70-200mm f2.8 VR+2x teleconverter vs 80-400mm f4.5-5.6 VR

donchua said:
Sigma 50-500mm is using HSM, 170-500mm is non-HSM.
Thus 50-500mm AF will be faster.

yup and sharp too
look for user reviews on the net

Mmmm getting to be more like my idol already.
But you still have way to go leh, test test than say not bad.
KRW test test can write a 5 page review. :bsmilie:

I only test test ma... not my cam/setup ... I only support my idol KRW's recommendations!!! D200 + Canon 10-22!!

Dennis said:
Mmmm getting to be more like my idol already.
But you still have way to go leh, test test than say not bad.
KRW test test can write a 5 page review. :bsmilie:
Bo pian!!! I'm not my idol ma!!! I can give you 10 page review, font=impact, fontsize=72 LOL....

Ling Nightsky said:
was searching for photos taken by 80-400mm VR and found this

http://www.pbase.com/gschmickle/great_grays_of_aitkin

amazed...

if i get a 80-400, i'll still have enough left for a wide angle lens... so i guess yup, i've made my decision to get the 80-400mm. Thanx everyone for your help! Appreciate it!

Just read about this thread of yours. A few months ago I faced the same exact situation as you. I was thinking of the exact same issue. Ultimately I go for the 70-200 VR. I am shocked to see your final decision. And I sincerely hope that you don't regret.

Anyway, all the best to you and hope you made a good decision. Good luck. :)

BreakThru said:
Just read about this thread of yours. A few months ago I faced the same exact situation as you. I was thinking of the exact same issue. Ultimately I go for the 70-200 VR. I am shocked to see your final decision. And I sincerely hope that you don't regret.

Anyway, all the best to you and hope you made a good decision. Good luck. :)
:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Ling Nightsky said:
was searching for photos taken by 80-400mm VR and found this

http://www.pbase.com/gschmickle/great_grays_of_aitkin

amazed...

if i get a 80-400, i'll still have enough left for a wide angle lens... so i guess yup, i've made my decision to get the 80-400mm. Thanx everyone for your help! Appreciate it!
There is also sigma 120-300mm F2.8 :thumbsup:

today i went to one of the shop to check out the prices for the 70-200vr and nikor 2x teleconvert and i was quoted $3200 and $580 respectively at cp. am i being tok carrot head?

kcuf2 said:
today i went to one of the shop to check out the prices for the 70-200vr and nikor 2x teleconvert and i was quoted $3200 and $580 respectively at cp. am i being tok carrot head?
Yes :sweat:

Astin said:
Yes :sweat:
actually this is not the 1st time i got quoted so high prices for item at cp...or issit that u all got lobang to buy cheap there?

Astin said:
Check here for the non carrot head nikon prices:
http://forums.clubsnap.com/showthread.php?t=151190

actually, i have seen the page u given me more than 10 times already.. and then i also know that skyestang is selling the 70-200vr at $2820, while others mentioned they get quoted at $3100..i still dun understand why i go to the shops listed there in the clubsnap website, i always get much high prices one...
another example: the sigma 50-500 i was quoted at $1988 at another shop, while the clubsnap list price is much lesser than that..

i think its my face that gives the "tok my carrot head" look..:confused:

kcuf2 said:
Yes, CP quote diff price for diff face, I think u must be that kind who dress very neat, wear specs, speak very perfect english type...:bsmilie:

kcuf2 said:
actually, i have seen the page u given me more than 10 times already.. and then i also know that skyestang is selling the 70-200vr at $2820, while others mentioned they get quoted at $3100..i still dun understand why i go to the shops listed there in the clubsnap website, i always get much high prices one...
another example: the sigma 50-500 i was quoted at $1988 at another shop, while the clubsnap list price is much lesser than that..

Some lower quote might be from e-quote.
For me, I prefer to get a e-quote if I want to buy the item.
If just need reference price, will just walk in or call for quote which usually
will be higher then e-quote for some shops unless you know them very well..

kcuf2 said:

I would suggest that you mentioned the price you knew from CS (or others whom purchased the product from that shop before) after being quote a much higher price. Like for eg, "So high?? isn't the price suppose to be _____?? Price rise recently meh??"

If not, try after receiving the quote, ask for CASH PRICE. It should help. Be steady, firm but friendly... sometimes speaking mandarin or dialect might help. :thumbsup:

;) Don't think anyone has those carrot head look less you look like tourist. :bsmilie: Are you ang mo?? :bigeyes:

BreakThru said:
I would suggest that you mentioned the price you knew from CS (or others whom purchased the product from that shop before) after being quote a much higher price. Like for eg, "So high?? isn't the price suppose to be _____?? Price rise recently meh??"

If not, try after receiving the quote, ask for CASH PRICE. It should help. Be steady, firm but friendly... sometimes speaking mandarin or dialect might help. :thumbsup:

;) Don't think anyone has those carrot head look less you look like tourist. :bsmilie: Are you ang mo?? :bigeyes:

actually no leh... i look like a chinese :P .. 23 yrs old.. and wearing just a normal t-shirt...and i never wear specs, the uncle first talk to me in english, then from then on i talk in english liao..

thanks donchua, astin and breakthru :) i will try to equote them and see the what kind of price i will get from them

kcuf2 said:
actually no leh... i look like a chinese :P .. 23 yrs old.. and wearing just a normal t-shirt...and i never wear specs, the uncle first talk to me in english, then from then on i talk in english liao..

thanks donchua, astin and breakthru :) i will try to equote them and see the what kind of price i will get from them

If you in of getting the VR 70-200, why not check with skyestang?
His price will be the cheapest with warranty.

thanx people :) will try out both the lens first before i make my final decision.

for your information, the AFS80-200 and 70-200VR is available at prime camera beside CP. Just saw both today.

TMC said:
for your information, the AFS80-200 and 70-200VR is available at prime camera beside CP. Just saw both today.
Just *CENSOR* *CENSOR* *CENSOR*!!

TMC said:

How the price tag?