Beware of Swindler!

Newman said:
2 Punks :hammer: Newman
For me, it's the other way round. Used to fight quite a bit in school. :D
This kind of case is not really hard to follow up actually, provided all the relevant authorities are willing to work with you. And that I believe is the hard part. Unless there are other complainants, no one's going to go through all the trouble just for your $30 or even $1000 for that matter. If IP address, bank acct and HP no. can be traced to the same person, it proves that he's the one.

exactly.......

Newman said:
This kind of case is not really hard to follow up actually, provided all the relevant authorities are willing to work with you. And that I believe is the hard part. Unless there are other complainants, no one's going to go through all the trouble just for your $30 or even $1000 for that matter. If IP address, bank acct and HP no. can be traced to the same person, it proves that he's the one.
keep my fingers crossed n hope for the best. if i can make it, good. if not dat's about it.

memory said:
yeah my case was reallie risky...but i trusted him so luckily he transfered money..if not i die liao...hmmm aniwae dont sad la...im sure there are good pple and bad pple in the world...jus have to see whether you lucky...

cheers!
nah. not sad over $30. juz dat buay song muz try 2 find dat fella dat's all.

NB. Quote edited for unacceptable language - The Moderator

Newman said:
Also, even if you can prove that he's the one you transacted with, it's your word against his.

Newman said:
Also, even if you can prove that he's the one you transacted with, it's your word against his.
i believe if i DO find him, it'll prob not b words dat're exchanged...

EOS500N said:

Come friend lets try to locate this guy

With the IP address and date/time, the ISPs can track exactly where the messages were posted from. Tricky part is getting the ISPs to give you the information. Not sure if they're willing to provide such information easily or not.

$30 is not a lot, but if he was really out to cheat - then I hope he gets caught.

:(

tweakmax2 said:
for Ip add... i tot it will always change when each time one log on... how to track ?

I think you should just report it even if it is just for recording purposes. You have all the evidence to claim against the person. If the person is found, at worse he may either deny it or said that he sent it. In any case, you will get to the bottom of your $30.

In addition, even with dynamic IP you can still obtain the IP from the mod and then the police can check it against the ISPs in Singapore who can track all teh way to the machine address of the computer. It is traceable, but only if the police can help as warrants will be required for these kinds of information. The same too for the POSB account.

The only trouble for you is that you have to go to a NPP and make a police report. As there is a monetary transaction, it constitutes fraud. By reporting and if the person is identified and questioned, it will be up to him to try and prove that he kept his side of the bargain. Judging by the way his MO, I think he might just sweat when the police comes...

Just my 2cs....

EOS500N said:
Front page headlines on Clubsnap:
Online Cheater Brought to Trial at SEED!

tweakmax2 said:
sometimes law is simply cant be explain ... let mi give u a simple example.

u walk on a street and 2 guys approached u and ask u see wat see.... they not happy and punch u on the stomach and face . Resulting u to have bruises.
u call for police .
police arrived.
this is wat police will infd u.
this is a case of VCH .
we get the 2 guys particulars down and give u a medicial form for medicial checkup and ask u to go govt hosp to checkup.
Will also tell u that this is a civil case where Police currently does not have the power to investigate , and to let the 2 guys go free...
if u wan to take action .... find yr own lawyer to sue the guy... onli then police will assist to give in the 2 guys particulars for yr civil suit

Lagi not worth it rite.. somemore getting beaten up...

The police will charge them if it happens in a public place. Under the penal code, this can be classifed under rioting, danger to public or causing hurt something something, lazy to dig.. Firstly, it's because these guys are obviously out to cause hurt to others that they don't know.. It's a civil case only when you want to claim compensation....

tweakmax2 said:
sometimes law is simply cant be explain ... let mi give u a simple example.

u walk on a street and 2 guys approached u and ask u see wat see.... they not happy and punch u on the stomach and face . Resulting u to have bruises.
u call for police .
police arrived.
this is wat police will infd u.
this is a case of VCH .
we get the 2 guys particulars down and give u a medicial form for medicial checkup and ask u to go govt hosp to checkup.
Will also tell u that this is a civil case where Police currently does not have the power to investigate , and to let the 2 guys go free...
if u wan to take action .... find yr own lawyer to sue the guy... onli then police will assist to give in the 2 guys particulars for yr civil suit

Lagi not worth it rite.. somemore getting beaten up...

Aiyah, if the victim is a relation of someone powerful like minister or PS, sure police will track down the two guys and charge them..... but too bad, not all humble citizens know someone in power.......

Wonder why we pay taxes to keep police if our safety cannot be guaranteed in PUBLIC places like a street? :dunno:

Kira said:
The police will charge them if it happens in a public place. Under the penal code, this can be classifed under rioting, danger to public or causing hurt something something, lazy to dig.. Firstly, it's because these guys are obviously out to cause hurt to others that they don't know.. It's a civil case only when you want to claim compensation....

no it not rioting ... Rioting consist of 5 person and above.
It neither Grevious Hurt when u onli sustain bruises.

Sin said:
Aiyah, if the victim is a relation of someone powerful like minister or PS, sure police will track down the two guys and charge them..... but too bad, not all humble citizens know someone in power.......

Wonder why we pay taxes to keep police if our safety cannot be guaranteed in PUBLIC places like a street? :dunno:

if u are toking abt SG POLICE , WE DO PAY TAX TOO.
and HK police dun pay tax.
and y police dun take actions regarding to some cases... is that our Penal code dun give us the power to do so.

You can track IP address. Although they are dynamic, ISP has a record of the owner of that IP kept in storage for a period of time before they are deleted.

If it's a broadband user, the IP won't change for a period of time, thus even easier to track.

if you dealing in SG, then why not just meet up and transact? buyer can examine the product and hand over cash when satisifed. then you wont have this problem.

madmacs said:
if you dealing in SG, then why not just meet up and transact? buyer can examine the product and hand over cash when satisifed. then you wont have this problem.

eh? he got post tha tthe seller say he lazy and live on palau ubin mah

palau ubin?? kaoz.... i live on kusu island :P

madmacs said:

u never read the first post one ah? :P

zodnm said:
u never read the first post one ah? :P

well too bad if he live on pulau ubin and you live on kusu. if you want to deal safely, then better to meet in person and transact. you take the risk and transact my funds transfer or mail then fraud is a risk you have to take.

so far anyone who transact with me always face-to-face. buyer can check goods on the spot, satisfied then pay seller there and then.

and yes i read all the posts :blah:

tweakmax2 said:
for Ip add... i tot it will always change when each time one log on... how to track ?

not neccessary, some consumer applied for a static one. its may be true that even with dynamic ip its hard to track, but there is still a way. if the mod had the ip, with the date and time recorded, isp can trace all the way back who login at that time. so far to my experience, there is no way to run. its like becoming a forensic investigation. but mod also need to protect individual interest here. without a police investigation carried out, the mod shld not reveal any info. and even provided, it shld go to the police directly.

bank also does keep records, past records i mean. telco may or may not im not too sure as i did not work there before. even thou he/she cancelled the bank acct, there will still be records. its just that they will store off-site to cisco or whatever. tracing may be abit troublesome.

i felt that its shld be reported to police first. provide them with every details as possible. these shldnt be allow here, esp we are in such a small community. and let the police do the investigation, lets be fair and dont make any wild guesses.

madmacs said:
well too bad if he live on pulau ubin and you live on kusu. if you want to deal safely, then better to meet in person and transact. you take the risk and transact my funds transfer or mail then fraud is a risk you have to take.

so far anyone who transact with me always face-to-face. buyer can check goods on the spot, satisfied then pay seller there and then.

and yes i read all the posts :blah:
Agree fully with you. Its recommended not to take things at face value, I will always prefer to meet the buyer/seller face to face, check the goods on the spot, and if both parties are agreeable an exchange of goods and cash takes place. Nothing beats the feeling of cold hard cash in your hands (if you are the seller that is). :D

EOS500N: Sorry to hear abt your experience, luckily its only 30 bucks...it could have been worse if the amount is much more. :sweat: Thanks for letting us know...