Ultra wide angle

roti_prata said:
on the sigma 10-20, [stopping down] means shooting at f8(when shooting at the long end) since the lens is f4-5.6 to start with. thats why i still prefer tokina
I've been leaning towards the Tokina 12-24 for a long time now. But, recently, i had a change of heart ... Finally, i bought the Sigma 10-20 at CP today! :bsmilie:

Cham liao, recently infected by the BBB virus! :eek:

Anyway, my decision is based partly on this article:

A "Super-Wide Angle" Lenses Shootout
by Jason Odell, Rick Walker and Eric Walker

I recommended this once before on another thread abt wide-angle lenses. It's a very good article, evaluating and highlighting the differences between the 4 digi-only wide-angle lenses. So, u can decide based on ur preferences and needs.

Personally, I chose the Sigma 10-20 because:
1) it's supposed to have the lowest CA;
2) it is the widest at 10mm;
3) it's supposed to be sharper than the Tokina at the wide end;
4) it is lighter than Tokina;
5) it has HSM.

Maybe I will comment again after I have tested the lens ... :cheers:

hmm thx, pls comment on it when u've tested, esp on light falloff as the article mentioned

after reading the review, im divided. the sigma seems worthy as well

How much you paid for it? I am looking one wide angle zoom/fish eye for 300D.....

leongtoh said:
How much you paid for it? I am looking one wide angle zoom/fish eye for 300D.....

check out our price list, nikon mount is $875

roti_prata said:
wooh, indoors f/4 without flash. he must have pumped up to iso800?
i dont get ur verbalization..

either u are. surprising dslr can goes so high iso? or printout must be noisy? or i dunno....:dunno: care to enlighten me why is this lens *worst* as u said previously?

\i'mnot a technical guy .. what i believe is picture tell a thousand words:)

cheers:) :lovegrin:

i dont use iso800 often, usually when indoors i use f2.8 with flash at iso200 or 400. so him using f4 without flash i assume is at iso800. yes, i think iso800 will be noiser, but whether or not to an unacceptable lvl i dont know.

i said its [worse] as its f4-5.6 compared to tokina's f4, would u consider that to be [better]?

roti_prata said:
check out our price list, nikon mount is $875
Yeah, i bargained based on the price list. In the end, i paid $870, but must be by cash/nets :) I've already updated Cactus Jack.

haha $5 only not even enough to take taxi home, somemore is u bargain 1, i think they will still quote $875 thn maybe giv u $870 when u actually go there

majere2sg said:
Sigma 12-24 is over 1k.. probably 1.2k if not wrong.. Tokina 12-24 (There is no 10-20) is around S$950. Why did u recommend the sigma 12-24 over the tokina if there is a budget ? Or do you mean the sigma 10-20 which is slightly cheaper (S$50-S$60) than the tokina.

Ya actually got mixed up. It's the Sigma 10-20mm. Sorry my bad. Type too fast!

And the power of the Nikon 12-24mm.....wahaha......!:bsmilie:

Bondi_Beach_03.jpg

woah..........POWER!

roti_prata said:
haha $5 only not even enough to take taxi home, somemore is u bargain 1, i think they will still quote $875 thn maybe giv u $870 when u actually go there
Haha, actually they quoted me $930 with GST. I told them that a friend of mine bought it at $870 in Sept, after consulting his senior sales, he said ok lor. I think I shld have said $860, haiz ... Maybe the next person can try :bsmilie:

manx said:
woah..........POWER!
Agree ... Power, man! :bigeyes:

Got money, I sure buy the Nikkor 12-24 ... :mad2:

wiz23 said:
Agree ... Power, man! :bigeyes:

buy sigma 10-20 liao still finger itchy want to get nikon? like tt might as well go for nikon now rite?

roti_prata said:
buy sigma 10-20 liao still finger itchy want to get nikon? like tt might as well go for nikon now rite?
Aiyoh, I already say IF I got money. The fact is I don't have mah, so, of course, I'll stick to the 10-20 lah! I say say only ... no need money, haha :bsmilie:

So u finished ur 'O' levels liao? Now very eng, right? Login every couple of hours and 'suan' people :bsmilie:

wiz23 said:
Let me tempt you even more :devil:
prince's-bridge-2.jpg

great-balls-of-fire.jpg

awaiting.jpg

Wah, watcher! U no good lah, why tempt me like that :bsmilie: