What Prime to use for Potrait, Indoor, BB...

Good shot bro.... mine coming 2 years old soon.... have not bump up to ISO 800 and above yet, afraid with my skill, will introduce more noise... may still try it one of this day.... usually using the 50mm/1.8, I set to 1.8 and shutter at 1/60 or 1/30... with bounce flash.... think not enough kungfu to shoot at 1/3 yet.... sometime play with EV... +0.3..... if end result still too dark, use PP.....

This studio strobes + light box/umbrella....any pic to show the setup??? Maybe one of this day turn my room into mini studio....

Good shot bro.... mine coming 2 years old soon.... have not bump up to ISO 800 and above yet, afraid with my skill, will introduce more noise... may still try it one of this day.... usually using the 50mm/1.8, I set to 1.8 and shutter at 1/60 or 1/30... with bounce flash.... think not enough kungfu to shoot at 1/3 yet.... sometime play with EV... +0.3..... if end result still too dark, use PP.....

This studio strobes + light box/umbrella....any pic to show the setup??? Maybe one of this day turn my room into mini studio....

Dun need much kung fu to shoot at 1/3. What you need is VR. ;p

I'm using the Akira set. Here is a pic of the setup on the web..
http://www.myakira.com/global/ProductDetail/default.asp?ProductId=1477&CatId=,12,86

I may want to upgrade to a set of Elinchrome or Bowen.

Wa, where to buy?

more like how much... :dunno::sweat:

Akira - The showroom is at TT International Tradepark in Toh Guan next to Chevron which is opposite IBP. Bought the set for around $650 a couple of years back.
http://www.myakira.com/global/ContentList/CatListingWIcon.asp?CatalogId=92&Page=1

Elinchrome - Cathay Photo carries this brand. I'm eyeing the D-Lite 4 Two-to-go set going for $1199.

Bowens - Ruby Photo carries this brand. I'm eyeing the Esprit Gemini 250/250 Kit. Don't know the price but I suppose it should be going around the same price range or maybe cheaper than the D-Lite set.

This one below is shot with the Akira set.. D300 + 17-55DX

maybe my kiddo older can consider... then again, me hosue not big.... siao liao, move house????

Me only 4rm flat with quite small bedrooms. Just need to improvise. ;p Get furniture which can be moved aside when you need to do a shoot.. ;p

haaa with your setup, I thought you stay in big big houses...... with enough space to play soccer.... :p...

Okie, do post some pic after you got your new setup... :lovegrin:

haaa with your setup, I thought you stay in big big houses...... with enough space to play soccer.... :p...

Okie, do post some pic after you got your new setup... :lovegrin:

Hmm... dunno when will that be... ;p

no prob, take your time, I am in no rush to go into it at the moment.... :lovegrin:.... maybe after your poison.... :sweat:

I'm looking for antidote first... ;p

oh one more thing.... can your setup use for product shoot??? Or what do I need..... Sometime I need to help to shoot some product for my company and put on the web... so far with my skill.... they rather take pic from the web.... :rolleyes:

Aiyo where got antidote.... it a myth... :sweatsm:.... no such thing as antidote.... only how long you can tahan the poison.... :sweat:

oh one more thing.... can your setup use for product shoot??? Or what do I need..... Sometime I need to help to shoot some product for my company and put on the web... so far with my skill.... they rather take pic from the web.... :rolleyes:

Aiyo where got antidote.... it a myth... :sweatsm:.... no such thing as antidote.... only how long you can tahan the poison.... :sweat:

Depends on what kind of products lah.. It's how you set things up to shoot, not whether the setup can do it or not. There is no one setup fits all, otherwise life would have been a breeze.. ;p

heee agree... I was looking at the photo tent... if that is what you guys call it, with white or black background.... put the product in and shoot ( in a office conference room)... that's the easy part, the difficult part is:
1. what lens
2. what aperture/shutter
3. what kind of lighting setup

heee agree... I was looking at the photo tent... if that is what you guys call it, with white or black background.... put the product in and shoot ( in a office conference room)... that's the easy part, the difficult part is:
1. what lens
2. what aperture/shutter
3. what kind of lighting setup

It's called a light tent.

1. depends on the field of view you need. How big is the product? What kind of details you need. Probably a macro lens like the 60/2.8, or the new PC-E 45/2.8 would be ideal if the product is not too big.

2. If you use flash, the shutter is no longer important because it's determined by the flash duration.

3. Depends on how you want to present the product. Mysterious? High tech? Cute? Feminine? You can use coloured gels and multiple strobes to give you various effects.

So end of the day it still boild down to what you want. In this case you'll have to be the creative director yourself.

Dun need much kung fu to shoot at 1/3. What you need is VR. ;p

I'm using the Akira set. Here is a pic of the setup on the web..
http://www.myakira.com/global/ProductDetail/default.asp?ProductId=1477&CatId=,12,86

I may want to upgrade to a set of Elinchrome or Bowen.

hey bro, heard Nikon coming out this AFS 55mm/f1.4 and AFS 85mm/f1.4.... hmmm.... am looking at the 50mm/f1.4 and the 85mm/f1.4.... but read somewhere if you take flash photography, then maybe 50mm/f1.5 & 85mm/f1.8 is enough..... unless take without flash... but with my subject running around, will be tough to do it without flash.... basically it's whether the f1.8 is suffice or good to have the f1/4.... :sweat::dunno:

Hmm... lenses to make me drool only.. ;p For 50mm it's good to have f/1.4 because the optical design is better. For 85mm, I think both are good, the bokeh of the f/1.4 is nicer. It boils down to how deep your pocket is. ;p

kekeke.... if my pocket deep.... my setup will be D3 X 03sets (1 for main, 1 for standby just in case main one down, the other for standby just in case standby also down) + (all holy moly trinity lens that Nikon ever produce).... :lovegrin: & more..... :devil:.... okie, maybe wait to see got any MO.... :lovegrin:

I join in the quest for Prime lens.... in my case, use mainly for shooting my BB boy... coming 2 years old... with my D200 and the 50mmf/1.8 currently.... have the AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G (believe this is the kit lens for D40...)

As mostly taking his pic at home, sometime found that 50mm might be too long..... was looking at Nikon 35mmf/2.... or should I go lower... 28mm,24mm...20mm???

Sometime to get candid shots.... the shorter prime might not be suitable, so also looking for a longer prime.... 85mm okie??? or for future use outdoor, should go for longer like 180mm???
:dunno::lovegrin:

20mm, 50mm, 85mm for me.

Sounds like you are thinking to go prime.
Also, feels like you are waiting for the D700. You can really take full advantage of these prime with FF. :)

20mm, 50mm, 85mm for me.

Sounds like you are thinking to go prime.
Also, feels like you are waiting for the D700. You can really take full advantage of these prime with FF. :)

kekeke I think not only me.... many bro and sis here are waiting for the D700.... even before that, most of us can only drool.... cause we still need to "wait" for the $$$.... $$$ not enough.... :sweat:

I would like to go all prime, but I think for wide side and the tele side, I may save up to go 14-24 or 17/35mm & 70-200 route... they are not cheap, but heard they are good.... unless bro here can advise which wide prime (from 12 to 30mm) can "fight" the 14-24 or 17-35..... :devil: