Canon Powershot S2 IS

NightZ88 said:
Any recommendation of accessories to add on to e S2?

Do u even read the rest of the thread?

scenar said:
Do u even read the rest of the thread?
Yahz.. But as far as i know, u all only recommend e Hoya Uv filter. is dat one of e better ones?

NightZ88 said:
Yahz.. But as far as i know, u all only recommend e Hoya Uv filter. is dat one of e better ones?

Most are using Hoya as it is cheaper and their main purpose is only to protect their lens against dusts or scratches. Of coz there are brands like B+W which are slightly pricer.

any updates of e price of e canon lens adapter and e Hoya UV filter?

NightZ88 said:
any updates of e price of e canon lens adapter and e Hoya UV filter?

Lens adapter is $50 but no stock at the moment.

Hoya Lens should be around $10.

NightZ88 said:
Any recommendation of accessories to add on to e S2?
While it is good to get recommendations for what accessories to get, I think you should familiarise yourself more with the capabilities of the camera and then figure what kinds of photography you wish to do more of. A UV filter is a very common one for all kinds of photographers, that's why it comes up the most.

I don't mean "you" as in you, but generally accessories support you to do the kinds of photography you want better. That's all I'm trying to say.

Like, after you play around with the macro and supermacro, you may find that you wish to be able to magnify closeup subjects. Then a closeup filter can be an accessory for YOU to buy. Other S2-ers may not use macro much and may be very happy with the native macro abilities.

urban said:
Seems like both Alan Photo and MS Photo are out of stock for this camera. all quoted $840 with gst and a free 256sd card.

i think best denki sells at 949 with 1G Sd card and an option to buy the printer for 169.....

Any idea where else might have stock?

hi there, I just been to Best Denki - Tampines, they are selling at 949 with only 256mb:thumbsd:

would like to know which branch did you patronize?

felixcat8888 said:
Lensmate asapters not found in Singapore. I posted a thread some time ago wondering if anybody was interested in getting them from the USA as the frieght cost is US$12.00 and the 58mm adapter costs US$24.95 vs the 52mm adapter at US$22.95. The lensmate ones are silver in color though.
are u still interested in gettin these? http://www.lensmateonline.com/newsite/order_S2_1.html

NightZ88 said:

If there are more people who are interested, then we can do a mass order otherwise not worth the effort as the freight is ex.

But this is only for the adapter, no hood, whereas the Canon one comes with a hood. You decide and see if it is worth the money.

jtean said:
hi there, I just been to Best Denki - Tampines, they are selling at 949 with only 256mb:thumbsd:

would like to know which branch did you patronize?

For pricing of $840/850, you need to go to places like Cathay Photo, Alan Photo and MS Color.

CP = Peninsula Plaza, AP = Funan/SLS and MS Color = Ang Mo Kio

thanks for the reply, got an Best voucher. That's why wants to maximize it.

jtean said:
thanks for the reply, got an Best voucher. That's why wants to maximize it.

Places like HArvey Norman, Best Denki and Courts all sell at RRP of $949.00. So if you are using a voucher, then look for the best deal in Best Denki.

Cheers....

felixcat8888 said:
If there are more people who are interested, then we can do a mass order otherwise not worth the effort as the freight is ex.

But this is only for the adapter, no hood, whereas the Canon one comes with a hood. You decide and see if it is worth the money.
I'm quite alrite wif it.. Any other takers? Btw, how much's e hood?

felixcat8888 said:
Places like HArvey Norman, Best Denki and Courts all sell at RRP of $949.00. So if you are using a voucher, then look for the best deal in Best Denki.

Cheers....

that's the thing! now the promotion is only for $949 with 256SD and that's all :(

jtean said:
that's the thing! now the promotion is only for $949 with 256SD and that's all :(

Dun worry, it comes with the original 16MB as well LoL

Anyway, even if you purchase from shops like MScolor or AP, it also comes with the 256MB as provided by Canon.

jtean said:

If you want better deals then you must go to MS Color, Alan Photo or Cathay Photo. Forget about the Big Boys as they always sell at RRP for all the brands.

cheers for all the advice! Guess probably I have to wait for additional freebies!

NightZ88 said:
ic.. i usin juz e S2 nw. seems alrite.. but den i saw all e accessories. watz e use of a teleconverter?

The teleconverter is to 'multiply' your focal length.
For example, if you have a 12x zoom at 400mm focal length, and you get a 2.0x teleconverter; it becomes 800mm or 24x zoom. For adding this telecon, you lose stops of lights and most of the time, degrading of picture quality. So check out your camera compatibility first before any purchase.

NightZ88 said:

Buy Tokina lor. Cheap.
Hoya contract Tokina to make filters anyway.