Wu Xiao Kang - A Dose of LIES

I have taken some time to explain but obviously, it either didn't matter or I am not to be believed. So if it is yours and others opinion that I duped the organizer, then what can I say? And if that is the price I have to pay for my role, then I will have to live with it.

Again, yes, you duped the organizer. You should have blown the whistle when you found out about the hoax. You didn't.

The price to pay are not people like me hounding you, it's your conscience. Can you live with yourself?

What you can do is to help take down the offending pictures from the exhibition.

Do the right thing. Do the ethical thing.

LOL! I think badly of ST but not that bad!

BTW, for those that are upset at this hoax, there is a possiblilty to extract your pound of flesh. The details needed are all in the first ST article. ;)

ST got interested in the story last week because of the fake petition. I decided there and then this was getting out of hand and told the reporter the truth. Being understanding, the reporter decided to give the collective a chance to come clean voluntarily or be exposed in any case.

Art, controversy, the Blair Witch Project, blah, blah, blah.

After reading opinions from both sides of the fence, I still think these people have just hit a new low. It's lying at so many levels. Not exploitation because they don't gain anything? It's EXACTLY exploitation because they've garnered publicity for their little art project, in the guise of "increasing awareness of schizophrenia".

Their original intentions were good? From the tone of the postings of Angelique Pan on her blog, I somehow doubt that even. At best, that sounds like a weak attempt at damage control.

I know of real schizophrenics who have heard of WXK and were lobbying very hard to support the (fake) petition of bringing the roll of film back to Singapore. They saw this person as a beacon of hope. So now that the cat's out of the bag, do sufferers of this illness owe the collective a debt of gratitude? Have they found themselves a hero?

Seriously people, think of how sufferers of mental illness feel. Some have been fighting to gain acceptance from people and remove stigmatization. Has the collective achieved this? From henceforth, every account of the true talents of schizophrenics will be viewed with at least some doubt. The fact that the exhibition is still going to go on is a slap in the face for these people.

This is not art. This is controversy for the sake of it. This is a cruel joke. This is a lie.

Again, yes, you duped the organizer. You should have blown the whistle when you found out about the hoax. You didn't.

The price to pay are not people like me hounding you, it's your conscience. Can you live with yourself?

What you can do is to help take down the offending pictures from the exhibition.

yo dp.. i think our "energy" should be directed at the three originators of this whole thing. while they may have not surfaced here, i think u and kaychin have been exchanging what seems like the same conversation over and over... not very constructive leh.

i'll be sending the organisers email too, altho like i mentioned b4.. they withdraw so what..? but i guess it's better than none, altho i feel damage is already done.

fyi: I knew about that it was fictional BEFORE I recommended it for MOP. So you see why i can't follow your reasoning that I should blow the whistle? The theme for this year is wandering/journey. this story to me is a trip by itself - unconventional, twisted and probably controversial; but at the same time, I told myself that perhaps it is possible for someone who lost his mind to do something so drastic.

As the curator, I will have to write my curatorial note to explain my choice. So if I put up a big sign at MOP to say that what you about to see is totally fictional, then I can totally wash my hands off? I wish putting together a show is so clear cut and simple. Did I get to do that? I think you probably assumed, without considering that I may not, that I would continue lying with them. I don't think that is fair.

Now tell me how I can help to take the show down when I don't even work on MOP2007? I asked Song last night if withdrawing was a choice. He said "no, too late, cannot sabo the other exhibitors." I don't profess to totally understand his message but I take it as boi sai withdraw liao.

The person who can make the decision is not me. I hope you really understand.

Art, controversy, the Blair Witch Project, blah, blah, blah.

After reading opinions from both sides of the fence, I still think these people have just hit a new low. It's lying at so many levels. Not exploitation because they don't gain anything? It's EXACTLY exploitation because they've garnered publicity for their little art project, in the guise of "increasing awareness of schizophrenia".

Their original intentions were good? From the tone of the postings of Angelique Pan on her blog, I somehow doubt that even. At best, that sounds like a weak attempt at damage control.

I know of real schizophrenics who have heard of WXK and were lobbying very hard to support the (fake) petition of bringing the roll of film back to Singapore. They saw this person as a beacon of hope. So now that the cat's out of the bag, do sufferers of this illness owe the collective a debt of gratitude? Have they found themselves a hero?

Seriously people, think of how sufferers of mental illness feel. Some have been fighting to gain acceptance from people and remove stigmatization. Has the collective achieved this? From henceforth, every account of the true talents of schizophrenics will be viewed with at least some doubt. The fact that the exhibition is still going to go on is a slap in the face for these people.

This is not art. This is controversy for the sake of it. This is a cruel joke. This is a lie.

So people who differs from you or majority is low? Have a more open mind.

What they presented is conceptual art, not journalistic photography. Its stated fictional. See it as an artwork, using photography as media.

fyi: I knew about that it was fictional BEFORE I recommended it for MOP. So you see why i can't follow your reasoning that I should blow the whistle? The theme for this year is wandering/journey. this story to me is a trip by itself. As the curator, I will have to write my curatorial note to explain my choice. So if I put up a big sign at MOP to say that what you about to see is totally fictional, then I can totally wash my hands off? Did I get to do that? I think you probably assumed, without considering that I may not, that I would continue lying with them.

Now tell me how I can help to take the show down when I don't even work on MOP2007? I asked Song last night if withdrawing was a choice. He said "no, too late, cannot sabo the other exhibitors." I don't profess to totally understand his message but I take it as boi sai withdraw liao.

The person who can make the decision is not me. I hope you really understand.

Kaychin, I never think you are a "bad" person. You will never be able to wash your hands clean competely, but you can make a difference and do the right thing.

The exhibition is sabo already if the offending pictures are not taken off. Phish is a business. They deal with communications. Do you think any clients will trust them anymore. It's inevitable. If what Phish told you is how they think, they are just as bad as the offending 3 stooges.

The decision is yours to make. You can help to bring down the offending prints, or you can just stand by one side and wait for the repercussions.

Kaychin, I never think you are a "bad" person. You will never be able to wash your hands clean competely, but you can make a difference and do the right thing.

The exhibition is sabo already if the offending pictures are not taken off. Phish is a business. They deal with communications. Do you think any clients will trust them anymore. It's inevitable. If what Phish told you is how they think, they are just as bad as the offending 3 stooges.

The decision is yours to make. You can help to bring down the offending prints, or you can just stand by one side and wait for the repercussions.

DP, what did Phish tell me? I am lost here. And you haven't tell me how I can take the show down apart from sneaking in with a few of you, perhaps when night fall, and destroy them? (bad idea actually bec that will yield story #3)

But really, how? tell me. I think you have really overestimated my influence and ability.

DP, what did Phish tell me? I am lost here. And you haven't tell me how I can take the show down apart from sneaking in with a few of you, perhaps when night fall, and destroy them? (bad idea actually bec that will yield story #3)

But really, how? tell me. I think you have really overestimated my influence and ability.

Kay Chin,

Perhaps you'd like to get to the reporter again, and in your capacity, telling her that what you've done is a gross oversight, and let her take it from there...tell her to come here to get some strong opinions lor, I'm sure a few of us here don't mind voicing our opinion to the public. A reporter will surely know how to take it from here....

Like what DP said, if they want publicity, we'll give it to them...real bad ones....

Kay Chin,

Perhaps you'd like to get to the reporter again, and in your capacity, telling her that what you've done is a gross oversight, and let her take it from there...tell her to come here to get some strong opinions lor, I'm sure a few of us here don't mind voicing our opinion to the public. A reporter will surely know how to take it from here....

Like what DP said, if they want publicity, we'll give it to them...real bad ones....

Hobbit, Adeline's email is on the stories published. Maybe you can write to her personally. I will alert her seperately (I believe she already knew about this thread) to this ongoing exchange. Fair?

Great, thanks!

Damn, I click the link to the ST article, but I was directed to a log in page, where I need to suscribe to get in.

Kay Chin, can u PM me her email addy?

So people who differs from you or majority is low? Have a more open mind.

What they presented is conceptual art, not journalistic photography. Its stated fictional. See it as an artwork, using photography as media.

I would not have a problem with this "art" had it been honest about its intentions from the beginning. The collective only revealed that it is fictional when they knew they couldn't hold it in any longer. The original intent, as far as I can interpret, was NEVER to present to the public this "conceptual art". It's not merely about art. It goes beyond that because real people are affected. If one were to have an "open mind", then he/she would have to take all these things into consideration.

Of course, these are merely my own opinions, which may be worthless in a sea of other opinions. Maybe we should seek the opinions of real schizophrenics and hear them out? But from what I've been reading, volunteers from the Silver Ribbon project are totally not impressed, to say the least.

WOW....so fast ah......... Too bad that my "Ang Mo" not so good and it quite hard for me to understand those things that you guys have been "discussing"

Btw, i used to be a "fan" of Xian Kang too but not now anymore and i have shared this incident to those that i have shared with them about "Xiao Kang" before this.

Personally, i feel there is "nothing much we can do" too, it's kind of their gains that this HO HA has created much attention for them.

Is this consider cheating or kind of lying? Is an offence in Sg? If yes, why not just call "MA TA" then they can all kind of awareness they wanted and it going to be very xpansive. If not, it seem like no point to yelling so much. Dont waste your precious energy and time, i believe there are many other things that more worth your attention than this.

Just like the "????" handle this. Let's just open our eyes and see.

Ya man, just let them handle this "business" themselves as they are "Old" enough to "think".

as to oversight part 2, I gladly and openly admit that I know little about schizoprenia but believe that the fictional character is POSSIBLE. I have learned much since meeting the two sufferers. Someone said earlier that schizo people won't kill themselves. I am not too sure about that.

At my friend's brother's couselling session, he was if he heard voices and if he contemplated suicide. His answers were yes and no.

(I have removed some of the details for fear that I will be accused of trying to get sympathy votes)

And by proxy, and because of my association with them, if it means I have to take some of the s**t and the blame. So be it.

well, as i was saying... remember that they started out with the WXK is having visual delusion, most of the time they would be preoccupied with things that are 'floating' around them, for instance of one whom i attended at IMH, was having delusion of spider webs out of his mouth, he is constantly preoccupied with pulling the imaginery webs away...

well, i did not say that they won't commit suicide, but having delusion does not do that...

auditory however, may or may not, its 24hours of constant talking from imaginery character that they can't see, keep telling them to do this, do that... to some point, yes, hurt someone, or hurt themselves... its a struggle for them, and i really feel for them. Just imagine not sleeping for few days, and your limits crossed and you go to the extreme...

but, have they done enough research to conclude that?

no, they just use their imagination and well, just think, hey, all the schizo patient will definitely die, so lets think of a beautiful scenario to orchestrate the events, 36 rolls, 36 pics, with 1 final death... its really irresponsible... instead of such works, why don't they really go find out what goes on with the patients and make a work with hope instead of despair.

Its saddening, if someone without prior knowledge of this... would have thought of a possible scenario.

"its like a cancer... if i got schizo next time, i will fall to my death... i am a social deficit... so before i become like this... i might as well end it faster..."

After reading through every single post on every single page, I would like to share my opinion on the issue.

I don't claim to be an artist, but I do see myself as a very avid student of art.

To me, and many others, art is a form of expression. There is an intent, sometimes tacit, sometimes explicit, for the artist. This intent can sometimes be self-gratifying ('total oblivion to other., I create for myself only'), sometimes to seek to influence, sometimes to seek to impress. But always, the intent drives the execution. Sometimes it works, sometimes it fails.

My comments are on the (claimed) art piece :
Wu Xiao Kang (1979 - 2005), a presentation of Bicameralism

The intent was made clear to me on http://adoseoflight.com/overdose/xiaokang.html

One thing Wu Xiao Kang (1979 - 2005), a presentation of Bicameralism suceeded in doing is it got enough of my attention to want to make a response. I didn't go through the initial phase of being duped, so by the time I read this thread, the 'hoax' had been clarified.

That was about the longest foreplay I've ever made on the internet.

My key critique is, if this entire drama saga were considered an art piece, without personal moral judgements, the student of art in me is very much impressed.

I mean the entire saga.

That means right from the start, hypothetically speaking the intent (which I talked about) is to seek to influence emotions of the incognito public for a fictitious character. The performance is the hoax itself (yes, lying is an art, whether we see it that way or not). To create a fantasy to elicit a spontaneous reaction.

Like how in some avant garde art exhibition, an artisit suddenly walked into the gallery, stood on a chair, sling a rope over the beams on the ceiling, and hanged himself. That was the art piece. Of course, it 'deceived' the audience. Of course, it was a hoax and he didn't actually hang himself. All of the audience were initially shocked. Some phased to rage. Some, amusement, others indifference. But the intent of the art is to elicit these emotions.

Now that they have explicitly stated their intent of the artwork, I have no fear sharing the above, of them changing their stance and claim that their initial intent is of a similar nature, in the name of art.

But this Wu Xiao Kang (1979 - 2005), a presentation of Bicameralism piece is getting so much negative response. Is it because the whole thing was a hoax? It is because the audience feel deceived? Can it even claim the integrity of an artisitic expression?

I think not.

I think the execution had fallen flat from the intent: They say they were trying to assume the psyche of a schizo and portray bicameralism through photography. So according to them, the main performance here should still photography. The drama mama (of the death, the online petition to get the last roll of film etc) was supposed to have been the icing on the cake. But instead, this drama mama became the main performance. Much effort was given to create the hoax. Very little on the photography. So when the audience really looked at the main performance (photography), the audience is thrown aback.

Where is bicameralism in the photos?
Where is schizophrenia in the photos?
Did this artwork draw any awareness to schizophrenia like it claimed to set out to do? Or just an individual?
Did this artwork accomplish any bigger accomplishment like it claimed (to raise awareness for the less fortunate) than the self-gloryfying one?

All these are tacit feelings which I believe many share, but remain tacit, until made explicit.

Reading the published intent by them is leaving a really bad taste in my mouth. It's insincere, pretentious, placed on some faultless pedastal, hoping to seek justification because of the pedestal it is on, but not what it is.

The intent is obvious. It is to draw attention for self glamourisation like so many people felt, not what the creators claimed. This intent had shaped the execution, where the icing became the main performance, and the main performance did not live up to the promise of the icing. Thus I would say it deserves the response its drawing.

shinken... can please summarize into what normal human can understand...

cos i am wondering... are you either one of the 3 who are now brainwashing us, or are you trying to be like them and glorify them in hope of doing the same?

the world doesn't end even if the exhibition goes on. if it goes on, that will give you the opportunity to go down and lodge a strong protest right? why not go down and express your views to the organizer?

shinken... can please summarize into what normal human can understand...

cos i am wondering... are you either one of the 3 who are now brainwashing us, or are you trying to be like them and glorify them in hope of doing the same?

One of them? Glorify them? Please read slowly.