Tamron 17-50 f2.8

as far as i know...TCW and OP offering store warranty at $600 for the non built in motor one.

yea~ the issue is not really on the price.. is how to get a sharp copy at the price~

ya, this is quite worrying as some bro said that not all are sharp. Wanted to ask a frez to buy for mi in HK, but thinking of this issue,i dunno whether shld i go ahead and ask him to buy...;(

unless yr fren can test the lens for u for 2 issues which is the focusing issue and the ttl-bl issue (if u using nikon), then it's better not for u to buy else u'll get an expensive paperweight..

yea~ so is the best.. ask some good buddy to acc us go buy~

unless yr fren can test the lens for u for 2 issues which is the focusing issue and the ttl-bl issue (if u using nikon), then it's better not for u to buy else u'll get an expensive paperweight..

i guess i cant buy it den cos my frez is not into photography.ANyway, does Sigma has this kind of problem and how is the quality of the 18-50 EX DC macro HSM as compared to this Tamron?

anyone still keen to buy? maybe can meet up and buy together and ask for some discount

if wana buy locally, better be quick esp if u dun wana get the quieter but slower 2nd gen version. Once word gets around that the AF is slower, people might rush to buy the last stocks of the old version liao..

im keen to buy, but i dunno how to test the len. so reali need experience bro here to help...
ya maybe we can meet up to go and buy...

need to focus on something... then zoom on the lcd... see whether the focused object is sharp or not.. test it @ various aperatures.. can bring the focus chart.. thinking of hooting on thursday/friday.. anyone?

bro,if u know how to test, i go wif u den... u can help mi test out too... :D

eh.. paiseh.. i also learning.. hehe

No I doubt you can. It's probably just a built-in micromotor, not a full-fledged SWM equivalent with distance window and manual override. If they decide to implement these features, it'll be costing quite a lot more.

I think what i meant is there is an AF MF switch to quickly switch to manual mode.

That's not what is referred to as manual override. Manual override, also known as full-time manual focus override, is when the lens is in AF mode, but you can still turn the focus ring to overrule the AF's focus decision.

Having an AF/MF switch on the camera body at the lens mount, and having it on the lens barrel, near the lens mount, makes not much of a difference when you want to "quickly switch to manual mode", does it? It's a matter of 1cm? :bsmilie:

wow, i learn something today.....

just for your info,

I sent a mail to Tamron USA, and this is the answer I get....

"Custserv" <Custserv@Tamron.com>
Sent by: "David Losee" <Losee@Tamron.com>
03/04/2008 10:42 PM

Subject Re: Availability of new 17-50 mm Nikon mount

The built-in motor lens was just announced so I do not have any date information for when we will receive it and none for over there by you. I do expect it soon because the original version is low and is not being re-ordered.

Tamron USA

**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
This electronic message contains information from Tamron USA, INC. that may be privileged and confidential. The information is intended for the use of the addressee(s) only. If you are not an addressee, note that any disclosure, copying, distribution, or use of the contents of this message is prohibited. If you have received this e-mail in error, please contact the sender.
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************