Canon EOS-20D Preview is out!!!

erwinx said:
Then it will be even better than Mk2. :bigeyes:

I salute Canon for releasing a consumer DSLR that can threaten the market share of its Pro-series DSLRs. There are improvements to the 20D in areas important to 'pros' including, shorter shutter lag, shorter mirror blackout, improved AF, 5 fps.

Canon could simply have increased the 10D by 2 Mp and cut the price slightly and it would still sell well since its main competition is an old old model (in DSLR terms). But I guess they want to anticipate what the D100 successor can do and beat it ;)

It's called let's just hammer in those nails to the coffin... :angel:

varf said:
got quoted $2280 for a brand new 10D at TKfoto earlier today. is that the 20D effect manifesting itself already? :think:

wow! dat fast the prices drop already? hmm... i wonder if canon singapore will bring in some 20D for the Comex 2004 next week at suntec. mscolor is doing the sales for Canon in Comex this round. hmm... wonder shld i give them a call to find out??? :bsmilie:

StreetShooter said:
The B&W mode is a bit silly, if you ask me. After you capture an image and decide that another colour filter would look better, it's too late to change your mind. Better to capture all the colours first and decide later using PS.

May be file size for B&W mode is smaller, so you can store more photo in a CF card :D

agape01 said:
Moreover, it makes photographing in B&W much more enjoyable. Wish that the Pro series cams had that function as well..

get a S2pro.... oso can.....hehehhe :devil:

How did you guys come to the conclusion that 20D is cheaper than 10D? I thought 10D street price then was also USD$1499.

varf said:
got quoted $2280 for a brand new 10D at TKfoto earlier today. is that the 20D effect manifesting itself already? :think:

WAH!!! u so fast!! i thot $2.4k is quite low for 10D! anyway, the cheaper the better. :bsmilie: as i've mentioned in another thread, my ex collegue got it from Canon at $1.5k last year while doing a promo for them. at that time, 10D was selling at $2.7k.

so how low can 10D go? u bet it can still go alot lower than $2.2k!! :cheers:

CONSUMERS UNITE!! LETS BRING DOWN THE PRICE OF 20D!! :cheergal:

nightpiper said:
WAH!!! u so fast!! i thot $2.4k is quite low for 10D! anyway, the cheaper the better. :bsmilie: as i've mentioned in another thread, my ex collegue got it from Canon at $1.5k last year while doing a promo for them. at that time, 10D was selling at $2.7k.

so how low can 10D go? u bet it can still go alot lower than $2.2k!! :cheers:

CONSUMERS UNITE!! LETS BRING DOWN THE PRICE OF 20D!! :cheergal:

Canonians... unite..... we boycott dun buy the MKs... see got better benefit a not lah/...... *WLL* :blah:

Canon decided to give away the cameras and make money on the lenses ?

Zplus said:
True on consumer digital P&S, in general. Not true on DSLR... noise processing algo and sensor design matters more. The 20D's CMOS sensor has been redesigned and the DIGIC II is new too. In fact, according to canon, the 20D ISO1600 noise level is equivalent to 10D's ISO400 <- That is a major plus point!!! How much this is true or just bs, we'll just have to wait for the samples to be released...

In the meantime... drool.... :)
So will you be getting one? hehehe.. ;)

Garion said:
So will you be getting one? hehehe.. ;)

;) That depends on how deep my pocket is.... I hope its deep enough when it reaches singapore. I can use all the neat features. Esp the good noise reduction at high iso. Hmmm maybe you should get one too... hahahahaha!
Buy! Buy! Buy!!!

shutterfly said:
How did you guys come to the conclusion that 20D is cheaper than 10D? I thought 10D street price then was also USD$1499.
My guess is that 20D street price when just release will be about ~$2,500-$2,600 without kit lens. With EF-S 18-55 kit lens maybe abt $200 more?

Overall 1st impressions: quite impressive specs indeed. As someone had already commented, Canon needs to anticipate what type of features Nikon would include in its D100 replacement (D200?) and it has released the "10D killer". I foresee quite large numbers of D30/D60 and perhaps 300D owners upgrading to 20D, as for current 10D owners well it is up to them to decide if the new improved specs of the new body is worth upgrading to.

Surprisingly Canon did not announce the "discontinuation" of 10D line prior to announcement, just as it did for the D60 before the 10D launch. Perhaps they wanted an element of surprise?

I guess in the meantime wait for a proper review and more images to be posted from the new sensor, before making a decision.

Zplus said:
;) That depends on how deep my pocket is.... I hope its deep enough when it reaches singapore. I can use all the neat features. Esp the good noise reduction at high iso. Hmmm maybe you should get one too... hahahahaha!
Buy! Buy! Buy!!!
Hahah...from the specs I think its a worthy upgrade from 300D (hint hint) :D The specs are tempting me yes, but will wait for more reviews, initial user feedback and images to be posted first b4 deciding.

Garion said:
Hahah...from the specs I think its a worthy upgrade from 300D (hint hint) :D The specs are tempting me yes, but will wait for more reviews, initial user feedback and images to be posted first b4 deciding.

Sgt Garion, dun gei gei... I can almost see you as one of the first in the queue to get your hands on the 20D when it reaches our sandy shores. :bsmilie:

Virgo said:
The question sure to spark is from 10D users if they should upgrade, if $$$ is not a problem. Seems that quite a few major changes over the 10D, if you happen to read the preview pages in dpreview.com. If $$$ not problem, should upgrade and keep 10D as backup.

I have $$$ problem, so sure no upgrade for the time being. :cry:

Is Digital SLR all about upgrading?

The main point is that Garion might already have posted his reservation to CP already.

agape01 said:
The main point is that Garion might already have posted his reservation to CP already.

LOL, u went to check out the waiting list at CP is it? :bsmilie:

Don't forget with 8MP, you need more storage space. I am thinking of getting this Twinmos 70x 2GB CF @ $549

http://www.twinmos.com.sg/ebuy/prodView.asp?idProduct=64

Anyone using it? Want to hear some feedback before I buy :D

I would strongly recommend that nobody buys the 20D until the proper reviews have been done. Also important thing to note is that the first batch of 20Ds that come out might have problems, thus it is better to wait until the 2nd batch to 3rd batch of the camera is released in the market...

I know this because I had problems with my 10D before.

agape01 said:
I would strongly recommend that nobody buys the 20D until the proper reviews have been done. Also important thing to note is that the first batch of 20Ds that come out might have problems, thus it is better to wait until the 2nd batch to 3rd batch of the camera is released in the market...

I know this because I had problems with my 10D before.

hmm...then why did u bought the first batch of 1D MKII??

I rather take the risk with $2.5K than $7.5K :D

You can't compare the 1D Mk II with a prosumer level DSLR...

The 1D Mk II was built for professionals in mind. Imagine if the batch turned out to have problems, that would be really bad for the current working professionals. All of them have back focusing problems and stuff like that... imagine what would happen to Canon and its products associated with Canon.

Canon can't afford to make a mistake like that.

agape: no one wants to make problems in their production line whether it's point and shoot digital or digital slr. :) i am sure that industry experts can tell you how bad an impression a bad product can make on a user so I am sure Canon does it best to ensure their brand name is not tarnished. :bsmilie:

interesting new product. but is it a NEED or a WANT?