Canon EOS-20D Preview is out!!!

Belle&Sebastain said:
the flash looks interesting!

they should have make the flash usable for the older models as well, right? is that another marketing tactic to dump the olders cameras?

Read!

One new function is the expanded range of the AF-assist beam, compatible with all EOS AF cameras, including the EOS 20D :D

ptwong said:
that's pretty cheap for 10D!! wonder what is the current sellers of 10D know that or better still, does the buyer for the 2ndhand 10D knows that...

thats why i don't bother with anyone selling their 10D at $2k - $2.2k, might as well get a brand new set right? there's really no need to pay so much for a used set w/o warranty. the price quoted to me is incl of GST too, the $2.7k quote comes with a free lens & other goodies. putting this down just in case anyone who's interested, can get the set package & start shooting right away! :wink:

nightpiper said:
thats why i don't bother with anyone selling their 10D at $2k - $2.2k, might as well get a brand new set right? there's really no need to pay so much for a used set w/o warranty. the price quoted to me is incl of GST too, the $2.7k quote comes with a free lens & other goodies. putting this down just in case anyone who's interested, can get the set package & start shooting right away! :wink:

Well, if the price if indeed true, those who just bought a 2nd hand 10D might be knocking their heads now... :mad2:

Canon did it again, good camera, good features...probly lots of 10D gonna be tossed around in buy/sell soon...:D

wah!!!!!

almost switch to D70 liao :sweat: . looks like i will stay put with the 10D and wait for 20D and 10mm lens...... :rbounce: :vhappy:

Was at MS color yesterday, seems the camera will be in Singapore by Nov or dec 2004.

Hmm i guess it is time to wait for used 10D cameras... all assume the pirce will drop very soon? :dunno:

dragius said:
Was at MS color yesterday, seems the camera will be in Singapore by Nov or dec 2004.

Hmm i guess it is time to wait for used 10D cameras... all assume the pirce will drop very soon? :dunno:

Nah...i doubt it would take so long...even MKII arrives shortly after the offical announcement (although in limited quantity)

Anyway, I posted the press release of 10D on 27 Feb 2003 here...

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=26012&highlight=10D

In less than a month, I am an owner of 10D liao

so again, i will expect 20D to arrive next month or so, may be those who are interested should start booking from your favourite shops

nightpiper said:

nightpiper - the new ones, wat ever dat are left on the shelves, most probably their prices will be slashed once 20D floods the mkts. my guess is dat, by next yr, the 10D prices shld fall below $1.9K (?) for brand-new. even if the 20D was to be launched now, it will take a while b4 the sets really hit the shelves. so, in the near future, prices won't drop yet. heehee... on the other hand, the used 10Ds will most probably go for less than $2k... esp now that there are more sellers than buyers on B&S! heehee... time to upgrade loh!! u going for 20D or 10D?

pro-new - the 20D is calling ur name.... :blah:

Wai said:
Read!

One new function is the expanded range of the AF-assist beam, compatible with all EOS AF cameras, including the EOS 20D :D

oops, icic, so time to dump my EX550s, haha!

Wai said:
I really wonder if the price is wrong. U can get 3 sets of 20D at the price of MKII, and what you miss out are 45pts AF, 8.5fps, 1.3x FLM, better built (weather seal) and better WB.

Are you complaining that the 20D is 1/3 the price of a 1DMk2? Would you prefer it if Canon priced it higher? :D

I am quite happy to do without the 8FPS of the 1DMk2. In fact, 5fps is probably more than enough for me. It wasn't too long ago that professional sports cameras were lucky to get 5fps!

As for 45point autofocus, early indications say that the 20D AF has made a quantum leap over the 10D. It focuses with very low lighting - up to -0.5EV. The new diamond shaped distribution of AF points should ensure a very good spread of AF points as well. Let's put it this way ... the D2h has 11AF points, and you don't hear very many people complaining about its AF. There is no reason to think that the 20D's AF will be anything other than stellar! (We will have to wait for production samples of course).

Better WB? WB has ceased to be an issue for me since I started shooting RAW. It appears that the 20D will offer you even finer control of the WB than any production digital camera if you decide to shoot JPEG - it has that new WB Shift feature.

1.3x crop and better build quality are nice to have, but then Canon had to cut corners somewhere to bring the 20D to us at such an attractive price.

henavs said:
Well, if the price if indeed true, those who just bought a 2nd hand 10D might be knocking their heads now... :mad2:

Canon did it again, good camera, good features...probly lots of 10D gonna be tossed around in buy/sell soon...:D

this news will cause the sellers of 10D a backlash. and buyers as well

i juz got my 10D like a week ago..
though i got it at $2350

still knocking my head lor... hahaha...

Belle&Sebastain said:
this news will cause the sellers of 10D a backlash. and buyers as well

as it is, i'm already seeing a $2k body on another forum board just now.

still, it all fairness, the 10D is still a very capable camera. i'm serious considering getting one, once the price drops below $2k (new or otherwise).

jlchong said:
i juz got my 10D like a week ago..
though i got it at $2350

still knocking my head lor... hahaha...

SO CHEAP!! :bigeyes: where did u get it from? u know the boss very well is it? com'on, share the good stuff. :bsmilie:

nightwolf75 said:
as it is, i'm already seeing a $2k body on another forum board just now.

still, it all fairness, the 10D is still a very capable camera. i'm serious considering getting one, once the price drops below $2k (new or otherwise).

Supposing the new 20D is abt $2,500 RRP, $2,200 (AP or CP) why bother the 10D unless it drops till abt $1600-$1700 rite? then if you have the option to mount cheaper efs lens. Supposing you have the 17-40 and or 28-135 your first move is to sell both lenses to rise funds to get the new efs lenses to use for both bodies if you decide to keep the 300D as back up?

Belle&Sebastain said:
Supposing the new 20D is abt $2,500 RRP, $2,200 (AP or CP) why bother the 10D unless it drops till abt $1600-$1700 rite? then if you have the option to mount cheaper efs lens. Supposing you have the 17-40 and or 28-135 your first move is to sell both lenses to rise funds to get the new efs lenses to use for both bodies if you decide to keep the 300D as back up?

yep, $2.2k is my estimated price but it might be lower still. i m still confident that this 20D is priced at D70 level to kill it off. :)

if i sell my 10D + Grip..... i still must fork out another 500 to 600bucks for the new cam & grip... Plus maybe a whole new string of troubleshooting worries...
if i got money.... sure let it burn... but now... must reconsider.. :bigeyes:

Belle&Sebastain said:

eh... i dun have the 17-40 and/or 28-135. my collection is quite varied. EF 50mm, tamron 90mm macro, EF28-90mm and EF70-300mm, and of course the EF-s kit lens. nothing to shout abt. i leaning towards the EF primes. so, i guess the 10D body will suffice. at the end of the day, its the pricing dat matters to me. 10D is more than enuf for my purposes.

of course, if money is not a problem.... heehee...

pray hard hard 10D price will fall below $2k soon...
:sweat:

I think I'll wait for the eos 25d.. heh

need 1.3x crop. (maybe EFS can work with 1.3x crop and not 1.6x crop as well?) then the EFS 10-22 is like effective 13mm rectilinear... even better than a sigma 12-24 x 1.3 effective 15.6

raw buffer of 6?? that's crap, unless the lexar WA is supported and the flush to cf speed is like 2 RAW/second..

If the 10D price drops... imagine the 300D! :eek:

nightpiper said:
yep, $2.2k is my estimated price but it might be lower still. i m still confident that this 20D is priced at D70 level to kill it off. :)
In that case, do tell what would happen to the 300D. EOL? :sweat: