Wu Xiao Kang - A Dose of LIES

If you read the Straits Times articles quoted on the first two pages of this thread, you would see that the organizers Phish Communications were not aware of the hoax. They were duped by Tay Kay Chin, the curator who selected the photos for the exhibition even though he knew they were dodgy.

Now that the organisers have discovered the truth, then it becomes more compelling that they shoul not display these works!

What crap about trying to evoke a response from the audience and the nonsense, so does that mean that if I turn up tomorrow, I can go slap the artists' faces, since it is their intention to illicit a response from their 'artwork', and i'm just responding to them lor.

What crap!

From the news reports:
1) "Photographer Tay Kay Chin, 41, who selected the pieces to be shown in the exhibition despite being aware of the hoax"
2) "Festival director Shirlene Noordin, 38, who wrote an essay in the catalogue introducing the group, said she was 'really upset' to have been kept in the dark."

I would state that Tay and the collective duped the organizer.

next catchline for the news broadcast...

Photographers dupe organisers of exhibition showcasing 'art' works of fake schizophrenia patient.

Well, its really sick... just for fame & glory, they not only make photographers look like cheaters, patients with schizophrenia sound like some joke, and makes a fool out of every one who have felt for the image... :thumbsd:

Now that the organisers have discovered the truth, then it becomes more compelling that they shoul not display these works!

What crap about trying to evoke a response from the audience and the nonsense, so does that mean that if I turn up tomorrow, I can go slap the artists' faces, since it is their intention to illicit a response from their 'artwork', and i'm just responding to them lor.

What crap!

Can you post the email you have sent to them? then we compile a long petition for them...

next catchline for the news broadcast...

Photographers dupe organisers of exhibition showcasing 'art' works of fake schizophrenia patient.

Well, its really sick... just for fame & glory, they not only make photographers look like cheaters, patients with schizophrenia sound like some joke, and makes a fool out of every one who have felt for the image... :thumbsd:

hmmm ... think i need to excuse myself from this thread awhile ... feeling very unhappy ... ;(

well... which photographer won't...

guess we're just shouting in this small little hole...

unless we can unify, let us as Csers unite to oust these bad eggs out of the society...

well... which photographer won't...

guess we're just shouting in this small little hole...

unless we can unify, let us as Csers unite to oust these bad eggs out of the society...

what if the photographers are CSers too? :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Can you post the email you have sent to them? then we compile a long petition for them...

Damn, I've lodged my protest through the feedback form at the website!

While I can't recall word for word, but here goes:

"Dear Organisers,

I've read with disgust that some of the photographs that is being exhibited at the exhibition Out of focus, which was purportedly taken by a schizoprhenic photographer, are actually untrue, that they were taken by a group of so called art photographers.

While the photographs taken are of good standards, the same cannot be said about the integrity and ethics of those who have taken them.

By falsely claiming that it was taken by someone who is not, is tantamount to misrepresentation and defrauding the public.

On this ground, I urge you not to exhibit these photographs, or to remove them if you have already done so."

Ok, something to that effect....

Damn, I've lodged my protest through the feedback form at the website!

While I can't recall word for word, but here goes:

"Dear Organisers,

I've read with disgust that some of the photographs that is being exhibited at the exhibition Out of focus, which was purportedly taken by a schizoprhenic photographers, are actually untrue, that they were taken by a group of so called art photographers.

While the photographs taken are of good standards, the same cannot be said about the integrity and ethics of those who have taken them.

By falsely claiming that it was taken by someone who is not, is tantamount to misrepresentation and defrauding the public.

On this ground, I urge you not to exhibit these photographs, or to remove them if you have already done so."

Ok, something to that effect....

Bro, can help me start a petition... then we do a poll over here?

My english not really power...

Bro, can help me start a petition... then we do a poll over here?

My english not really power...

Wah lau, you think mine is very powerful meh?

Sheesh, now I wish Student is around....:P

what if the photographers are CSers too? :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

i believe they are... hence they went into hiding already... simplest way is...

check which member refresh this thread the most, but did not post a reply... :devil:

Then now u see them post a reply suddenly, will be the culprit..

Ok la, how do you think you want to start a petition here?

hmm, i think we just summarize how we feel, and what we wish to be done. and we expect them to have an apology on their site in regards to this.

ok, me got to go off for a while, will return after 10pm tonight...let's garner more views first before we try to summarise can?

Btw, does ayone here put themselves into the shoes of those mentally ill? Just that they thought that they've found someone to highlight their plight, and to raise the awareness in the public, then the truth comes out...what you think these patients would feel?

This is machiam like those who actually take advantage of the blind, let them go sell tissues at coffeshop and MRT, only to take a lion's share of the profit at the end of the day lor.

Indeed this is exploitation!

ok, me got to go off for a while, will return after 10pm tonight...let's garner more views first before we try to summarise can?

Btw, does ayone here put themselves into the shoes of those mentally ill? Just that they thought that they've found someone to highlight their plight, and to raise the awareness in the public, then the truth comes out...what you think these patients would feel?

This is machiam like those who actually take advantage of the blind, let them go sell tissues at coffeshop and MRT, only to take a lion's share of the profit at the end of the day lor.

Indeed this is exploitation!

tats y i also say the patients view...

having been attached to IMH before during training, schizophrenia patients won't do such a thing... super misinterpretation...

Actually there is one thread even earlier than the one mentioned many pages ago that also uncovered certain discrepancies in the photos.

:dunno: If the organiser chooses to go on. Maybe we can hold placards and walk around outside denouncing the event. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Actually there is one thread even earlier than the one mentioned many pages ago that also uncovered certain discrepancies in the photos.

:dunno: If the organiser chooses to go on. Maybe we can hold placards and walk around outside denouncing the event. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

U got the balls lor... i dun have the time... :sweat:

If art's intention was to deceive the public with a false story, then its act, not art.

If art's intention was to mislead the public, its not art... its politics...

If art's intention was to create awareness by sacrificing truth, then who will believe in art, let alone be aware in future...

These work, just serve to tell the public...

1) do not trust what you see.
2) do not trust any campaign.
3) do not trust any photographers who tell you about art

:think: everything on earth is illusion? forgot where i heard this sentence frm...

if i happen to pass by the exhibit... i jus :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

:think: everything on earth is illusion? forgot where i heard this sentence frm...

if i happen to pass by the exhibit... i jus :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

now it's sounding like the matrix... :bsmilie: