The cost of Wedding Videography

JRC

I was calculating the cost of producing a wedding video and am amazed at how the market has generally quoted a much lower price.

Cost for a 1 day wedding shoot (No edit)
Videographer service for 1 day = $300
Main Camera rental = $100
Back-up Camera rental = $50
Transport (4 x Taxi trips) = $80
5X mini-DV tapes = $35
Marketing cost = $3k per year/12 months/12 jobs per month = $20
Total = $585

Assuming you can only shoot 3 weddings a week (more than 44hrs per week), the videographer take home pay is $3600/mth. No CPF. And that is if you charge $585.

Cost for a 1 day wedding shoot (With edit)
Above cost = $585
2 days editing (8hrs/day, include graphic design, burning DVD & printing time)= $250 x 2
Computer + software Depreciation = $70
(Assume 2 computer, $5k per computer, Write off in 2 years, with editing can do only 6 projects per month)
DVD-R, printing consumables cost = $15
Total = $1170

Just check internet and you'll find many offering wedding video with editing for $600-$1000.

I also do wedding video as part-time. My lowest package with editing currently is $850. It's below the cost I calculated but how can I increase when I'm just a part-timer and there are full-timer out there with lower price than I quote ?

I think the std. min. rate should be $600 for full day shooting in mini DV and $1200 with editing !!;p Or are videographers so cheap here in Sin.

i supposed wedding video is regarded by many as 'entry level' for shooters.

Im sure there are many videographers who do a great job, some even making it their main specialisation. The prices may be brought down by new shooters looking to break in and possibly to move on bigger things

Great stats JRC (gosh, when can we acutally meet up!!)
You really got me thinking.
Shawn had a great point too - New shooters trying to break into the industry/market.

Right now I'm gonna head for some seafood dinner.. will comment later :D
Merry xmas guys

I was calculating the cost of producing a wedding video and am amazed at how the market has generally quoted a much lower price.

5X mini-DV tapes = $35
Total = $585

Assuming you can only shoot 3 weddings a week (more than 44hrs per week), the videographer take home pay is $3600/mth. No CPF. And that is if you charge $585.

Above cost = $585
2 days editing (8hrs/day, include graphic design, burning DVD & printing time)= $250 x 2
(Assume 2 computer, $5k per computer, Write off in 2 years, with editing can do only 6 projects per month)
Total = $1170

Just check internet and you'll find many offering wedding video with editing for $600-$1000.

I also do wedding video as part-time. My lowest package with editing currently is $850. It's below the cost I calculated but how can I increase when I'm just a part-timer and there are full-timer out there with lower price than I quote ?

I think the std. min. rate should be $600 for full day shooting in mini DV and $1200 with editing !!;p Or are videographers so cheap here in Sin.

how i wish.....to get the amount above :(
got many project offer by mly bridal..sad but it's true. $500-$550. (videoshoot with edit)
Some even try to offer $400-$450.
FYI: it's for 2 days.
I have been doing mly wedding videograhy for 6 years. The income getting lower...and lower.:( work load still the same.

HARD LIFE!!!

The problem is the customers do not understand the backend editing required to get the DVDs out. Video is still seen as an option compared to photography which I myself think so too! So they compare the price of a freelance photographer with a videographer (VG) and think video is expensive.

In the US, the prices are much higher. But over here, the range is hugh. Top VGs charge $2500 per wedding while the freelancers are charging from $600 onwards. Guess thaz the Singapore culture n it will remain so.

got many project offer by mly bridal..sad but it's true. $500-$550. (videoshoot with edit)
I have been doing mly wedding videograhy for 6 years. The income getting lower...and lower.:( work load still the same.

HARD LIFE!!!

Wah $500 with edit ? include transport, tapes, everything ah ? 2 days some more. Kenna Sai.

Problem is that the bridal shop will push down your price, to get more commision & more business. They will squeeze you dry since you allow to be squeezed :nono:
You see...the price demands on supply and demand. As long as there are people allowing to accept low rates, they will continue to price the videography at low price and you get the HARD LIFE. Until they find that, oh no, no videographer willing to take up my projects, then they will increase their price and start to pay you more.

If you're confident of your work, charge them higher lah. At the rate they give you, you're absorbing depreciation cost of your camera, computer & software. True, you can't see the cost now but it is perfectly reasonable to cost them in even though your camera or PC may last longer.

Wah $500 with edit ? include transport, tapes, everything ah ? 2 days some more. Kenna Sai.

Problem is that the bridal shop will push down your price, to get more commision & more business. They will squeeze you dry since you allow to be squeezed :nono:
You see...the price demands on supply and demand. As long as there are people allowing to accept low rates, they will continue to price the videography at low price and you get the HARD LIFE. Until they find that, oh no, no videographer willing to take up my projects, then they will increase their price and start to pay you more.

If you're confident of your work, charge them higher lah. At the rate they give you, you're absorbing depreciation cost of your camera, computer & software. True, you can't see the cost now but it is perfectly reasonable to cost them in even though your camera or PC may last longer.

YES.. U are right. if we are really they will pay us a good $$$ or our min. ard $600-700.
if the price too low then they see u nothing too, they pay to take uR service but not uR good piece of good joj u DONE...

cheers 2all..:)

Video editing is TOUGH! And every couple in the world (actually only Singapore, I think) think its easy. Sometimes, clients will request to amend and change stuffs that you've edited. It can be rather tedious... :confused:

true....very true.

that's why i charge rates that I think is worth my time for doing weddings....if you got no budget, then don't do video lor. :)

5X mini-DV tapes = $35
Total = $585

Above cost = $585
Total = $1170

Good analyse...

HARD LIFE!!!
U must be a freelancer...if not, how can u support your family with such a price...

The problem is the customers do not understand the backend editing required to get the DVDs out. Video is still seen as an option compared to photography which I myself think so too! So they compare the price of a freelance photographer with a videographer (VG) and think video is expensive.

In the US, the prices are much higher. But over here, the range is hugh. Top VGs charge $2500 per wedding while the freelancers are charging from $600 onwards. Guess thaz the Singapore culture n it will remain so.
FYI, in Singapore the top videography service is $3k while freelancer is from $588 to $888 as well...

YES.. U are right. if we are really they will pay us a good $$$ or our min. ard $600-700.
if the price too low then they see u nothing too, they pay to take uR service but not uR good piece of good joj u DONE...

cheers 2all..:)
agreed with u when I charge them low they will treat me as a cameraman when I charge them high, they will treat me as a producer... :)

If there is no body "spoiled the market" to agree such a request for free, the clients / couples will never do that...

Hmm.. But then again, u get what you pay for. Quote "U get monkeys when u pay peanuts." :sweatsm:

DXNMedia is right. No budget dun do video. Se ta price that is worth doing, otherwise dun do!

"No budget dun do video"

Who no budget?

Who dun do video?

The couple?

Yes, if the couple have no budget. We don't do video for them.

How long can this last?

Couple event held Category:

1: high class restaurant/hotel

2: normal restaurant.

3: Community Centre / Event hall etc.

4: Under the void deck.

What if most of your customer come from category 4 and with spending budget?
With "oh cannot overspend later not enough" in their mind.

Are you going to accept?

Which community mostly fall in which Event Category above?

- Chinese Wedding
- Malay wedding
- indian wedding
- others.

As for me i mostly do malay wedding.....too bad you can see
mostly every week. There is a malay wedding under your or neighbouring void deck.
Especially school holiday.
So what do you think?
Mostly the ones who does their wedding under the void deck have a
spending budget.(Depends)
If they have no spending budget...think they would have opted for high class restaurant in the first place.
(Maybe)

So which one would you chose?

To service these type of event with lower payment or waited for better opportunity.
Up to you to choose...

U must be a freelancer...if not, how can u support your family with such a price...

I am not freelancer....i am fulltime editor.
Got my videographer mostly freelancer.
Got 2 to 4 project per week (depends)