Urgent: buying 2nd hand cameras

rubric

Just wondering: What do you guys do when buying a second-hand camera from an individual? Do you shoot a roll/some frames of slide/neg before buying, then get it processed straightway? What happens if the camera does not meet your expectations/its descriptions? Hope to get answers quickly as I'm buying a camera this evening. All help appreciated & thanks in advance. :)

think you answered your own question... you're the buyer so it's up to you to dictate how much and what you'll pay for. let the seller know that you're gonna shoot off one roll first and then decide... as long as the terms are clear, i don't see how the seller can disagree, unless there's something wrong with his camera. in any case, you set the rules, cos you paying the money.... that's my take on this kinda situation anyway.

If you can, find someone who got some experience to go with you...

if possible , get some1 who has a DSLR to test on the spot ..

2nd hand lens ...can..but 2nd hand camera??? :dunno:

Originally posted by megaweb

most of the time I don't test roll when buying 2nd hand camera or lenses. Don't have the time to wait to get the film process and don't know what to shoot.

When buying 2nd hand camera, make sure that you know every functions of it (search info on the net or get a manual of it before meet up). Test every functions of it on the spot. Make sure it works perfectly. Check for sign of use. A heavy use cam will show signs most of the time. Check for film guide rails and sprocket. Take ur time to test/play with the cam, don't make your purchase in a hurry. If what the seller told you is different from what you see...then beware and check more details.

There is no 100% safe when buying 2nd hand, you can only try to minimize the risk by buying from someone you know or someone you think that you can trust.

Originally posted by baiyun
2nd hand lens ...can..but 2nd hand camera??? :dunno:

y not ...

1. check the functionality (AF,MF)
2. check for dust
3. check the shot quality using D SLR

Originally posted by megaweb
sorry i don't realy get you... how to test another camera using a DSLR? not testing lens leh... :confused:

Originally posted by firefox13
sorry i don't realy get you... how to test another camera using a DSLR? not testing lens leh... :confused:

hahaha ... see wrongly ... i tot 2nd hand lens :embrass:

I usually ask the seller for a week grace to test the camera. I pay up full and ask the seller to give me in confidence a week to shoot and paint a roll of film to test the cam.;)

if still has warranty should be ok. as long as the warranty is valid, can send for repair. new one you buy also cannot test shooting one roll then decide, the warranty will cover anything that is not function like it should be. if no warranty then have to be very careful.

of coz if the goods does not meet your expectaction/description, you can choose whether to buy onot. I think you need to let the seller know in advance that you are going to test it before deciding.

To allay your fears... and worries... and anxiety...

The Clubsnappers are a good bunch. Very helpful... honest bunch... (yes?) ;) who won't risk their reputation for $$.

It's quite simple - we depend on each other to make this forum work - for good deals, help, tips, etc. If we can't trust each other, we'd all lose out in the end.

Simple infinite game outcome... (if you study game theory lah) heh... :)

let's wait and hear the story from rubric. He should have the cam with him by now...:)

rubric:

So how so how? bought liao? ;p

Yeap, got the Yashica t5 super in my hands! Camera seems ok though the back & some other parts had more fine scratches than the seller described. Everthing appears to be in good working condition. :)

I bought my EOS50E at a dirt cheap price. Tot it might be something wrong, but turn out that the cam is in mint condition.

If possible, bring someone who is good in camera along with you to assist you in inspecting the body or as you said, shoot a roll and send it for processing. However.. some functions tat fail may not occur to you during the test roll, so it's a bit luck also. And if possible, get from someone you know or have some reputation.

Originally posted by rubric
Everthing appears to be in good working condition. :)
good for you man... have fun shooting!!! :thumbsup:

Thx for all the suggestions. BTW, does anyone hv guides on the pricing of secondhand goods? What determines a camera/lenses' value? Is there a 'formula' of some sort? Also, what's the ettiquette for buying and selling? Thx again!