Buyers Beware : - Canon5d79 Vietnames PHD Student from NTU

Just wanna share a bad experience with Canon5d79 who posted ad with inaccurate info and refused to honour what was written in the ad.

Canon5d79 posted an ad selling a canon 17-55, condition 10 without any dust. My friend who just started the hobby (with no experience in buying used lens) collected the lens and did not notice any dust due to the low light condition @ the pt of transaction. When he showed me the lens on the same night, firstly I noted that the lens is never near condition 10 as per clubsnap's guidelines (more like 8) and worse still found a speck of dust.

When my friend contacted canond579, requesting for return of lens as it is not as described in the ad and offered to bring the lens to his doorstep at his convenience, canon5d79 became very defensive, unreasaonable and came up with all sorts of excuses before hanging up my friend's call.

I really do not wish any of the fellow clubsnappers to go thru such experience. I'm really disgusted dealing with such ppl who has no sense of integrity ! So beware if you deal with him. I won't be surprise he will continue to post ad under different names. He claimed to be a vietnamese PHD student in NTU about 1.6m tall ; Hp - 8195 52453. Be careful when you deal with him.

...1 speck of dust...is it a big one?.....all lens more or less have dust in them unless you live in a vacum....like outer space.

I agree with Danntbt. What's the big deal? No scratches, no other damages so why a 8.

My lens also have dust from time to time which can be cleaned off with a blower at the worst a wipe with a cloth. :cool:

Wow liao, want dust free, dont buy second hand, Even new lens have a bit of dust sometime. I do pity the Poor seller. :rolleyes:

Yet another account with nothing but WTS threads.
PhD student no need to write dissertation, so free meh?

There will always be dust .... New or old... all I can say is that if want nice and fresh, get new. There is never any 10/10 used items for real anyway....

btw TS was there any problems to justify a rating of 8/10 ?

dust is always unavoidable unless u everytime take pic in a clean room :bsmilie:...
if it dont not affect your picture it ok
if because of the dust and u wan a refund ... i think alot people already refund their stuff back and buy&sell will be VERY quiet haha

dust is everywhere.. you're breathing in dust almost every second..

anyways a speck of dust in your lens won't kill it.. so many old yet great lenses have dust in them and people are still willing to pay thousands of dollars for them..

Yet another account with nothing but WTS threads.
PhD student no need to write dissertation, so free meh?

Perhaps you should look at your own profile too :)

of 56 threads started by you, 42 are Buy and Sell :bsmilie::bsmilie:

My point is not about whether a speck of dust is big deal or not. If the ad did not that the lens is dust free, then the onus is on the buyer to do a thorough inspection before purchase.

But the ad specifically mentioned dust free. and conditon 10/10 (when it looked used). Canon5d79 became defensive and rude whne my friend contacted him and even hung up his phone. If you guys think Canon5d79 is right to post misleading descriptions and it's cowardly action to own up and hanging up the phone, it's totally fine with me.

No matter what the seller deems the condition of the item for sale to be, it is on the buyer to verify and check if the stated product meets its description. If the buyer doesn't have the skills to check, he/she should get an independent expert opinion. And if the purchase turns out to be a lemon, its buyer's fault really. Buyer did have a chance to inspect the goods, try out the goods before the sale is completed.

Every seller will want to project a better image of the product than it really it. (to attract ppl to view the product)

Every buyer wants to make the item for sale as bad as it can be (to force a lower selling price) .

That is why there is something called compromise ;)

why don't the TS post some macro shots of the lens, so that we can see the condition/dust for ourselves :sticktong

I think a lot of sellers just use those nice words without considering whether they are telling the truth. Words such as Mint, seldom use, always kept in dry cabinet, low shutter count...

Dust free is impossible in this world. no visible dust particles inside lens elements (perhaps). You can always blow off the dust using a blower or cleaning tissue for the dust that are on the lens surface but I think most people will be concern with dust trapped between lens elements which will require professional service personnel to take them apart and clean them. However, having said all that, even dust particles trapped inside the lens elements usually will not affect the photos.

I guess TS is just not happy being lie to and the rudeness when handling the reply.

dust still can enter AFTER ur friend take over wat..:rolleyes:

I think TS is kind of angry with the seller for not really honest with his word by saying his product is dust free. But we must also looked at it this way... how big is the speck of dust? I mean come on, unless you specifically do a very detail inspection, it is practically impossible to see one single speck of dust. Also we might want to give the seller some benefit of doubt... maybe he did do an inspection before the sales, and there was no dust as was advertise. However as everyone of us could agree, Singapore is not really a dust free environment, so that speck of dust might get on the lens during the transaction whereby I believe TS's friend must have do some of his/her own inspection (irregardless of whether he/she know how to inspect or what to watch out for).

As for the condition of the lens... well... it is very subjective... to some fella out there, the condition might be 10. To others, it might be 8 or even 6.

I work in the consumer electronic industry as a Mechanical Engineer, thus everything to me is at condition 8 or lower, because my eyes are trained to look at small things. But that really doesn't mean that the product's condition is really 8 or lower in other people's point of view.

Well... just my two cents... (and alot of rant).

Oh, I never know this post until one CS fellow told me about this.
I have something to discuss here:
1. Why the buyer that has his own ID in CS do not post his issue?
2. From my experience, he is not a newbie that do not know about lens checking. He brought his own laptop to test the image quality => Very careful buyer, newbies never do like this. When I was a newbie few years ago, I even bought a 2nd lens with fungus, and out of focus lens. He inspected the lens more than 10 mins.
3. I checked before selling, cannot see dust visible. Dust view is subjective. That's why the buyer need to check by himself. My lens is no scratch, no user mark, full box => It should be not 8 condition as mizunoxxxx said.
4. All the people talked here, dust is any where, even after the buyer bought the lens.
5. Any seller here refund the seller and get back the lens when the buyer complain about the dust?
6. I tried to explain to him more than 10 mins, and result. He also pushed me by saying that he will post my name and my number in CS. I could not talking forever, tha't why I hanged up.
7. I do not want fellows in CS to think badly about Vietnamese student here. That's why I go to this thread to explain about my situation.

Thanks.

I like to clarify the point of transaction is not low light. It's 6:30pm in a sunny day. How come say that its a low light of condition? Low light point is maybe MRT at night, or HDB void deck at night, or some where like that.

Just wanna share a bad experience with Canon5d79 who posted ad with inaccurate info and refused to honour what was written in the ad.

Canon5d79 posted an ad selling a canon 17-55, condition 10 without any dust. My friend who just started the hobby (with no experience in buying used lens) collected the lens and did not notice any dust due to the low light condition @ the pt of transaction. When he showed me the lens on the same night, firstly I noted that the lens is never near condition 10 as per clubsnap's guidelines (more like 8) and worse still found a speck of dust.

When my friend contacted canond579, requesting for return of lens as it is not as described in the ad and offered to bring the lens to his doorstep at his convenience, canon5d79 became very defensive, unreasaonable and came up with all sorts of excuses before hanging up my friend's call.

I really do not wish any of the fellow clubsnappers to go thru such experience. I'm really disgusted dealing with such ppl who has no sense of integrity ! So beware if you deal with him. I won't be surprise he will continue to post ad under different names. He claimed to be a vietnamese PHD student in NTU about 1.6m tall ; Hp - 8195 52453. Be careful when you deal with him.

You should've gone with your friend since he trusts your judgement to let your evaluate his purchase. But since you didn't go, you're hurling too much abuse on someone you haven't even met or spoken to. Were you listening in on the phone too during your friend's phonecall?

Anyway, here's the guidelines, which I doubt you even know where to find it from - so I'd better provide the link. http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=248961

Since you say the condition should be 'more like 8', let's see what that a speck of dust says about the lens.
======================================
Condition: Mint
Description: Like new. Not used since it left the shop. No signs of use.
Also known as: Mint

Condition: 10
Description: Very carefully used. Only very light user marks. Without close inspection, item would pass for mint.
Also known as: Mint(-), Near-Mint, A

Condition: 9
Description: A few light user marks. Used very little and carefully. May show some very mild wear, such as rub marks by lug straps, or bright marks on metal base plate.
Also known as: Excellent(++), A/B

Condition: 8
Description: Light to moderate user marks. Typical amateur use. May have some very slight brassing, or light scratches in metal. Obviously well-maintained and cared for.
Also known as: Excellent(+), B
=====================================

mizunoblackox, I think it's more like your friend's been duped by you to think that he got a bad deal - and instigated by you, he made a phonecall to canon5d79 to request to return the lens and now, in a similarly manipulative manner, you are hoping the CS community will back your ill-conceived idea of a sale-gone-sour and then turn to your friend and say 'you see? you were cheated.'. In reality, imo, you made the deal go sour. I hope your friend reads the comments here and I hope he will ignore your opinions about HIS lens purchase and enjoy shooting with it.