PetaPixel Mirrorless or DSLR: Which is Best for Your Next Camera?

RSSNewsFeeder

Apr 9, 2018
The World
www.clubsnap.com
Mirrorless or DSLR? That is the question. It’s a great time to be a photographer considering a new camera purchase. Whether it’s your first camera or twenty-first, there have never been more options available for features, price, and capabilities. Plus, if buying a new (not used) camera, there are really no bad cameras out there. The first decision you will need to make about your new camera is what imaging system you prefer: mirrorless or DSLR?

Before we go too much farther, I feel it’s important to disclose that I am happily on team mirrorless. I’ve been using a Fujifilm mirrorless camera since 2014 after switching from Nikon DSLRs, which I had used since 2004.

Another item, before we go too much further: the discussion of Micro Four Thirds vs APS-C vs full-frame sensor will be reserved for another time.

First, a brief history lesson: DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex) cameras were a direct outgrowth of 35mm film cameras, which had been popular since the 1960s. The first commercial digital cameras in the early 1990s were conversions of Nikon F3 cameras with Kodak sensors. Nikon released its first professional digital camera in 1999, and Canon followed in 2001. The first commercially marketed mirrorless camera was released by Panasonic in 2008.

So, what’s the difference between mirrorless and DSLR? The names will pretty much give you the answer. A DSLR uses a mirror system to direct light from the lens to the mirror, then through a prism, which directs the image to the optical viewfinder. When you’re looking through the viewfinder on a DSLR, you are seeing what the lens is seeing. When the shutter is pressed, the mirror flips up and out of the way, and the shutter opens, exposing the sensor to the light from the image.