Comex (Pentax Booth)

Hmmm, just got the K100D for 1k (without the 75-300 pentax). Tink it a ok deal considering the grey set is going for 950 at OP... Also, local set gives 18 months warranty...

Any comments?

Also heard the K10D is getting alot of enquires...

Oh, it should be grey K100D body going for 950...

Arrrgh, my bad -------> ITS IS THE << K100D SUPER >> for the above posts.... :embrass:

The lens isn't that crappy actually, if you ever had one ;)

read too many negative things to actually consider it ;)

Of course the Tamron and Sigma one has better mag ratio at the tele end, but you have to switch to 'MACRO' position for that.

This is true.

Optically it is as good as the Tamron/Sigma imo. You can check some users' reviews here:
http://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/showproduct.php?product=139

About 9 months ago I was in the market for a consumer telezoom. The tamron 70-300 LD Di had just been released, and it was getting great reviews, but the previous "king" was the sigma 70-300 APO (depending on your individual copy).

I obviously considered the 75-300 as well, but it was astonishingly hard to find anything good said about it (or the FA J series in general), actually fengwei's link is the first collection of positive comments i've read - on the other hand comments like "oh, even pentax consumer glass (except FA J) is pretty good" (or variations thereof) were pretty common, and at best there were people saying that they had the FA J and were reasonably happy with it (which is, quite frankly, worth almost nothing - you'll notice that all those reviewers also are slight variations on that).

So - I didn't buy it. At 199 it IS very tempting though *shrug*

Oh well, it's the only lens that reaches 300mm and is still under production by Pentax currently. Guess we don't have many choices here if we want to have a Pentax lens ;)

I think the FA* 300 2.8 is still in production.... ;)

Arrrgh, my bad -------> ITS IS THE << K100D SUPER >> for the above posts.... :embrass:

u buy from Pentax Booth comex ?? K100 Super with Kit lens ~1K ??

That's a pretty good price for the K100D Super kit :) Congratulations! Hope to see some nice photos taken by this 'Super' nice camera soon ;)

u buy from Pentax Booth comex ?? K100 Super with Kit lens ~1K ??

Oh ya, at first the fella didnt want to sell the kit to me without the 75-300, but after some time chatting with him, he let me have the K100D Super Kit at 1K...

So dun wait liao... & got it with all the freebies too...

Sigh, now thinking to get some fast lenses... Pocket going to have big hole liao... :cry:

& thanx for ur encouragement Bro FengWei, dunno when can i take pretty pics like urs

:think:

Is $1K a good deal for a K100D super + kit lens?

I am more interested in the K10D. Any drop in prices for K10D + kit lens bundle for the last day.

I don't want to go all the way from Jurong West to Suntec just to check out the prices for the second time!;p

Is $1K a good deal for a K100D super + kit lens?

I am more interested in the K10D. Any drop in prices for K10D + kit lens bundle for the last day.

I don't want to go all the way from Jurong West to Suntec just to check out the prices for the second time!;p

good deal i think. (K100D super + kit)

Final tally today....as expected, people were cutting prices of their stuff like nobody's business. The K100D Super dropped to $1199 still with kits lens + 75-300mm lens.
I understand you can negotiate not to take the 75-300 and pay $1000 only. I nearly bought it just now! But after thinking for a while, the only additional feature over my K100D is the SDM mount (I don't need because BBB virus killed by the $$$ antibiotic). The anti-dust would have been nice but certainly not worth for me to pay the few hundred dollars I would have lost in the upgrade.
Also, the K10D price remains unchanged but now instead of paying $149 for the 75-300, you get it free as part of the package.
Sadly, the shriro tech told me they did not sell many units even though the Panasonic, Sony, C, N and O were overwhelmed with people which goes to show you need more effective marketing to pull those who are ignorant of the brand into the rebellion.

fengwei : Sorry I left the hall already when I read your message but as far as I know, its always cheaper to get the SDHC cards in sls (activefoto) because at the pcshow, they need to pay for the rental charges...will check out for you the next time I go to SLS...

Pentax prices are not competitive enough against the bigger players. The K10D is way overpriced and Shirio not using price point as a way to compete was a huge mistake.

BTW, I was there with my K100D and Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 Macro trying to capture some of the models there but seems the whole bunch that were there on Friday evening have gone home. Even the traditional Canon beauty queen photography corner is not there.

I did ask the pentax ladies to take their shots but maybe because i am not distinguished- looking like Fengwei, all of them gave me that kind of "oh no, I'm cornered" look! But luckily they obliged but as you can see, they are light years from Fengwei's shots.
I would welcome any suggestions as to where I went wrong and how to improve on them.
I was so nervous I took all the shots in "P" mode and Best JPG even though I had wanted to try raw files....oh well. Must build up the thick skin first to take more photos next time.

To aid in the process, I am thinking aloud of introducing the "Fengwei" scale (denoted by "F") to indicate how close to perfect a photo is to those nice shots we have been seeing from him. For example, "its 0.6F" or its "0.2F". If can reach 1.0F, can graduate and open photography school :bsmilie: Any objection, Feng wei? ...heh heh

In anycase, here are the Pentax ladies...:

Pentax1.jpg

IMGP7280.jpg

IMGP7279.jpg

IMGP7278.jpg

Pentax prices are not competitive enough against the bigger players. The K10D is way overpriced and Shirio not using price point as a way to compete was a huge mistake.

I don't think its the pricing issue. Its more of marketing.
Remember the K10D is in the same class as the 30D/40D. Those prices are still quite high.
The 350D is yesterday's news being cleared of old stocsk while the basic 400D is still more costly than the K100D Super which can be bought at $1000.
I don't think its equitable to try to compare the prices of the 400D deals with the K10D which is already very competitively priced. Their mistake is a very ineffective marketing strategy which focuses on brand reminder instead of brand/features awareness.

You need to take shots closer up, and the backgrounds are too messy for portrait shots... smaller aperture and get closer.

I don't think its the pricing issue. Its more of marketing.
Remember the K10D is in the same class as the 30D/40D. Those prices are still quite high.
The 350D is yesterday's news being cleared of old stocsk while the basic 400D is still more costly than the K100D Super which can be bought at $1000.

Unfortunately, megapixels matter to many consumers - so the K100D /Super is not enough.

(and having said that, I would love a 10mp cam for more cropping, if i didn't have to sacrifice high ISO performance)

I don't think its equitable to try to compare the prices of the 400D deals with the K10D which is already very competitively priced. Their mistake is a very ineffective marketing strategy which focuses on brand reminder instead of brand/features awareness.

It's not just the 400D though - it's also, say, A100...

--
On a separate note - what happened to that thread on DA* prices?

You need to take shots closer up, and the backgrounds are too messy for portrait shots... smaller aperture and get closer.
Unfortunately, megapixels matter to many consumers - so the K100D /Super is not enough.
(and having said that, I would love a 10mp cam for more cropping, if i didn't have to sacrifice high ISO performance)
It's not just the 400D though - it's also, say, A100...

--
On a separate note - what happened to that thread on DA* prices?

Thaks Alex,
I guess I can crop the images. As I have said, none of them were too keen on me taking their photos so I could not do it too near or there was no time to zoom. Its simply point and shoot! :). Its true you may want to crop but majority will never crop a photo in their lifetime! They just take it and store it. For this bunch, its sad they were taken in my advertisments that gives them the impression that more pixels are better. For this group, 6MP is actually good enough for any purpose. And having more pixels on the same CCD size only means more noise and more aggressive processing...definitely not good.
That being said, the A100 is definitely very attractive if you only intend to work with what came with the package as I understand their lenses' prices are in orbit due to the CZ moniker.

I did ask the pentax ladies to take their shots but maybe because i am not distinguished- looking like Fengwei, all of them gave me that kind of "oh no, I'm cornered" look! But luckily they obliged but as you can see, they are light years from Fengwei's shots.
I would welcome any suggestions as to where I went wrong and how to improve on them.
I was so nervous I took all the shots in "P" mode and Best JPG even though I had wanted to try raw files....oh well. Must build up the thick skin first to take more photos next time.

Maybe it's your first time that's why you feel that way, it's not fengwei or what lah..don't worry just approach them, they will post for you to take a shot most of the time.

The pic turns out yellowish. Maybe next time you want to take a test shot first, check your WB and adjust accordingly or best shoot in Raw.

Maybe you want to include the booth as background that's why you shoot in Landscape, or else next time shoot in Potrait to have a tighter crop.

The cutting off at part of arms here and there looks a bit awkward to me. You are using zoom lens, so it's more flexible to compose than using a prime.

Thaks Alex,
I guess I can crop the images. As I have said, none of them were too keen on me taking their photos so I could not do it too near or there was no time to zoom. Its simply point and shoot! :). Its true you may want to crop but majority will never crop a photo in their lifetime!

Haha. True - but I do crop.

And I agree with itDES - don't worry! They probably don't mind having their photos taken ;)

IMHO, focus at the eyes and recompose. Maybe you can use the multisegment metering and switch to the nearest focusing point nearer to the eyes. I find that multi segment sometimes hunts a bit so I'm used to center focus and recompose.

Exposure maybe need a +0.3 but can play around on PS curves during editing.

Get nearer, crop tighter and use portrait instead of landscape.

I normally use Av mode so for portraiture(mainly animals! hahaha) I'd use a stop or more from the biggest aperture if the lighting allows, eg f3.5 on a f2.8 lens for sharper photos. Most lens at the max arperture tends to be a bit soft.

I'm still a noob so take my comments with a pinch of salt lah. ;)

BTW, I was there with my K100D and Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 Macro trying to capture some of the models there but seems the whole bunch that were there on Friday evening have gone home. Even the traditional Canon beauty queen photography corner is not there.

To aid in the process, I am thinking aloud of introducing the "Fengwei" scale (denoted by "F") to indicate how close to perfect a photo is to those nice shots we have been seeing from him. For example, "its 0.6F" or its "0.2F". If can reach 1.0F, can graduate and open photography school :bsmilie: Any objection, Feng wei? ...heh heh

In anycase, here are the Pentax ladies...:

Not bad lah. I can see you wanted to capture some environment too, which is another way of capturing the show. For portraits, the backgrounds do seem abit too busy. But for show snaps, they are okay I guess. Next time can try the 50mm end, and abit tighter crops, just the up body shots and see how :)