70-200mm f2.8 VR+2x teleconverter vs 80-400mm f4.5-5.6 VR

I am for 70-200VR + TC. I have not used the 80-400VR before so cannot comment. But what I can say for my own use is that I will not touch the 400mm side so often, so the TC offers me flexibility when it is needed. But for 99.99% of the time, I have one of the best zooms that Nikon has ever produced. VR + f2.8 indoors without flash is incredible......

Not sure if this applies with others, but it is more expensive to buy cheap. It really is. I learnt the hard way....

70-200VR - excellent pictures, fast focussing, VR, f2.8

But 70-200VR is heavy.... be careful of flare...... expensive.....

Ultimately, the decision should be yours as depends on your budget, depends on your shooting style, what you shoot, where you shoot etc..... it is good to consider everyone's views and then decide what is most suitable for you.... (eg.... dun buy pro lenses if you only shoot once in a while and are not so fussy about picture quality..... unless of course you have a lot of $$$). :)

:thumbsup: well said.

Jimbotan said:
Not sure if this applies with others, but it is more expensive to buy cheap. It really is. I learnt the hard way....

I am also looking for a maga tele lens
and after much consideration, i have narrowed it down to 2 options

Option 1 - too much money
Sigma 120-300 F2.8 + TC

Option 2 - still need to feed my family
Sigma 50-500mm

But since I am a newbie and not going pro
I decided to go for option 2 until i strike lottery

ortega said:

Sigma 120-300 F2.8 + TC

Sigma 50-500mm

Why not consider Sigma 170-500mm ?
You would probably have lenses that cover from 50 - 200mm range.

Goldwing said:
Why not consider Sigma 170-500mm ?
You would probably have lenses that cover from 50 - 200mm range.

Sigma 50-500mm is using HSM, 170-500mm is non-HSM.
Thus 50-500mm AF will be faster.

hahah good for you. Good luck in your search for the 80-400.

Ling Nightsky said:
was searching for photos taken by 80-400mm VR and found this

http://www.pbase.com/gschmickle/great_grays_of_aitkin

amazed...

if i get a 80-400, i'll still have enough left for a wide angle lens... so i guess yup, i've made my decision to get the 80-400mm. Thanx everyone for your help! Appreciate it!

A copy is selling in Buy & Sell forum..
Quick before it gone..
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=186137&highlight=80-400mm

Sensible decision. Good luck to your search.

Ling Nightsky said:
was searching for photos taken by 80-400mm VR and found this

http://www.pbase.com/gschmickle/great_grays_of_aitkin

amazed...

if i get a 80-400, i'll still have enough left for a wide angle lens... so i guess yup, i've made my decision to get the 80-400mm. Thanx everyone for your help! Appreciate it!

ortega said:

Sigma 120-300 F2.8 + TC

Sigma 50-500mm

My friend Viewfinder was selling your option1 not too long ago you can try your luck, or you want me to pass you his contact?

I've used the Sigma 120-300 + 2X TC on a D1H, not bad.

I should change my setup to that too.

TMC said:
I should change my setup to that too.
Why not you pass me your 300 f/2.8, I buy you a 70-200 sigma + tc?

you buy me the 120-300/2.8 sigma + 2x sigma tc first. then we deal.

TMC said:
you buy me the 120-300/2.8 sigma + 2x sigma tc first. then we deal.
Wah lao.. 3rd party... CBD.

donchua said:
Sigma 50-500mm is using HSM, 170-500mm is non-HSM.
Thus 50-500mm AF will be faster.

Go for Nikon..! :thumbsup: :bsmilie:

Huh I thought you only use Nikon :confused: .
I try to follow you my idol than now you say Sigma not bad. :sticktong

My friend Viewfinder was selling your option1 not too long ago you can try your luck, or you want me to pass you his contact?

I saw it as well, so tempting
but i still need to feed my family
can pay in installments or not?

me not pro like you leh, cannot justify quality glass

Dennis said:
Huh I thought you only use Nikon :confused: .
I try to follow you my idol than now you say Sigma not bad. :sticktong
I only test test ma... not my cam/setup ... I only support my idol KRW's recommendations!!! D200 + Canon 10-22!!

ortega said:
I saw it as well, so tempting
but i still need to feed my family
can pay in installments or not?

me not pro like you leh, cannot justify quality glass
find a store that allows you to pay by installment lor.