D3X official specs

Good read,

Agree the price is ridiculous. They must be in dream land to set such a price.

probably, the theory behind the pricing is like women's handbags.

making a ferragamo or birkin hangbag is relatively cheap (even if you include the workmanship). the reason why the markup is so heavy is to maintain the exclusivity. imagine your kopitiam ah soh going to the wet market and putting fish into a genuine birkin. :bsmilie:

Good read,

Agree the price is ridiculous. They must be in dream land to set such a price.

I had called them, they said they have to keep at this price, else, more workers in Thailand will be out of jobs. :bsmilie:

Hahahahaa

As for Thailand, more will definitely be out of job. Who wants to do business there or even visit that place.

k lor...u all dont buy i dont buy also.

one for all, all for one.

boycott them.
let's all switch camps.!:bsmilie:

k lor...u all dont buy i dont buy also.

one for all, all for one.

boycott them.
let's all switch camps.!:bsmilie:

leave everything in the current camp and walk away with nothing cept for the clothes on ur back...i'm sure we can figure out how to split it amongst ourselves

Let me quote – Moose Peterson

"What brings me to this wondering rant is the current blogishsphere response to the D3x. Not too many years ago, photographers were daring the photo industry to come out with more pixels. Daring is probably too gentle a word, demanding is more accurate. While many of us were saying quality is more important that quantity, the web was alive with forecasts of world doom if we didn’t get more pixels. So the manufactures produced, on their time schedule (which never, ever matches photographers) said cameras and being more pixels, charged more. And with that done, now the outrage, the anger because what, they delivered what you asked for but at a price so they can stay in business? They are not putting a gun to your head to buy them, they are not taking away all the other less expensive options forcing you to jump on board. All they did was add another body to the line up. They brought out a tool that some demanded and others truly need. And with that, the flood of anger. Emotion in photography is good, it’s a must for powerful images, and contained in your image is where that emotion should be focused.

I had a very wise high school photo teacher, Mr Traub. Most of his lessons, being the typical dumb kid, didn’t sink in until long after I’d left his class. I learned a lot about photography, and photographers in those two years. One day after a number of the upper classman had moaned about how they were stuck using the “old” cameras, twin eye monsters, and not able to use the new Nikon F2, they weren’t able to take good images. Mr. Traub in his oh not so subtle style handed them his Nikon F2 with 55f3.5 Micro and said, “You go shoot with that, I’ll go out with this broken TEM and we’ll compare what we get.” We all know the outcome, Mr. Traub had great images, the kids had kid’s stuff. It wasn’t the gear but the inspiration, the talent and the emotion behind it that made the images.

I’m the first to admit: “Hi, my name is Moose, I’m addicted to cameras.” And yet with that admission, I still have a small camera bag of gear. I am very fortunate and thank the powers to be that I have the opportunity to evaluate gear before putting down hard earn cash so I add only those pieces, those tools that permit me to make a click into a smile. I would suggest if we took ourselves and our photography just a little less seriously, we’d have a whole lot more fun, better images to share and witness the best outcome of our efforts. Bringing a smile to the hearts of those we expose to our photography from the emotion we’ve packed into our photograph!"

Happy Shooting!

Light and easy to carry around.
I still prefer my D80.:)

Another good read.

But I think Moose Peterson miss the point. Yes there were demand and call for a 24MP from nikon, by photog, but not at that price point esp so when competitors have shown that the 24mp sensor cam can be produced and sold at a very much(not marginally) lower cost.

If it is out a few years back I am sure nobody will complain. But not at the time when even a Leaf 28mp digital back coupled with a 645AFDIII, a 80mm f2.8 and a free either 55mm f2.8 or 150 f3.5 lens is being sold in the US market for USD$14k.

Certainly Nikon is not pointing a gun to force ppl to buy but I think they are just pointing a gun at their own head for trying to sell at this price.

Anyway, we can wait and see any price adjustment, cos ultimately the demand will either force a drop in pricing. Or Nikon can just close shop for not being able to produce a cam that satisfy that market at a cost which her competitors can do.

Posted by nightwolf75

"now even michael reichmann threw in his 2 rupees worth on the D3x.
http://luminous-landscape.com/whatsnew/

The lines are so beautifully written by the ang mo .... the heavy heavy thoughts of those who want to buy and who will support this something ... bad time bad decision and bad comforting ...

Below underline are from the aurthor from the above link page ..

Yes, I can afford it, but I simply find it not to represent good value. After testing the 24MP Sony A900 (which I purchased for less than the equivalent of US $2,500 here in Toronto last month) the thought of paying US $8,000 for a camera that that has the same resolution, the same frame rates, a similar large and bright viewfinder, etc, just seemed to me to be a bad value proposition. The Canon 5DII at well under $3,000 is another current alternative in a full-frame 20+ MP camera.

I think what he meant is that under certain condition a 20plus mp senser price in different can't be in that huge gaps ...

the reasoning behind the cancellation of my D3x order – simply the acceptance that an era has passed, and that the perceived value wasn't there (for me) at the US $8,000 price point given the current economic and technology environment

the era had pass .. wow this words touches saya :thumbsup:

Nikon – I think you've misjudged the marketplace and not to mention the temper of the times as well

but i think nikon are just 2 years late ..ah ya ... :)

:cool:

There will probably be another Nikon FF to surpass the D3X in future ................. until then, you will have to decide now if you are willing to fork out $12K for the D3X ............. :what:

Hahahahaa

As for Thailand, more will definitely be out of job. Who wants to do business there or even visit that place.

You will be surprised how many of our CSers are willing to sacrifice their lives to be in that haven. ......... :bsmilie:

Agree, there are many such die hard loyal dark knights willing to die for the "Evil dark force untimate weapon-the almighty D3x. ;)

sometime I think if correct pressure was given . then the benefit come back to those who ask for it ba ..

the online request and frustration from the world is amazingly great which i think is a let down in certain way to the consumer ..

the amazing thing happening is that some good and friendly aurthor is calling a break to the pricing point and the crash of the new era .. personally i think it will be good for all .. if you could wait you wait for a better solution to surface ba but of course , your realiable old equipment will still work for you ..

share share la ...:cool:

Agree, there are many such die hard loyal dark knights willing to die for the "Evil dark force untimate weapon-the almighty D3x. ;)

Hahaha I doubt so, nobody would risk their life a D3X. But many will risk their lives for some gratification by some "Pu ying" there as zenten has suggested.

aiyoh.......... enuf of debating weather nikon got it rite nor wrong

time to BUY BUY BUY

and in s'pore of course

and prop up our economy

P.S. Count me out unless toto is kind to me :bsmilie:

Definately overpriced. Look at the price of all the competitors.

Maybe the people in the pricing department are not thinking too clearly.

A conspiracy theory will be that they can't produce enough to supply the whole world. Why not just price is so high that only the rich can afford it. When they can catch up with the output, then they reduce price.

My own boliao observation:

2xD60=D300
2xD300=D700
2xD700=D3
2xD3=D3X

No place to put in D90. :bsmilie: