What is your answer?

I've encountered several times...
When commented "Sell off your Pentax & get the XXX (APS-C) lah"
I answered: "Downgrade and pay more? I'm already using the best APS-C cam with natural & accurate colors, high DR & best high iso performance :D"

I proved them with my pics.
2 of my office colleagues bought the K-x/K-r after seeing my pics.
One even wanted to change from Nikon to K5. :lovegrin:
Another regretted getting the 7D, always complain noisy at iso>1600 & not pleased with the colors.

Nice. Maybe next time I should do the same like what you did.
I just upgraded to K5 recently and when I told my friend about it, he went like this
'-_____- why pentax again?'

Of course, I've encountered lots of same questions from friends, even my cousin who works in Sony asked why chose a lousy brand when you have Canon, Sony and Nikon? I'd rather you go for the entry level Canon.
My answer 'I like pentax and want to be different. cannot meh?'

...He taught me that taking sunset no need to use tripod. Can use Flash, overpower the almighty sun. I learnt alot from him, so the professional *cough cough*

He must be joking...unless sunset with subject in foreground, then need fill-in flash.
Almost kanna con.:bsmilie::bsmilie:

I guess many first time pentaxian will face this question.
Ask them a techincal question instead. So every camera M mode is not the same? means canikon 1/2000 shutter is better then 1/2000 pentax?
my fav reply is : Actually Pentax is bad please dont buy. I dont want my FA50f1.4 to double its price again due to many ppl ship jump.

yes, i don't need more to jump ship and push up price either. maybe all pentax-users should use this as a standard reply to "Why not CaNikon?

if no new users, pentax cannot increase market share, cannot make money, cannot invest in R&D to make better bodies, better lenses...

and this is a god thing... how? :bsmilie:

if no new users, pentax cannot increase market share, cannot make money, cannot invest in R&D to make better bodies, better lenses...

part n parcel of life.......but its true.....if there is no increase in market share then no FF will come out.......
now I have to wait for hours for my usual bowl of noodles at my fav hawker stall because I told everyone about it......

are you saying that latest offerings like K-5 and K-r are inferior to the Canikons? :-)

I usually reply bo bian cos i got no money:cry:
And this will usually shut them up.

I also say "aiyo, i poor mah, pentax most value for money"

Then they will say "f**k off, look at your lenses"

lol

are you saying that latest offerings like K-5 and K-r are inferior to the Canikons? :-)

depends what u're comparing with. its compares favorably and is highly competitive in the mid-range segment, which also happens to be the most competitive segment.

continuous improvements is necessary to stay relevant and that takes $$$.

I also say "aiyo, i poor mah, pentax most value for money"

Then they will say "f**k off, look at your lenses"

lol

:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:
Your lens betrayed you then :x

depends what u're comparing with. its compares favorably and is highly competitive in the mid-range segment, which also happens to be the most competitive segment.

continuous improvements is necessary to stay relevant and that takes $$$.

And that is the segment you are in right? if not you won't even own a Pentax DSLR.

In this segment, don't you agree they've produced great products despite the lack of "popularity/market share"? So why do we think they won't in the future?

I do not want Pentax to become a Canikon... if they do, then i might as well use a Canikon.

Sorry i'm not a big believer in the corporate machine and how simply more $$$ equates better products... too much becomes dissipated in commercialism/middle-men/branding/advertsiing/etc when you become too big.

Your economics all wrong. More people jumping ship will actually bring prices down, not up...
More people using Pentax means unit cost for agent is cheaper due to higher volume of order, so prices stay low. More people asking about Pentax means more shops are interested to carry the brand because they are prepared to keep stock. No shop would want to stock up on something that can't move. You may not know it but if sales volume is low, it can result in the same situation like that of the previous agent who adopted a "low volume, high margin" business model resulting in no Pentax gear even showing up in the shops and if it did, it was more expensive than anywhere else.

I guess many first time pentaxian will face this question.
Ask them a techincal question instead. So every camera M mode is not the same? means canikon 1/2000 shutter is better then 1/2000 pentax?
my fav reply is : Actually Pentax is bad please dont buy. I dont want my FA50f1.4 to double its price again due to many ppl ship jump.

Sorry but your logic don't make any sense. If you continue to say this, people will actually think you're pretty stupid to buy something that's bad. Apart from that you're doing other Pentax users no favours with such negative promotion... :thumbsd:

Your economics all wrong. More people jumping ship will actually bring prices down, not up...
More people using Pentax means unit cost for agent is cheaper due to higher volume of order, so prices stay low. More people asking about Pentax means more shops are interested to carry the brand because they are prepared to keep stock. No shop would want to stock up on something that can't move. You may not know it but if sales volume is low, it can result in the same situation like that of the previous agent who adopted a "low volume, high margin" business model resulting in no Pentax gear even showing up in the shops and if it did, it was more expensive than anywhere else.

You may be right in terms of your logic. But does it work in reality? Aren't most corresponding products from Canikon more expensive than their Pentax equivalents? Should they not be cheaper then being more well demanded and sold in higher volume?

An local Pentax agent cannot rely on "low volume, high margin" and survive these days. The internet has made it too easy for people to buy Pentax stuff online if it is substantially less pricey. Respectfully, i don't think that an local agent relying on such a marketing style will succeed now.

Sorry but your logic don't make any sense. If you continue to say this, people will actually think you're pretty stupid to buy something that's bad. Apart from that you're doing other Pentax users no favours with such negative promotion... :thumbsd:

Maybe you're taking our responses too literally and seriously.

More often than not if someone expresses a genuine interest in your camera, you'd be more than happy to show them the ins-and-outs. I know i have.

This response is generally reserved for the Canikon-or-nothing "die-hards" or as Detritus called them, "snobs", who will never see the virtues of your Pentax no matter what you say. So just agree with their perception and tell them your camera bad lor... You won't change their minds with when you say otherwise anyway :-)

nay it was meant to be a joke not to taken at face value or too seriously.....thought some reverse psychology will add some kick...

Yeah, take it easy la guys... it was all said quite tongue-in-cheek, which should be fairly obvious from the context of the thread.

I sincerely (and humbly) differ with the so-called "economics" of more popularity definitely equals lower prices. I don't think big business commerce is that straightforward these days. But that's a corollary and a more general issue. Maybe even a little off-thread one.

Frankly (and this is something i failed to point out earlier so sorry if it was misleading), you or i turning 1 person off (which is really not a serious proposition here) or vice-versa from buying Pentax is not going to make the FA 50 1.4 double or halved in price la... :-)

And that is the segment you are in right? if not you won't even own a Pentax DSLR.

In this segment, don't you agree they've produced great products despite the lack of "popularity/market share"? So why do we think they won't in the future?

I do not want Pentax to become a Canikon... if they do, then i might as well use a Canikon.

Sorry i'm not a big believer in the corporate machine and how simply more $$$ equates better products... too much becomes dissipated in commercialism/middle-men/branding/advertsiing/etc when you become too big.

your logic is quite bizarre. let me tell u what would happen in the real world if pentax didn't grab a larger market share and make more money:

- Hoya will finally gets sick of funding an albatross that's dragging down its corporate profits and pulls the funding.

- Less popular products gets withdrawn to cut cost, leading to less choices for consumers

- Less budget for R&D

- Quality drops as increased pressure for higher margins leads to cutting corners

- Newer pentax products can't hold their own against the competition

- loyal pentaxians lose heart and switch camps

- market share shrinks to almost nothing

- Hoya finally winds up pentax division to stem the red ink

reality check please? :think:

your logic is quite bizarre. let me tell u what would happen in the real world if pentax didn't grab a larger market share and make more money:

- Hoya will finally gets sick of funding an albatross that's dragging down its corporate profits and pulls the funding.

- Less popular products gets withdrawn to cut cost, leading to less choices for consumers

- Less budget for R&D

- Quality drops as increased pressure for higher margins leads to cutting corners

- Newer pentax products can't hold their own against the competition

- loyal pentaxians lose heart and switch camps

- market share shrinks to almost nothing

- Hoya finally winds up pentax division to stem the red ink

reality check please? :think:

Ah... a doomsday scenario, in other words? :-)

What you say may well be true but what i said wasn't that LESSER people using pentax will bring prices down. What i am saying is that if Pentax becomes as popular as Canikon it will not make their prices cheaper, which is what you said earlier... I am not advocating extremes...

i like this thread.

my reply is usually "cause i like and it's fun to use" sometimes if i feeling cheeky i will add "why so serious?" lol

anyway detritus i think pentax do command a sizeable marketshare on the global market. places like in Japan and USA looks to have a sizable amount of pentax users i think.