Beercan Portrait & Bokeh

He may just have a softer copy.

TS is shooting at 150mm and s 1/125, a bit hard to overcome handshake. I thought the conventional rule is to be at least 1/<focal length>?

Without IS and tripod/monopod, I would rather try to shoot it at F4, and not more than 135mm.

TS is shooting at 150mm and s 1/125, a bit hard to overcome handshake. I thought the conventional rule is to be at least 1/<focal length>?

Without IS and tripod/monopod, I would rather try to shoot it at F4, and not more than 135mm.

TS is trying to show that even not following 1 / focal length, the images captured by this beercan are sharp.

Had I not already owned a beercan ( we are talking about 70-210mm F4 ya ? ) , after seeing the photo, I will drop the idea of getting it.

Haha... Beercan biggest aperture is F4.

If I want a lens for portrait, compare with the price, I would go for new 85mmF2.8 from Sony than to buy Beercan.

Compare with other Sony cheap prime lenses that are crop sensor lens, the 85mmF2.8 is not crop sensor lens, so suitable for FF and it is so compact, almost bought it the other day... :D

sorry I posted before I googled.. paiseh paiseh... :embrass:
kudos to your review ;)

I guess we all agree that the beercan is a very fine piece of glass although it's more than 2 decades old. Let's treat each other with due respect and observe some courtesy when online.

Thanks to TS for sharing with us his photo but as some bros who have mentioned here, there may be pictures on the web which brings better justification to this piece of gem. Nevertheless, we believe that your intention was good to share with non beercan owners of what this piece of glass is capable of.

Shooting handheld without shake and the lens are 2 completely different discussions.
I shot with a 500mm Mirror lens the other day at 1/80th sec handheld with no visible shake.

Was testing it at Peninsular....

Shooting handheld without shake and the lens are 2 completely different discussions.
I shot with a 500mm Mirror lens the other day at 1/80th sec handheld with no visible shake.

Was testing it at Peninsular....

TS said F4 is soft, which is a bit strange, since we have bro shoot in such setting and picture came out sharp. So, my thinking would be, maybe is due to handshake.

I am glad you are able to shoot steady with handheld at s 1/80 for 500mm Reflex. I tried shoot the moon, handheld, can never get a clean/sharp picture. In the end, I use the tripod...

Edit: Bro Rashkae think is due to a problem with the lens. I rather hope is due to some other issue than the lens. If lens got problem, then need send for service.

Bro Rashkae think is due to a problem with the lens. I rather hope is due to some other issue than the lens. If lens got problem, then need send for service.

I do own a Beercan, before I own one , I did quite a fair bit of research and poking around the net for information.

I think Bro Rashkae is spot on , as currently in the market and ebay, there are multiple copies of the Beercan for sale and their prices ranges from 150 USD to 250 USD or more.

The reason for that is really , some copies are just sharper than other copies ( apart from just being well maintained and kept). The copy I own will not beat the sharpness out of my 18-50 Tamron at F4. Will need to step down further. But I am not complaining as I got it quite cheaply ard 160 USD.

I read people saying that got copes of the Beercan sharp even at F4.

But nevertheless , the Beercan legacy is someting akin to cult status among minolta users. For a 70-210mm F4 , its cheap and the value you get is unbeatable ( Does not extend when zooming, metal body).

Perhaps untill Sony makes a CZ copy of the beercan , the old Beercan is something worth keeping lol :cool:

@lenrek

you said, "I am glad you are able to shoot steady with handheld at s 1/80 for 500mm Reflex. I tried shoot the moon, handheld, can never get a clean/sharp picture. In the end, I use the tripod..."

Shooting handheld takes lots and lots of practice.
I shot with the 210mm handheld at 1/30th sec at The Camera Workshop, with Daniel as witness.

My ultimate lowest handheld speed is 1/3sec with the 9-18mm Olympus.
Anything lower, and it will blur...

Try it. just shoot and shoot and shoot. Exhale BEFORE you depress the shutter; just like shooting a gun.
It really works. (speaking of guns, my fave is still the Glocks)

TS's poison turned out to be vaccine to me instead :sweatsm:

p/s but the girl is a sweet looking lady

My pt was the Beercan is reputed to be quite soft wide open, and I never expected sharp shots handheld at such low shutter speeds without IS/VR/AS.

you do realise that having sharp shots at low shutter speeds without IS/VR/AS is attributable to the user, not the camera or lens?

so are you saying that you are very pro at handholding? :bsmilie::thumbsup:

in any case, i'm seeing a soft image, not a sharp one. so i don't know what you're trying to sell here..

oh, and since i'm here...

i don't know the lens, i also don't know what bokeh is... and most importantly, i definitely don't understand the rule of handholding. :bsmilie:

oh, and since i'm here...

i don't know the lens, i also don't know what bokeh is... and most importantly, i definitely don't understand the rule of handholding. :bsmilie:

...welcome to the world of LOMO ! :bsmilie:

@lenrek

you said, "I am glad you are able to shoot steady with handheld at s 1/80 for 500mm Reflex. I tried shoot the moon, handheld, can never get a clean/sharp picture. In the end, I use the tripod..."

Shooting handheld takes lots and lots of practice.
I shot with the 210mm handheld at 1/30th sec at The Camera Workshop, with Daniel as witness.

My ultimate lowest handheld speed is 1/3sec with the 9-18mm Olympus.
Anything lower, and it will blur...

Try it. just shoot and shoot and shoot. Exhale BEFORE you depress the shutter; just like shooting a gun.
It really works. (speaking of guns, my fave is still the Glocks)

Cool. As long as it works for you.

I rather use tripod.

you do realise that having sharp shots at low shutter speeds without IS/VR/AS is attributable to the user, not the camera or lens? ...

Some people have more steady hand mah... :sweat:

Haha... If TS didn't say about picture sharpness and bokeh (quality of out-of-focus area), I would think the picture is quite nice.

ps: Don't bluff people that you don't know what bokeh is hor... :bsmilie:

Just saw the pic... sharp meh? Don't think it is tack sharp leh... :think: especially at F5.6. My other 30 year old lens can beat this "sharpness" easily... even wide open at F1.2

Amazing sharpness considering there's no IS, no tripod/monopod support and lens is close to wide-open.

Beautiful bokeh too!

If shooting portraits in daytime with bright sunlight at 150mm needing a tripod/monopod, i would rather get rid of the lens. -.-

but 150mm at 1/125s... but not too bad still possible to keep it reasonably stable. the image isn't that sharp also.

but the bokeh?
someone tried to poison me earlier this week with the beercan (via an image with a droolicious bokeh)

i need bbb repellent!

:sweat:

Seriously, to get a nice blur BG, "the distance bewteen the subject and the bg must be far apart enough". even a simple 75-300 at f5.6 is able to get a certain nice bokeh if used correctly.

As for the beer can, at f4, it's able to produce sharp pictures. i used to own 1 before i sold it off.. Alot of times, we complain the lenses we have are not sharp, 80% is where we focus lock and how badly we have recomposed the picture.

And yes, i agree that if shooting in the day. When having a shutter speed reading at 125sec, the picture is still soft, the lens might have some problem matching the camera body.

i need bbb repellent!
:sweat:

the most fatal BBB virus is test snapping with the beercan itself haha..

almost bought a beercan if not for the 10 cents scratch patch front element.. ( which suprisingly dont affect IQ )