Zeiss Lens on EOS

cyanwater said:
One with stopper costs $170 and one w/o merely costs $18!?! :bigeyes: Can you explain to me how the stopper work? And how exactly one w/o can damage the electronic pins? Thanks!

don't know man... I think the cost of the whole thing cost a couple of dollar.
Can earn at least $16 if we sell for $18! Maybe u can have a sample from me and start machining out adapter and sell to us cheap!

OT:

Hey are u that wee keng hor which appeared in the Photoi April 2005 issue ?

weekh said:
don't know man... I think the cost of the whole thing cost a couple of dollar.
Can earn at least $16 if we sell for $18! Maybe u can have a sample from me and start machining out adapter and sell to us cheap!

wee, its not that simple, I tried to machine my version of the adapter but sad to say, my machinist say it rather hard as in the "fins" for mounting has to be calculated out(only say at most 80% zhun) if not will have to send the whole thing for scoping, and scoping cost is rather high at ard 400 bucks. Given that the demand for such adapters here in singapore is not that high, i guess not one would be willing to send the thing for scoping process even me don't feel justified about it. So let say we go by the calculation method, and we made some errors, the whole thing might just not fit, mount properly or mis align thus wasting time, effort and materials and hence it might then lead to the increase in price of the "final zhun" adapter if you managed to get it right.

PS: some of the thing are so fine that you might not be able to find a suitable cutter here in singapore hence might have to do special order for cutter and hence adding on to the cost

Xpose said:
wee, its not that simple, I tried to machine my version of the adapter but sad to say, my machinist say it rather hard as in the "fins" for mounting has to be calculated out(only say at most 80% zhun) if not will have to send the whole thing for scoping, and scoping cost is rather high at ard 400 bucks. Given that the demand for such adapters here in singapore is not that high, i guess not one would be willing to send the thing for scoping process even me don't feel justified about it. So let say we go by the calculation method, and we made some errors, the whole thing might just not fit, mount properly or mis align thus wasting time, effort and materials and hence it might then lead to the increase in price of the "final zhun" adapter if you managed to get it right.

PS: some of the thing are so fine that you might not be able to find a suitable cutter here in singapore hence might have to do special order for cutter and hence adding on to the cost

Precisely lor... some people just look at price and never give a thought to fine workmanship...

Xpose said:

:bigeyes: You tried to machine your own adapter??? SO cooL! So are you saying that the cheap ones will not fit nicely and will hence damage the electronic pins?

cyanwater said:
:bigeyes: You tried to machine your own adapter??? SO cooL! So are you saying that the cheap ones will not fit nicely and will hence damage the electronic pins?

well, you never know if the adapter might just "scratch: or "break" the pins when you are doing the mounting process. One broken pin, there may goes either your AF, your aperture and etc. Because of this reason, till now I have not really give my guys the order to start the drum rolling. Still waiting for weekh's 2nd mo of the adapter to arrive, then maybe do a comparsion btw the two, mine and his then see which one is better and find out why this is design in this way and why that is designed in that way. Its better to understand the logic behind than to blindly copy and paste :bsmilie:

weekh

can you explain how to remove the DSLRx from the CZ lens.
cannot find any spring loaded catch.

weekh

Thanks, read the website you showed.

I have seen the adapter from Fotografix. It has a springloaded catch to release the adapter from the lens.

The DSLRx adapter

The DLSRx looks like it is fixed by turning down a screw with allen key.
Suppose to remove means turn fixing screw out and then rotate adapter out.
If adapter screw not fully released out when turning the adapter to remove it from lens, the screw will scratch the CZ lens metal rear profile.

They also warn if you did not turn in the fixing screw deep enough, it may protude and scratch your camera innards when mounting onto camera.

This removal from one CZ lens and putting adapter on to another CZ lens is not easily done in the field.
No wonder the DSLRx say it is best you fix an adapter to each lens.

I notice (and this is very significant) -- that DSLRx did not place any instructions to remove the adapter from your CZ lens. They should.

Just received the adaptor from KH and found that it works great. It takes a little more time to tighten the set screw but this design is so much more secure than other makes. It is very well-made too. I have tried it with CZ28/2, 85/1.4 and 15/3.5, all works perfectly.

To remove the ring is easy. Loosen the set screw first. Use the rear EF lens cap to place on the ring and twist gently anti-clockwise and viola!!

yol925

of yah, we were in the same shop yesterday looking at cz adapter you got from weekh. ;)

ricohflex said:
yol925

of yah, we were in the same shop yesterday looking at cz adapter you got from weekh. ;)

small world :)

sidetake1.jpg

Anybody interested in a group outing for those who use Contax lens on the EOS body? Let's go and shoot some pictures and compare notes.

weekh

any objection if I use the cz lens on a contax/yashica film body?

ricohflex said:
weekh

any objection if I use the cz lens on a contax/yashica film body?

Well I guess that should be fine. Like to learn more from those Contax users too!

wish i can join u guys..

Walked around the old Tiong Bahru area and find the neighbourhood rather interesting and unique. There's certainly more room for exploration.

0.jpg

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

weekh said:
Kyocera has announced http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/209075 that it will stop the Contax brand.

Hope some company will take over the Contax brand and continue to produce the Zeiss lenses.

hope so.. a pity if just go off like tt.
would be nice if sony take over.. but pray they dun push up the price.