D40 users come in!

Haha...true true :p Your "partner" very fortunate sia. :p

Anyway ar, does anyone knows whether can g-mask a D40?

G-mask a D40?!!! :bigeyes:
I have heard of gaffering a lens/tripod but.. :hung:

Pardon my offensive language ma'am, but.. I think a g-masked D40 would look pretty weird :vhappy:

Psychobiologist, Zaren, you all still thinking of organising a D40 outing? Oops.. I meant, an outing for D40 users?

Since most people who use a D40 are new to DSLR I was wondering if it would be helpful to them? Like samtcy and her tripod trotting husband :p

G-mask a D40?!!! :bigeyes:
I have heard of gaffering a lens/tripod but.. :hung:

Pardon my offensive language ma'am, but.. I think a g-masked D40 would look pretty weird :vhappy:

I like to personalise stuffs ma...so since they dun sell pink DSLRs...so am exploring the possiblity of g-masking it lor. hehe..I know sounds crazy to the guys out here...but I got pink obsession la.

Psychobiologist, Zaren, you all still thinking of organising a D40 outing? Oops.. I meant, an outing for D40 users?

Since most people who use a D40 are new to DSLR I was wondering if it would be helpful to them? Like samtcy and her tripod trotting husband :p

Haha...so my hubby is now known as the "tripod trotting husband" liaoz ar? Haha...

Anyway, I'm interested to join such outings if available...will check this thread regularly...

:p

sure...who else is interested in the outing? :)

sure.. i'm in

who's organizing? *wink*

*winks back* lol... we better get the location right first, and also the content of the outing. I'm not a newbie, but frankly I have no idea what newbies need to learn or what they like either.. The first time I used a camera everything was sort of natural to me.. didn't have to learn much.

I like to personalise stuffs ma...so since they dun sell pink DSLRs...so am exploring the possiblity of g-masking it lor. hehe..I know sounds crazy to the guys out here...but I got pink obsession la.

If you g-mask (or whatever you planning to do) I think you will find it hard to hold the camera as the rubber on the grip would be covered by your g-mask... it would end up like the EOS 400D. (I find that the cheaper canons have a rather bad quality when it comes to the hand grip)

*winks back* lol... we better get the location right first, and also the content of the outing. I'm not a newbie, but frankly I have no idea what newbies need to learn or what they like either.. The first time I used a camera everything was sort of natural to me.. didn't have to learn much.

Was also wondering if we need to teach what aperture and shutter does.. or maybe that is too basic.. then I wonder what we are going to do... teach them how to do event photography with a cheapo D40+SB400? (sic)...

another idea was not so much as to show them how to use the camera (which I think most of them know) but rather the more "cheem" stuff like slow-sync flash.. but was thinking how to find location for such things :think:

Possibly due to prescence of SB800's zoom head. How strong was the sambient light?

Anyway, 200 shots using only 90% of battery is :bigeyes:

so so....wasn't fantastic, typical ballroom setting tat made me itch for a 17-55. It's the first time tat i used 5 Energizer Lithium batts, and i was really quite impressed.

then again.....$25 for batteries is a big time OUCH!

Was also wondering if we need to teach what aperture and shutter does.. or maybe that is too basic.. then I wonder what we are going to do... teach them how to do event photography with a cheapo D40+SB400? (sic)...

another idea was not so much as to show them how to use the camera (which I think most of them know) but rather the more "cheem" stuff like slow-sync flash.. but was thinking how to find location for such things :think:
make it a shooting get together inclusive of lunch or something :)~

so so....wasn't fantastic, typical ballroom setting tat made me itch for a 17-55. It's the first time tat i used 5 Energizer Lithium batts, and i was really quite impressed.

then again.....$25 for batteries is a big time OUCH!
there must be a cheap source for batteries i suppose. :P

i used to get the lithium energizer CR123 batteries for usd $1.50 each i think the AA ones are a lot cheaper

An outing is good idea. Can try to make some record of D40 users gathering.

make it a shooting get together inclusive of lunch or something :)~

Don't make it "must pay" outing lah... ;) It will increase logistics and *gasp* workload on organizers (I scared kena organizer tio you, me, zaren) ;p

We still not firm on the contents/main theme of outing leh. Don't forget we trying to cater to the newbie segment *knock my own head in frustration*

Another idea I came up with (albeit a not-so-good one) is to intro them into the world of quick action and reaction-event photography (you know me). If anyone of us got an event to handle we can *cough* "invite" some of them to join (just tell the organiser they are backup photographers).. They will learn alot in this real life application-how to capture shots in dim light; capture human expressions before it goes away, how to make use of their flashes (whether onboard or external) to maximum effect... (Maybe I gone gila posting this paragraph) :bsmilie:

Or if they willing to pay, a visit to the zoo (I think birdpark too challenging frst time round, and they may not have the lens needed) might not be a bad idea (if not wrong, Zoo got group discount).

Some points to ponder.. give some feedback :)

Another idea I came up with (albeit a not-so-good one) is to intro them into the world of quick action and reaction-event photography (you know me). If anyone of us got an event to handle we can *cough* "invite" some of them to join (just tell the organiser they are backup photographers).. They will learn alot in this real life application-how to capture shots in dim light; capture human expressions before it goes away, how to make use of their flashes (whether onboard or external) to maximum effect... (Maybe I gone gila posting this paragraph)

Wow, imagine a lot of photographers to handle the event. The one hiring must be thinking its really value for money.

actually we can go shoot china town as an outing. then advance to the buddha tooth temple and shoot for the competition as a group. :)

No photography allowed in the buddha tooth temple though. Came out in the news yesterday.

actually we can go shoot china town as an outing. then advance to the buddha tooth temple and shoot for the competition as a group. :)

There is competition? Hmm... Well, you all can take part in that.. I'll join the first part. I don't really bother bout competitions.

Let's see what Zaren says first. Btw, psycho (can I call you that? ;p) you not working? You seem pretty free, always have "instant reply" to my posts.

No photography allowed in the buddha tooth temple though. Came out in the news yesterday.

Along these lines I would prefer to do night photography.. from (Cty hall MRT) suntec city walk to esplanade then head to merlion then on to fullerton then boat quay then maybe supper and then home (Raffles Place MRT) Only thing is whether they have tripods.

hey.. this sounds interesting!

I have a D40+40.. can i join? ;p