lah, rain or sunny whenever I do go out, my DSLR and tripod goes with me! :bsmilie:

got it in july. why? you getting 1?

D90 no weather sealing? later kena flood inside if heavy rain. haha

got it in july. why? you getting 1?

D90 no weather sealing? later kena flood inside if heavy rain. haha

Oh just curious... I haven't decided on my mid-range focal lengths yet... 35 - 50 - 58... will take my time to ponder ponder... :bsmilie:

Lad, you like to walk in the rain holding your DSLR har? Keep in the bag, and when rain stops - and it usually does :bsmilie: ... you might get lucky with beautiful evening clouds...

haha. get the 35mm tt DD123 is selling! but it seems tt many ppl r interested in it. I got my 50mm in early July. I think 5. haha. 4 days aft GST offset

Nope, no spare cash for the moment.... too bad eh? Will have to sit it out anyway... I want to enjoy my UWA at the moment, dun wanna get distracted too fast... :bsmilie:

Today, I've learnt to set my AE-L/AF-L button to "on" all the time... and "off" when I press it again. Better than trying to hold it down together with the shutter pressed halfway and then hold it down longer to recompose before shooting... If in default mode (need to continuously press down) I'd almost always end up accidentally firing off a shot (what a waste of shutter count! :bsmilie:).

AE-L/AF-L is recommended for landscape shoot when using with a slot-in filter. Some experienced photographer suggests metering the scene first, lock the exposure, before pulling down the filters...

Anyone tried out multiple exposure shoots before? What is the real purpose of this capability / function actually. Any good and useful examples?

what is this 'multiple exposure shoots' that you're referring to? :)

That dreaded AF-L function was what caused me to mistakenly suspect SWM failure on an 18-105VR lens, during recent Newbies Outing. I was wondering how come half-press the shutter release and then no auto-focus happening...
But AE-L with that button... hmmm, I'm usually in M mode, so I won't find it useful. I never press that button :)

That dreaded AF-L function was what caused me to mistakenly suspect SWM failure on an 18-105VR lens, during recent Newbies Outing. I was wondering how come half-press the shutter release and then no auto-focus happening...
But AE-L with that button... hmmm, I'm usually in M mode, so I won't find it useful. I never press that button :)

is it bracketing? I just realised something... I need a high stop ND filter. haha

Yeah, I use it in Aperture Priority mode. :-) What most Landscape photographers use MOST of the time...

Page 121, starting page - your homework for tonight... lol Will try testing it out when I can also.

is it bracketing? I just realised something... I need a high stop ND filter. haha

Whad? 10 Stop?? Uh-oh... you're way in too deep! B+W ND110 Chiong-ah!!!! But wait... there is a loooooong queue where ever you go.... :bsmilie:

Bracketing? Not exactly the same... the hint in the intro page sounds almost like saying HDR.... Macam combining 2 to 3 exposures into one image...

Whad? 10 Stop?? Uh-oh... you're way in too deep! B+W ND110 Chiong-ah!!!! But wait... there is a loooooong queue where ever you go.... :bsmilie:

Bracketing? Not exactly the same... the hint in the intro page sounds almost like saying HDR.... Macam combining 2 to 3 exposures into one image...
you mean let the camera take multiple exposures and merge using the in-built processor? hmmmmmmmmmmmm........ nah...
I prefer to bracket and merge in PP... :)

whhooooo.... 9-stop ND here I come this weekend! :D

btw, I'm probably gonna organize a night "car light trails" Newbies outing from an overhead bridge next week (tues 24th or wed 25th).
Will go recce possible location this evening. Likely to be Toa Payoh.
Anybody that is interested and can make it, PM me :)

Ya.... I realised there's a very long queue everywhere.:cry: and I only have a ND4 currently. I know now sgcamerastore has a pre-order list. $135.

Outing? Hmmm. Should be interesting. I think I want to join!:D

you mean let the camera take multiple exposures and merge using the in-built processor? hmmmmmmmmmmmm........ nah...
I prefer to bracket and merge in PP... :)

whhooooo.... 9-stop ND here I come this weekend! :D

D80 has this function too right?

dunno leh.. I think not... :)

I will test it out and see what it looks like... since there's this function might as well try it... If the result really si-beh-pai-kuah... then okay lol... LL.... :bsmilie:

I think the merging buay kong jin ho kuah... Tried once

Interested in it,pm me.thx:)
why PM you?
running low on funds.... have to give it a miss. sad

edit : skylover grab grab grab!! at least you know the seller takes gd care of his equipment!
ps.. Juz reach hm.. super duper bux day..
BTW guys.. I have decided to sell my 35/1.8.
Going to move to something else... ;)
wahoo.. too bad I'm strip of cash. DD123 unlesss you don't mind about installment or wait till next mth den I buy from you? First or 2nd week of next mth.. Confirm buy if you don't mind waiting for my cash flow to come in.
Today, I've learnt to set my AE-L/AF-L button to "on" all the time... and "off" when I press it again. Better than trying to hold it down together with the shutter pressed halfway and then hold it down longer to recompose before shooting... If in default mode (need to continuously press down) I'd almost always end up accidentally firing off a shot (what a waste of shutter count! :bsmilie:).

AE-L/AF-L is recommended for landscape shoot when using with a slot-in filter. Some experienced photographer suggests metering the scene first, lock the exposure, before pulling down the filters...

Anyone tried out multiple exposure shoots before? What is the real purpose of this capability / function actually. Any good and useful examples?
Nv really use that function. Anybody try already can tell me =X
btw, I'm probably gonna organize a night "car light trails" Newbies outing from an overhead bridge next week (tues 24th or wed 25th).
Will go recce possible location this evening. Likely to be Toa Payoh.
Anybody that is interested and can make it, PM me :)
what time will that be? Cause Next week I'm at North side all the way most probably..

Ahem.... N10-24 in B n S.... not bad price too...