[ closed ] Olympus Announces its latest Micro4/3 camera and lenses - OM-D

The NEX 7 on RAW+JPEG will buffer at 9FPS for about 15 frames and then slow down. Remember that these are 24MP files so the raw files can be 60MB+. The high end Sony memory sticks are much faster than a Class 10 SD card but they can only do so much....

Yup you are right. I also realized this. Everything is a balance. Cameras which have too large files, cannot shoot too fast or if can shoot fast, cannot shoot too long. Haha. That is why, the E-M5, is quite impressive. Even at RAW+JPEG (at Large Superfine mode), can still shoot at 9.5 FPS with no apparent end in sight. You all should go and try it. End up shooting so many that after you stop shooting, the card is writing for about 10-15 seconds after you stop.

Oly5050 said:
Yup you are right. I also realized this. Everything is a balance. Cameras which have too large files, cannot shoot too fast or if can shoot fast, cannot shoot too long. Haha. That is why, the E-M5, is quite impressive. Even at RAW+JPEG (at Large Superfine mode), can still shoot at 9.5 FPS with no apparent end in sight. You all should go and try it. End up shooting so many that after you stop shooting, the card is writing for about 10-15 seconds after you stop.

What SD card were you using? 45mb/s?
Any thoughts on how well the '3D' AF tracking works?

What SD card were you using? 45mb/s?
Any thoughts on how well the '3D' AF tracking works?

I was using a Transcend 8GB SD class 10 card. I used the same card in the E-M5. It was the same card that went into the Nex7.

3D AF seems to work quite well from what I could gather. It is supposed to be better but I do not really know.

On the Nex7, once you get used to the 3 dials (1 dial for each exposure settings) and the customised functions of each buttons, you wont need to dig into the menu system.

There are so many shortcut possibilities on the NEX 7, I've actually run out of things to assign to the tri-navi. 2 of the 4 menus have unassigned options.

Received a call from SLR Revo, very good price for reservation with $200 deposit. I choose a 32gb card free gift. Only silver body black lens. Chong ahhhh

sci70716: Congrats on the purchase! Care to share the price?

sci70716 said:

Aiya miss silver set:(can't confirm silver only black now which is also tentative...

I thought u buying Nex7 so I did not inform u...

Rest with Questions, just call SLR Revo pls.

Sorry guys...do not have the patience to read thru the whole thread.
The price is out and it is only pre order only?

I thought u buying Nex7 so I did not inform u...

Rest with Questions, just call SLR Revo pls.

Noooo Nex for me, enough with 5N! That's Ed lah, anyway he's likely to get this too! :bsmilie:

Sorry guys...do not have the patience to read thru the whole thread.
The price is out and it is only pre order only?

IT show, 1888 with MMF3 weatherproof adapter OR 32GB card. Pre-order only. Expected first shipment 3rd week april. Full payment only or CC installments (i think).

SLRR 1698 with same freebies as show. Left black and still tentative, seems like silver very popular, they will call in next few days to confirm my black set again. If no first shipment, 2nd shipment can only confirm 16GB card at this point. Pre-order but once confirm $200 deposit.

Noooo Nex for me, enough with 5N! That's Ed lah, anyway he's likely to get this too! :bsmilie:

IT show, 1888 with MMF3 weatherproof adapter OR 32GB card. Pre-order only. Expected first shipment 3rd week april. Full payment only or CC installments (i think).

SLRR 1698 with same freebies as show. Left black and still tentative, seems like silver very popular, they will call in next few days to confirm my black set again. If no first shipment, 2nd shipment can only confirm 16GB card at this point. Pre-order but once confirm $200 deposit.
Bro, I think you got poisoned deep deep! :bsmilie:

I confused what cam ur using liow...buy/sell till I confused!!haha.

Friend called they say no more must wait for MAy shipment.

What class is the 32GB card? I hope it is the extreme pro...else I have to waste money buy one..I dun use anything other than that....

PC show (courts) say expect 1st week April and collect somerset courts... anyway, if prices outside is better, better dont buy from PC show liao...

black is the way to go! :P

btw, 32gb card is v cheap vs a mmf3 adapter. so if buy from PC show, i think shud just go for the adapter freebie.

Bro, I think you got poisoned deep deep! :bsmilie:

Aiyo, so i poison others deep deep lor;)

I confused what cam ur using liow...buy/sell till I confused!!haha.

Friend called they say no more must wait for MAy shipment.

What class is the 32GB card? I hope it is the extreme pro...else I have to waste money buy one..I dun use anything other than that....

May 2nd shipment liao...maybe no more mmf3/32gb.

Haha!...extreme not pro, not as good but good enough i think. Still better than a class 10 sd card.