Who is learning driving now?

Eh? I read your paragraph again and I interprete the same leh.. Anyway, only theory, I haven't reach that stage in practical yet.. ;p

For slope,
1. Accelerate to 2k rpm,
2. Release clutch till abt 1 k, slight vibration or change in engine rpm,
3. depress accelerator till 2k rpm again,
4. Release handbrake slowly and "hold" clutch for 1 sec and gradually release,
5. When on top of slope, release both acc & clutch simultaneously slowly,<engine brake!>
6. Upon coming down slope, depress brake slightly until halfway down the slope, just before stopping, depress clutch completely.
When on top of the slope, release both clutch and acc, this is to make use of engine brake when going downslope.

If u dun depress clutch when stopping sure stall wat....:dunno: Read properly leh, lucky u not my student....:sweat:

If u still dun understand, nvm................

Booked my DS liao. DS = Driving Simulation. Stupid me, went to book for 2 lessons somemore, haha! :bsmilie: Still got 2 more auto lessons to go. Think got enough $ in my account for it. Most to most kill one lesson n use for auto and still got enough for the whole course. See how first as between last lesson n test about 2 wks, need to practise to get more confidence. Total amount spend around $2.3k for me, including those haven't taken and theroy test. ;)

For slope,
1. Accelerate to 2k rpm,
2. Release clutch till abt 1 k, slight vibration or change in engine rpm,
3. depress accelerator till 2k rpm again,
4. Release handbrake slowly and "hold" clutch for 1 sec and gradually release,
5. When on top of slope, release both acc & clutch simultaneously slowly,<engine brake!>
6. Upon coming down slope, depress brake slightly until halfway down the slope, just before stopping, depress clutch completely.
When on top of the slope, release both clutch and acc, this is to make use of engine brake when going downslope.

If u dun depress clutch when stopping sure stall wat....:dunno: Read properly leh, lucky u not my student....:sweat:

If u still dun understand, nvm................

Now this sounds more correct. The previous one says depress clutch fully to make use of engine brake. ;p

Booked my DS liao. DS = Driving Simulation. Stupid me, went to book for 2 lessons somemore, haha! :bsmilie: Still got 2 more auto lessons to go. Think got enough $ in my account for it. Most to most kill one lesson n use for auto and still got enough for the whole course. See how first as between last lesson n test about 2 wks, need to practise to get more confidence. Total amount spend around $2.3k for me, including those haven't taken and theroy test. ;)

I suppose most of your lessons during off peak? ;p

Yup, as I work shift, easy for me to plan. On top of that, cheaper by $10 per lesson, haha! ;p :bsmilie:

While it may be more economical to have your driving lessons during off peak hours, at least you should have some during peak hours where the traffic is much heavier so that you can have a few of it and get used to such condition.

True but during evening training, instructor themself also don't like as lane change is hard to do, need to stop too much. Furthermore very stressing as distance of other vehicles hard to judge and need a lot of training. But test during day time, too much night training also become disadvantage. ;)

This is driving during peak hours is all about. If you don't get a feel of it and get used to it, you won't be able to cope especially if your test is during the peak hours. I wonder why your instructor doesn't want to let u train during peak horus.:think: Very strange.

Cos during 1800 to 1940, a lot of ppl wants to go home and also, they mostly bochap learner. Therefore, consider dangerous to us too. I rather learn the trick during day time, more relax n also, easier to see. Anyway my test time is at 11am, should be ok for me to pick up day training. ;)

Yes, no doubt it is easier to learn and more relax, like what you said, during off peak hours, but alot of situations that you see during peak hours can never be replicated during off peak hours where there are lesser traffic and the flow is much smoother. Obviously, a learner will love such a road condition but you need to learn it during peak hours to horne your skills. Sure, your test is at 11am during off peak hours and chances are it will be less stressful to you, do you sincerely think you can cope, after you passed, dealing with peak hour traffic when you have done little or no training during such hours? Stop kidding yourself that u can learn peak hour "tricks" during off peak hours. Believe me, I have been driving for the past 20 years, it never happened that way.

But at least we don't feel stress when driving during the day. Furthermore, evening training mostly taken up when I want to take up the lessons. If got the licence, will go on the road during night when got a better skill already lor. If not, next time cannot drive babes home, haha! :bsmilie: ;p

I think may be because the progress becomes very slow like in my case, for the same number of lessons, I was only to cover less topics. In the earlier stage, I had quite a number of off-peak lessons, and I find that I was able to clear 2 topics per lesson. Now I can only clear one per lesson because I didn't want to take too much leave and time off from my company.. :(

But you are right in saying that the skills picked up during peak hour cannot be replicated in an off-peak session. Yes, I cleared handling the vehicle during off-peak, but during peak, just to filter out into another road and the traffic is heavy, you may have to stop. And then when it's clear to go after checking clear, if the proficiency is not there, there is a chance that you may stall the engine or make some silly mistakes because too tense.

I think may be because the progress becomes very slow like in my case, for the same number of lessons, I was only to cover less topics. In the earlier stage, I had quite a number of off-peak lessons, and I find that I was able to clear 2 topics per lesson. Now I can only clear one per lesson because I didn't want to take too much leave and time off from my company.. :(

But you are right in saying that the skills picked up during peak hour cannot be replicated in an off-peak session. Yes, I cleared handling the vehicle during off-peak, but during peak, just to filter out into another road and the traffic is heavy, you may have to stop. And then when it's clear to go after checking clear, if the proficiency is not there, there is a chance that you may stall the engine or make some silly mistakes because too tense.

Example of a student encountering problems during his evening training, haha! :bsmilie:

I think redstorm is right that we need to practise during evening but it is after only we got the licence. If not, we are blocking the traffic flow unless we are really experience and can speed up like a regular.

Take my case for example, after right turn, I need to cut back to left lane. During off peak, my chance is higher as lesser cars and more clearer of vehicles from behind. But during evening training that day, I need to speed up a lot and in the end, still no chance to come back till another traffic light which abt 300m away. But if lucky enough, some drivers will let u cut back as they know you need to but most drivers, dont.

Therefore, learning during day time pick up confidence and after we got licence, we then can practise more during peak hours. Just like now we learn till 4th gear, no expressway for us and after we got our licence, we cannot go on 5th gear n expressway? Evening training really stress, esp u see head lights mostly, not vehicle body and on top of that, some inconsiderate drivers with BLACK cars and didn't switch on head lights when the sky is dark, how to see them! :angry:

Example of a student encountering problems during his evening training, haha! :bsmilie:

I think redstorm is right that we need to practise during evening but it is after only we got the licence. If not, we are blocking the traffic flow unless we are really experience and can speed up like a regular.

Take my case for example, after right turn, I need to cut back to left lane. During off peak, my chance is higher as lesser cars and more clearer of vehicles from behind. But during evening training that day, I need to speed up a lot and in the end, still no chance to come back till another traffic light which abt 300m away. But if lucky enough, some drivers will let u cut back as they know you need to but most drivers, dont.

Therefore, learning during day time pick up confidence and after we got licence, we then can practise more during peak hours. Just like now we learn till 4th gear, no expressway for us and after we got our licence, we cannot go on 5th gear n expressway? Evening training really stress, esp u see head lights mostly, not vehicle body and on top of that, some inconsiderate drivers with BLACK cars and didn't switch on head lights when the sky is dark, how to see them! :angry:

Haha.. I just topped up more money because I realised I'm unable to progress as quickly with peak lessons as compared to off-peak lessons. I don't want to waste so much leave and not very nice to always take time off from company. I still have booked a couple of off peak lessons but most of my lessons are 6pm now. Sigh... it's going to cost me a whole lot more but no choice..

Me still not sure whether can get a slot for AUTO lesson or not. After 3.04 then can book, so troublesome. Maybe some time I saw some cars which not use, maybe are AUTO type, no one book. DS confirm got slot, no worries and it is short but cost abt $23 if not wrong. ;)

Later going to ask my instructor on moving off. I am taught to acc till RPM 2k to 3k n then release clutch. Last lesson, another instructor told me, release the clutch a bit before pushing gas pedal down. I tried n it is a much better way to move off. :think:

Two auto lesson can actually do in one session. I think cancel one first then if need to do again book again.

Later going to ask my instructor on moving off. I am taught to acc till RPM 2k to 3k n then release clutch. Last lesson, another instructor told me, release the clutch a bit before pushing gas pedal down. I tried n it is a much better way to move off. :think:
As long as you feel the car front is floating, you hold the clutch, release the handbrake and press the accelerator slowly at the same time

Clutch control really a headache but good to learn it. I now learning how to control low speed driving with clutch n acc pedal. Sometime lose the footing, cannot feel the acc pedal, haha!

Driving in the circuit is 100X more dangerous than on the road. Tons of blind spot and those instructor on bike can make a 90 degree turn just like that when I come out from the filter lane. Got to jam break n engine stall, damn dangerous lor. So, get ready for circuit when u into it, else u will be having vehicle stalling all the time. ;p

Clutch control really a headache but good to learn it. I now learning how to control low speed driving with clutch n acc pedal. Sometime lose the footing, cannot feel the acc pedal, haha!

Driving in the circuit is 100X more dangerous than on the road. Tons of blind spot and those instructor on bike can make a 90 degree turn just like that when I come out from the filter lane. Got to jam break n engine stall, damn dangerous lor. So, get ready for circuit when u into it, else u will be having vehicle stalling all the time. ;p

Yes, you got to use to clutch control. Initially you will find it tiring due to not use to it. Once you master it, you can control your car to move slowly and smoothly. A useful skill for moving car slowly. Once you clutch in, it becomes free gear and the car will move slower, thus opposite control to accelerator.

Try to note down all useful tips after every lesson. Revise them before the next lesson so as not to repeat the same silly mistakes.