cheated by peninsula camera shop!

For example, a flash cost 699, i got the price of 480 with include of GST. Yea, thats the way to do. And also got a lens which cost 529 and i got it at 420 with include of GST.

Such significant prices discounts could only mean that the shop was grossly overcharging on the items in the first place.:dunno:

For example, a flash cost 699, i got the price of 480 with include of GST. Yea, thats the way to do. And also got a lens which cost 529 and i got it at 420 with include of GST.
Good luck.

What brand/model of flash u bought? Where? If its SB900, must tell me the lobang. ;)

finally got a picture of tony
i snap it from far lol
_DSC0421-1.jpg

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee103/soohoe/_DSC0421-1.jpg

i went there last week.
and i still saw him and the other guy in the shop were keep walking outside of his shop, mqybe trying to searching for some "fresh meat" to chop.

Btw, if anyone is intending to go WWC and needs some company, do let me know. My office is very near the area :)

aiyoh why you all say Worldwide no good, they very nice le. that time they sell me 2 rolls of "very hard to find" 120 film for $24. Then he ask me if i need filters. I said maybe lor and ask what he got. Then he show me some stuff. Then he tell me nicely dont spend too much on filters. expensive doesnt mean good and he trying to help me save some money. So he said this emolux is good enough la. And only $20 for 52mm. See they so nice and didnt try to cheat me to buy more ex filters. ;)

emolux is one of the worst kind of filter.. and they are given free bundle usually with dslr kit..
and ittou i know, is the 3rd party battery . I used to use for my d70, and in no way it is superior to the original. Even with the higher mAH the original still lasts me longer.

One of these days when I drop by peninsula maybe i drop by and see this shop lol :)
see how are they gonna con me :)
I use Emolux as well. Though i would agree, that it's not the best out there, but it's a decent filter. I just use it to protect my kit lens.

GMAN

i went in to ask about the nikon d5000 today and i already had ample warning this shop before. The funny thing is that they took out a file with all the newspaper cuttings of SLS reputation. Really a wolf in a sheep clothing

you can print screen this out and show him also....haha..do it when there are ppl or carrots in his shop

My sentiments to you, but you ought to have done your hw ;p

i always go to a few shops
check all their prices before i buy
personally i trust - cathay, john3:16 and alanphoto

Nikon original EN-EL3e battery is going for only $65 at OP.

Well, feel sorry for you, but this is a good lesson learnt. Everyone of us get cheated at least once in your camera buying life. Some get cheated more. You lost maybe $50 in this deal, move on.

.......For example, a flash cost 699, i got the price of 480 with include of GST......

No, its Sony HVL-58AM.

Wah, when did you get the flash ? I asked CP and MSC 2 mths ago and again about 3 weeks ago. The first time was already more than 10% higher than the price you paid...went up some more 3 weeks ago :(

Nikon original EN-EL3e battery is going for only $65 at OP.

Well, feel sorry for you, but this is a good lesson learnt. Everyone of us get cheated at least once in your camera buying life. Some get cheated more. You lost maybe $50 in this deal, move on.

if the person had known their price, WWC probably give it too.

i always buy dry box from them.. at an ok price. :)

if i'm not wrong chathay photo is just round the corner....should have compare bro...

My sympathies are with you my friend.

Two years ago I bought my first DSLR on Nathan Road in Hong Kong. I researched the camera I wanted to buy and knew the price. When I got there, the sales rep actually gave me a discount on the camera I wanted to buy by a couple hundred dollars (HKD). It was a Nikon D40. I thought that this was great!

Just as I was about to pay for the camera the sales manager comes to me and shows me a Canon camera. He proved to me that it took better pictures. I was convinced and decided to buy the Canon. However he quoted a much more expensive price. I hesitated but he discounted it and assured me that I was getting a great deal.

Long story short... I was over charged by $7000 HKD!!! I managed to get $5000 of it back by screaming and hollering in his store the next day. Despite this experience, I grew to love photography and have purchased several thousands of dollars of camera equipment. BUT NOT A PENNY MORE WAS EVER SPENT IN THAT CROOKED STORE ON NATHAN ROAD.

In the long run, these cheats like the one you mentioned above are shooting themselves in the foot. I would bet that a store like John 3:16 who is fair and honest, makes far greater sales than the crook you mention above. There is no need for a law suit. The crooks will be losing money hand over fist, the more that their cheating ways are brought to light by people like you.

Thank-you for doing us a service by letting us know of your bad experience. It is definitely a store that I will avoid. I hope that others will feel encouraged to shed light on the crooks that continue to cheat us.

My sympathies are with you my friend.

Two years ago I bought my first DSLR on Nathan Road in Hong Kong. I researched the camera I wanted to buy and knew the price. When I got there, the sales rep actually gave me a discount on the camera I wanted to buy by a couple hundred dollars (HKD). It was a Nikon D40. I thought that this was great!

Just as I was about to pay for the camera the sales manager comes to me and shows me a Canon camera. He proved to me that it took better pictures. I was convinced and decided to buy the Canon. However he quoted a much more expensive price. I hesitated but he discounted it and assured me that I was getting a great deal.

Long story short... I was over charged by $7000 HKD!!! I managed to get $5000 of it back by screaming and hollering in his store the next day. Despite this experience, I grew to love photography and have purchased several thousands of dollars of camera equipment. BUT NOT A PENNY MORE WAS EVER SPENT IN THAT CROOKED STORE ON NATHAN ROAD.

In the long run, these cheats like the one you mentioned above are shooting themselves in the foot. I would bet that a store like John 3:16 who is fair and honest, makes far greater sales than the crook you mention above. There is no need for a law suit. The crooks will be losing money hand over fist, the more that their cheating ways are brought to light by people like you.

Thank-you for doing us a service by letting us know of your bad experience. It is definitely a store that I will avoid. I hope that others will feel encouraged to shed light on the crooks that continue to cheat us.

The problem is all these shops main targets are the foreign tourists.
The tourists will not stay for long, so they do not have the time to scout around.
And not forgetting those who never do any price researches and kena chop till jialat jialat.
Even if we boycott these shops, as long as they have a few walk in customers everyday, they can still survive.