Who is learning driving now?

hahaa, any tips for me?? i always got problem moving off on slope.
i would maintain at half clutch with footbrake applied. the moment i release my brake, before i can step accel, car start to roll-back liao. then i try to release a bit more clutch but stall.
everytime stop on slope very tao tia! :cry:

just finish my 6th lesson, had a first taste of reverse parking... quite fun hahaha :bsmilie:
Hehehe, can't help you there, I took class 3A, and I can start trying to convince everyone here to take class 3A if you want, especially if you're planning to stay in Singapore. Who drives manual cars anyways? Even taxis are going to the auto side.

Pragmatism is the keyword.

And I know what you mean about slope, the other day during one of my last revision lessons me and my instructor waited 8 minutes for this girl on her test to go up the slope from handbrake position.. I think her car stall quite a number of times, poor thing.

You'll rather get points deducted for over-revving the engine than to roll backwards.

Hence, apply handbrake, give the accelerator a good step and release the clutch slowly.

Come to think about it, no point putting it in words. Go practice. Tell your instructor you suck at the slope and go at it again and again. Most learners are too gentle with both the brake and the accelerator.

Passing first time is no big deal if you practice. Practice, practice, practice.

I got all my licenses, Class 2B, 2A, 2 and 3 on the first attempt.

o.0

You license collector ar, $ for lessons painful!

And yes, if you practise enough you will not feel so nervous on the test date because you've gone through the motions so many times already, once more is no kick.

hahaa, any tips for me?? i always got problem moving off on slope.
i would maintain at half clutch with footbrake applied. the moment i release my brake, before i can step accel, car start to roll-back liao. then i try to release a bit more clutch but stall.
everytime stop on slope very tao tia! :cry:

just finish my 6th lesson, had a first taste of reverse parking... quite fun hahaha :bsmilie:

moving off on slope your instructor never teach you to apply hand-brake meh?

stop car.
apply handbrake.
maintain half-clutch.
press a bit of accelerator.
slowly release handbrake.
if done correctly, car will not roll-back at all and will slowly move off the slope.
as simple as that.

o.0

You license collector ar, $ for lessons painful!

And yes, if you practise enough you will not feel so nervous on the test date because you've gone through the motions so many times already, once more is no kick.

The collection is not complete without taxi vocation license, bus vocation license and Class 4 and 5.

I own a car and a motorcycle, so currently i'm off the 'collector' status. Perhaps i would join the 'collector' class when i try to obtain class 4 and 5.

A thing to note about obtaining a Class 3A license is that it does not allow one to obtain vocation licenses (taxi or buses) or drive heavy vehicles (Class 4 and 5). May be irrelevant for most, but still good to know.

For those that like to keep their options open, Class 3 is the way to go.

The collection is not complete without taxi vocation license, bus vocation license and Class 4 and 5.

I own a car and a motorcycle, so currently i'm off the 'collector' status. Perhaps i would join the 'collector' class when i try to obtain class 4 and 5.

A thing to note about obtaining a Class 3A license is that it does not allow one to obtain vocation licenses (taxi or buses) or drive heavy vehicles (Class 4 and 5). May be irrelevant for most, but still good to know.

For those that like to keep their options open, Class 3 is the way to go.

Yes option 3 is the way to go, more flexible.

moving off on slope your instructor never teach you to apply hand-brake meh?

stop car.
apply handbrake.
maintain half-clutch.
press a bit of accelerator.
slowly release handbrake.
if done correctly, car will not roll-back at all and will slowly move off the slope.
as simple as that.

got, but i was talking about those gentle slopes at traffic junction hahaha. i hardly use handbrake at junctions, too troublesome (and scared i forgot to release lol). maybe i should start using on steeper slopes...

gentle slope usually does not need handbrake.
steeper slope better use handbrake.

I use handbrake when stopping at junction for safety. Once the car stop at the junction, shift the gear to neutral and engage handbrake.

hmmmm, in case the car behind me langa my pi ku issit?

Was taught fast lane change yesterday. After lesson finished, I think of why I can't lane change so fast. One reason is due to I am slow from gear to gear and another reason, a lot of auto cars liao, they speed up even faster than me. In the end, I got stuck in outer most lane for some time. So, next time drive, must chiong liao, don't need to be scare, just go fast fast n cut back. ;p

Going into auto simulation plus circuit training soon. Stopping and moving off on slope, I got practise on outside, still able to manage. Hope that current instructor will be teaching me all the time as he is polite n patience although my grp not yet changed. Time to transfer money to the acc again, for another 3 more lessons. :(

Hehehe, can't help you there, I took class 3A, and I can start trying to convince everyone here to take class 3A if you want, especially if you're planning to stay in Singapore. Who drives manual cars anyways? Even taxis are going to the auto side.

Pragmatism is the keyword.

And I know what you mean about slope, the other day during one of my last revision lessons me and my instructor waited 8 minutes for this girl on her test to go up the slope from handbrake position.. I think her car stall quite a number of times, poor thing.

Hahaha.. I waited and waited for the 3A to come out before starting to learn driving and ironically, I'm now taking manual.. :sweat: just because some friends convinced me to take manual and the BBDC people say Singapore's 3A not recognised internationally yet.. Have I made a wrong choice? It's my 9th lesson and I'm still not too good with my clutch, still tend to throw it a bit because I release too fast when shifting down... :(

I don't know about Singapore's 3A licence not being internationally recognised but you have made the right choice in learning to drive manual. Being a learner, yes, it's difficult initially to master clutch control and gear changing and at the same time having to control your steering properly while also need to be constantly aware of the traffic condition around you. But, once you have mastered it and passed your driving test, you are gonna enjoy playing around with your gears when driving. Just ask those who have driven auto and manual cars and the chances are most of them still prefer a manual car. My previous cars were all manual and I bought my current auto car 'cos I have never driven one and would like to have a taste of it. Except for the convenience when caught in a jam and stopping at a slope, I never liked it. I missed my manual gear car days. I will definitely revert to a manual car if I should change my car again.

Well, all of my friends took manual, and some say I'm taking the easy way out.

Yes, I agree that it is easier, no doubt. But who cares? Car you drive next time will be auto or manual? Who drives? You or them?

If you are sure what you want, just whack la. I think right now 9 lessons still can overlap and convert if you so choose, but don't fret about it, driving is a practical thing, just be sure what YOU want, not what OTHERS want for you. I'm not convincing you to switch or anything, that decision is entirely up to you. Practice makes perfect so give it time, yar.

The clutch really a hard thing to control but at least I can feel it. Pedal n brake, I need to get a shoe with thin sole n then able to feel it.

One way to control the clutch is to let go n maintain. Because the clutch does have a strong spring, you can feel it one. Push it down if you feel that you release too much as the car will stall.

Take some time one la, esp if you get another model of car, you more headache. :sweat:

if cannot feel clutch, then drive barefoot lor...

just signed myself up for lessons today with cdc.

hopefully it'll be smooth going. :)

The clutch really a hard thing to control but at least I can feel it. Pedal n brake, I need to get a shoe with thin sole n then able to feel it.

One way to control the clutch is to let go n maintain. Because the clutch does have a strong spring, you can feel it one. Push it down if you feel that you release too much as the car will stall.

Take some time one la, esp if you get another model of car, you more headache. :sweat:

Most of the cars are ok but I got this car no 83 which the instructor said just change clutch after CNY. The half clutch is so sensitive, depress a little bit more is totally disconnected and release a little bit the car jerk liao.. quite challenging.. ;p

Finally shifted to the group which the instructor been teaching me for pass 2 lessons. Hope can learn a lot from him as he is very patience and friendly. Will try to pass and then buy him a meal for his effort. ;)

I hope I booked enough lessons to be able to fulfill the requirements for the test. 10 lessons and just cleared 2.02. :( Progress is so slow..