D40

I tried my friend's D40 lastnight. Camera is small but grip is ok, still quite comfortable. Its really a very speedy camera, we shoot raw and the continuous shooting is really good. I think we shoot around 10 pics then it starts slowing down.. Pic quality is great as usual(with all Nikon Dslr). Its well worth its price and is an excellent addition to the Nikon family.. I am very tempted to get one myself, the perfect travel/go anywhere camera.:)

i love its small size. hee. can bring anywhere.......

hi

Im using a Prosumer Olympus and would like to venture into my first DSLR and the D40 seems like a good start.

im really interested in getting a D40. i keep seeing this drawback being mention by members.

What is this non support AF focus thing for the D40?

This is one thing that's bugging me. can someone clarify?

i dont' want to commit a D80/400D as im starting out and im not sure how exactly will i progress in the future. hence D40 seems good to me.

hi

Im using a Prosumer Olympus and would like to venture into my first DSLR and the D40 seems like a good start.

im really interested in getting a D40. i keep seeing this drawback being mention by members.

What is this non support AF focus thing for the D40?

This is one thing that's bugging me. can someone clarify?

i dont' want to commit a D80/400D as im starting out and im not sure how exactly will i progress in the future. hence D40 seems good to me.

yup.. yup... me think the same way too. D40 seems a very good choice for newbie/start learner. cheap and good performer (for newbie).

Actually its not all that bad. I was testing the D40 with AF-D and AI-S lenses. You only loose AF capability. Actually this is again, not that bad. As eventhough you have to manual focus, you can use still use the electronic rangerfinder that is built in, to assist with focusing. I dont really think its a crippling handicap.

However if you are a professional photographer, it may not be a viable option. But then again the if you are a professional photographer, you probably will not want to get a D40, you would rather get a D80 backup.

Hi, i'm a newbie and i wish to purchase my 1st SLR...
As mentioned above, "You only loose AF capability", does it mean that the camera doesnt allow u to point at an object n let the camera perform auto focus and thus need me to focus maually?

Or does it depend on the lense? If so, does the kit lense allow u to AF?

Thanks for any help given.

yes..the kit lens allows u to auto-focus...cos it's AF-S.
but if u buy other lens, den must make sure is AF-S or AF-I lor... else only manual focus.:)

yes..the kit lens allows u to auto-focus...cos it's AF-S.
but if u buy other lens, den must make sure is AF-S or AF-I lor... else only manual focus.:)

hi...can u tell me wats the diff in AF, AF-S, AF-D and AF-I lenses?

i oso newbie to SLR la. but i can tell u D40 can only use AF-S and AF-I lens to autofocus cos they contain internal motors..
other big bro Ds got internal motor in in their body so they can autofocus with much more variety of lens lor..;)

i oso newbie to SLR la. but i can tell u D40 can only use AF-S and AF-I lens to autofocus cos they contain internal motors..
other big bro Ds got internal motor in in their body so they can autofocus with much more variety of lens lor..;)

THANK YOU for your explanation! i'll go read up more man...thnks:D

no prob..anyway no budget for anything yet. haha..so i no need to read more. just borrowed a tripod.:embrass:

I am too thinking of getting a D40 for a start due to its lightweight. I am more to landscape or sometime sport shooting as I like to go trekking and travel. And it is selling about S$995 in HK without any discount yet which is cheaper than the Canon 400D.

I am thinking of getting a wide angle len with range of 10-24mm and a zoom len of 18-200/300mm so not sure whether should I discard the kit len??

Can anyone help to suggest which lens within the mentioned ranges are worth to invest for future upgrade to DSLR of D80/D200's standard? Thanks.

I am too thinking of getting a D40 for a start due to its lightweight. I am more to landscape or sometime sport shooting as I like to go trekking and travel. And it is selling about S$995 in HK without any discount yet which is cheaper than the Canon 400D.

I am thinking of getting a wide angle len with range of 10-24mm and a zoom len of 18-200/300mm so not sure whether should I discard the kit len??

Can anyone help to suggest which lens within the mentioned ranges are worth to invest for future upgrade to DSLR of D80/D200's standard? Thanks.

Hi there, in s'pore, someone quoted me S$1480 for 400D kit...which is ard 400 more than D40 kit + freebies...err...is the difference in price greater in HK?

Oh ya..the person who intro-ed me 400D also mentioned that although getting a 18-200mm lens is good cuz u need not change ur lens frequently, however if yur lens were to spoil, u'll be losing both the macro n zoom functions together.

18-200mm super zoom range are only good for convenience and general shooting. U compromise image quality for convenience lor.. I would rather get 2 specialised lenses instead of 1 superzoom. Like what another CSer said, the fun of Dslr is in changing lenses.. Dun be scared of changing lens..;)

Hi there, in s'pore, someone quoted me S$1480 for 400D kit...which is ard 400 more than D40 kit + freebies...err...is the difference in price greater in HK?

Oh ya..the person who intro-ed me 400D also mentioned that although getting a 18-200mm lens is good cuz u need not change ur lens frequently, however if yur lens were to spoil, u'll be losing both the macro n zoom functions together.

I downgrade from D200 to D40. Because it is

1) Light weight and small, I can carry this the whole day.
2) AF is fast, not as fast as D200. But still gets the job done.
3) Shutter is quiet, D200 is really loud.
4) I am happy with the features, since 70% of the D200 I will never use.
5) Plastic kits lens, not really sharp but still a very nice lens for its price.
6) With AFS lens, it reacts fast but a little slower than with D200.
7) Great viewfinder, bright.
8) The interface is simple and very user friendly unlike D200 stuffed with tons of features.
9) The plus for beginners is that the camera has help feature and will alert user if the subject is too dark or bright.:thumbsup:
10) Since it is light, you can hand hold at lower shutter speed and still give reasonable sharp photos.
11) ISO at 1600 is still very nice.
12) Grip is small and nice, D200 feels better with the soft rubber grip.

I simply love it, maybe I will buy a 2nd one 6 months later. However, D200 is still a damn solid camera.

Happy Shooting!

Some photos from D40 with 70-200
5295043-md.jpg

5286399-md.jpg

5295282-md.jpg

After trying ur camera the other day, I fully agreed with what u said.. The D40 is indeed a gd camera..:thumbsup: I also consider maybe next yr I will get a D40, it will make a really great walkabout/travel camera..

5) Plastic kits lens, not really sharp but still a very nice lens for its price.
8) The interface is simple and very user friendly unlike D200 stuffed with tons of features.
9) The plus for beginners is that the camera has help feature and will alert user if the subject is too dark or bright.:thumbsup:
10) Since it is light, you can hand hold at lower shutter speed and still give reasonable sharp photos.

I simply love it, maybe I will buy a 2nd one 6 months later. However, D200 is still a damn solid camera.

Happy Shooting!

Some photos from D40 with 70-200
5295043-md.jpg

5286399-md.jpg

5295282-md.jpg

hey why nv take my picture?!?!?! so sad man...even the stan chart site also dun have my pic..but have my fren's pic...:cry:

anyway...canon's 400D is also the same size right? But with more features?

Thanks for sharing those pics.
I think even I got the D40 also cannot produce those pictures.

I am noob and have been living with my ixus 40 since its release.
No complains but felt its time to improve my interest in photography.

I am considering:
1. D40 with kit lens (1/2 bucket water knowledge idea about lenses and no dSLR handling exp)
2. second hand D50 (tot becos of body depedent autofocus will be easier for me).
3. Fuji S6500fd (budget prosumer to learn the fundamentals and uses xD and I prefer SD)

I have zero experience with dSLR but have always longed to learn but back then hardly anyone I knew support my interest. Now that I'm working, I thought I can afford to learn with a basic setup (though still find lenses ex). Since I've read that all beginners should play with kit lens for at least a year or so, then they will know what lens they need to buy next, so decide that kit lens is good enuf for me.
Or should I got for a prosumer, play for some time, resell and then get dSLR.
I'm just not sure jumping into the bandwagon of dSLR now is good for me.

Dun want to start a thread to rant about my dilemma in newbie section, so hopefully dun get flamed for seeking comments here.

Am working around a budget of 1K.
Takes some simple landscape/environment pictures, capture the moments and toy photography.

(I got 2 sites to show what pics i usually take, but I'm :embrass: about showing the amateurish pics here.)

Thanks for sharing those pics.
I think even I got the D40 also cannot produce those pictures.

I am noob and have been living with my ixus 40 since its release.
No complains but felt its time to improve my interest in photography.

I am considering:
1. D40 with kit lens (1/2 bucket water knowledge idea about lenses and no dSLR handling exp)
2. second hand D50 (tot becos of body depedent autofocus will be easier for me).
3. Fuji S6500fd (budget prosumer to learn the fundamentals and uses xD and I prefer SD)

I have zero experience with dSLR but have always longed to learn but back then hardly anyone I knew support my interest. Now that I'm working, I thought I can afford to learn with a basic setup (though still find lenses ex). Since I've read that all beginners should play with kit lens for at least a year or so, then they will know what lens they need to buy next, so decide that kit lens is good enuf for me.
Or should I got for a prosumer, play for some time, resell and then get dSLR.
I'm just not sure jumping into the bandwagon of dSLR now is good for me.

Dun want to start a thread to rant about my dilemma in newbie section, so hopefully dun get flamed for seeking comments here.

Am working around a budget of 1K.
Takes some simple landscape/environment pictures, capture the moments and toy photography.

(I got 2 sites to show what pics i usually take, but I'm :embrass: about showing the amateurish pics here.)

For your case, since you're interested in these subjects only. I do suggest that you try out this D40 first.

The kit lens is a basic one and some users have since reported that they got better pictures (colours and saturation) after they switched to the D70 kit lens (18-70). Practise more on the controls first. How to use the A mode, S mode as well as M mode... These will give u more room to learn vs a prosumer camera. Where possible, shoot RAW... This will allow u to have more control over the pictures and how you want them to be portrayed.

Also read more on the other things to learn... ;)

Well, camera equipment is more cheaper in HK as they don't have GST so it is worthwhile to buy lens with international warrenty. As for 400D kit, it is only selling at $1200SGD only despite SGD is getting stronger than HKD.