Canon unveiled the new EOS 7D and 3 lenses

Who is buying?

Many of us are expecting the replacement for the 1D mk III but turned out to be a 1.6x camera.

Many mk III users are relieved now as the value did not drop until mk 4 is launched.

The only time I will upgrade the 1DM3 is when the next 1D series has a 16bit Sensor. Else is a solid camera in every aspect. Other forms of upgrade are not significant to the image.

I wonder when the next EOS-1 series is gonna be announced, or at least rumored to be announced. Heard of any?

We can always get the ball rolling........

I heard there will be a built-in blue ray player.

Wah, so fast wanna start on a new rumour liao ah?? Haha :bsmilie:

Can have a short break first or not? :sweat:

You can start a new thread for this..... sure got alot of response and become hot topic :bsmilie:

i want built in gps !!!
n a tae taek function to boot as well. and d/l able apps at 99 cents ;)

We can always get the ball rolling........

I heard there will be a built-in blue ray player.

... and I heard the Sony A900 successor will come with built-in PSP. Or was it embedded PS3?

Hmm... or was it a washing machine? LOL! :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Funny how they call the new model 7D when it is to be placed "somewhere between" the XXD series and the 5D series. 7 > 5 rite? ;)

First impression would be that the 7D would be "one-level up" than the 5D/mkII. But alas, no FF. But the 7D is clearly built for speed; maybe thats why.....

Enjoy people!

in canon camp, the small number means it is more advanced. 1D > 5D > 7D > 50D > 500D > 1000D. 7D is not one-level up from 5D (price-wise).

Maybe Canon will release a uber high-end EOS model that bears the name "0D". Then that means the next uber model will have to start with a "-ve" prefix. :P

Wah, so fast wanna start on a new rumour liao ah?? Haha
No leh, not that i wanna start but I thought it's all along a rumor just that the 7D gets more of the heat recently. I've just sold my 5D Classic recently to get a 1DIII then this thing came out.... wah lao. 2 things, wait for the next 1D release or wait for the price to drop lor.....

I can only imagine what they gonna pack inside it to beat the 7D, satisfyingly. For now, the only extras are built in grip, 2 slots, 45 AF and 1.3... oh extra 2 fps.

The reason the 14-24 shines is due to new lens coating which allows optical engineers to go crazy in their designs. The recent Canon 17 mm TSE and 24 f/1.4 Mk2 lenses also spot similar technology and are just as marvelous.

Yeah some nano technology or something.

in canon camp, the small number means it is more advanced. 1D > 5D > 7D > 50D > 500D > 1000D. 7D is not one-level up from 5D (price-wise).

Maybe Canon will release a uber high-end EOS model that bears the name "0D". Then that means the next uber model will have to start with a "-ve" prefix. :P

CANON next flagship will be called ......

ALPHA Digital (S)

True, Canon;s 70-200mm f2.8 IS USM is superior to Nikon's, based on my experience trying both lenses

Nikon never really excelled in the tele side though. The Canon ones are better.

No leh, not that i wanna start but I thought it's all along a rumor just that the 7D gets more of the heat recently. I've just sold my 5D Classic recently to get a 1DIII then this thing came out.... wah lao. 2 things, wait for the next 1D release or wait for the price to drop lor.....

I can only imagine what they gonna pack inside it to beat the 7D, satisfyingly. For now, the only extras are built in grip, 2 slots, 45 AF and 1.3... oh extra 2 fps.

get the 7D unless u need the things on the 1D3. :)

otherwise, the big brother is still a more powerful camera in alot aspects. i may get the 7D to complement my Mk3 but i won't substitute it with the 7D.

wonder if the new battery grip on 7d can fit the 5dmkii ... anyone got inside info/link to his ? :)

but i won't substitute it with the 7D.
Preceisely. I was so ready to order off Adorama. But because 7D is announced, I just have a feeling that price will drop and of course making me anticipate for whatever they have up their sleeve for the next 1D.

otherwise, the big brother is still a more powerful camera in alot aspects.
I hope so... lol.

wonder if the new battery grip on 7d can fit the 5dmkii ... anyone got inside info/link to his ?
Mai gan chiong la haha.... but I highly doubt so since both body dimensions are different by a few mm or two, little but a difference nonetheless. I also see a slight curve on the right which is also why I think it's made for 7D's body dimension.

Preceisely. I was so ready to order off Adorama. But because 7D is announced, I just have a feeling that price will drop and of course making me anticipate for whatever they have up their sleeve for the next 1D.

I hope so... lol.

unless u willing to pay top dollars for the 1d4, hunt for a good bargain for the mk3 then. either ways, waiting is a good idea.