Sony A33

Update: I think i've found out the reason for the strange sound and vibration... It's the image stabiliser at work. I've tested it by switching off the Steady Shot and the sound and vibration was gone. And if anyone out there who don't mind, could you please kindly test it out?

SSS should not have any strange noise or vibration during long exposure ! ...did you mount the camera on a tripod ?

When you switch on or off the SLT, you'll feel a very short vibration, that's the sensor shaking itself to get rid of any dust on it.

SSS should not have any strange noise or vibration during long exposure ! ...did you mount the camera on a tripod ?

When you switch on or off the SLT, you'll feel a very short vibration, that's the sensor shaking itself to get rid of any dust on it.

Really!?!? Oh nO! :bigeyes:
With the Steady Shot on, I've tried the long exposure on the tripod, no sound or vibration. But if I nudge the tripod when taking the shot, the sound and vibration will appear. I assume yours doesn't have the phenomenon that I have?

Really!?!? Oh nO! :bigeyes:
With the Steady Shot on, I've tried the long exposure on the tripod, no sound or vibration. But if I nudge the tripod when taking the shot, the sound and vibration will appear. I assume yours doesn't have the phenomenon that I have?

Bro ! ...when I'm doing a long exposure, I make darn sure I don't nudge the tripod or the camera !!!

What sorta effect were you trying to achieve by nudging the tripod ? :think:

Bro ! ...when I'm doing a long exposure, I make darn sure I don't nudge the tripod or the camera !!!

What sorta effect were you trying to achieve by nudging the tripod ? :think:

I know i'm not suppose to nudge the tripod or camera. I'm just doing it to test for that strange sound and vibration phenomenon, :bsmilie: That's how I deduced that the Steady Shot function is causing it. By the way, another way to test it is just to do the long exposure hand held vs on tripod. Mine really can hear strange sound and feel vibration coming from the camera.

Bro, you're really cute lah ! :lovegrin: ...my advise is that if the camera is not giving you any problems taking pictures, don't go shaking it to find problems.;)

...any camera can and will make strange sounds if you shake it hard enough !!! :nono:

Bro, you're really cute lah ! :lovegrin: ...my advise is that if the camera is not giving you any problems taking pictures, don't go shaking it to find problems.;)

...any camera can and will make strange sounds if you shake it hard enough !!! :nono:

Lol! alamak, bro, you totally misunderstood! The shake is not like what you think! It's just normal hand held kind of shake. I was taking night shot and because the camera is close to my face, I can hear the strange sound.

Anyway, I've tried the set at harvey norman and it also has the same phenomenon, so I guess mine is normal, lol. Thanks for your advices though, :)

Lol! alamak, bro, you totally misunderstood! The shake is not like what you think! It's just normal hand held kind of shake. I was taking night shot and because the camera is close to my face, I can hear the strange sound.

Anyway, I've tried the set at harvey norman and it also has the same phenomenon, so I guess mine is normal, lol. Thanks for your advices though, :)

:bsmilie: ..no worries about it lah ! ...I believe its the SSS working that you felt !

...coming from SLRs, the first time I switch on a DSLR, I also got a shock ! ...how come the camera like vibrating one ! :sweatsm:

Nice sia machiam like command-do rapelling down the ceiling but carrying a DSL-T instead of a gun ...

Hi! anyone mind posting a snapshot of the labeling on their 3rd party battery? (fw-50)

Thanks!!! :)

Hi! anyone mind posting a snapshot of the labeling on their 3rd party battery? (fw-50)

Thanks!!! :)

this is the one I am using... this they say was for NEX since NEX and A33/A55 using the same model so i try it and it works....(so far)

Cant remember the brand name...

WP_000018.jpg

Thanks albertri! :) :)

no probs anytime :) so far i found this good battery (so far) I saw in the NEX battery thread someone had a 5000mAh battery :bigeyes: if that's true I want one!

i was thinking.. if the battery capacity is 5Ah (5000mAh), den the energy capacity is 37Wh..

if we compare to present laptop batteries (~50Wh), it seems a little impossible.. let assume the battery technology the 5000mAh battery uses is of the newest of its kind, and suppose it's a 100% improvement in capacity. So we now take the 50Wh laptop battery (with this tech) to have 50% original volume.. den to a further 37% of the original volume (to match 37Wh)..

but this is still ~1/3 of the laptop battery size!!! hmm.. how to fit into size of FW50???

PS. I'm just thinking. Maybe there's some error somewhere in my analysis. ;)

Hi guys i just noticed something weird lately.

I can't seem to get my SSS to turn on.
Its set at OFF and greyed out in the option menu.

Anyone having the same problem?

empty space? the evf is not in 16:9 unlike the lcd..
i think thats why they can't have the same thing displaying on the lcd be displayed on the evf...

this is the one I am using... this they say was for NEX since NEX and A33/A55 using the same model so i try it and it works....(so far)

Cant remember the brand name...

WP_000018.jpg

Bro, I've the same 3rd party battery as yours, but it drains as fast as the original sony batt, despite having a larger capacity...

Does your 3rd party batt last longer?

Hi guys i just noticed something weird lately.

I can't seem to get my SSS to turn on.
Its set at OFF and greyed out in the option menu.

Anyone having the same problem?

Hmm... the only mode that greyed out the SSS is the hand-held twilight mode...

Hmm...
I'm getting it in every mode and combinations possible.
Also are there supposed to be vibrations when in cleaning mode?

So far i've never felt any vibrations when i tried cleaning mode...

Damn..could it be possible that the SSS be damaged if there were condensation during use?
From day one when I used the camera I never really been bothered whether SSS was on or not.
Until my cousin brought it up recently that is. Its never been dropped since i got it from the Service Centre