so i got my 300D today.... wtf?

dEthANGeL said:
Oh yea.. forgot about the 20Ds :thumbsup:

paiseh i typed wrongly, should be 20Da not s, s is designation for studio, a for astrophotography i think

upsss....no joking ah?
hmmm another human error! then blame the equipment hahaha.....

:bsmilie: Haaha! I never thought I would ever see this post!

trlnlty, yeah, most DSLR does not have live preview on the lcd... Its becoz in traditional SLR design, the viewfinder sees thro the actual lens thro a series of mirrors and prisms. You see what the sensor is seeing, in a sense. But wait a couple more years and this live preview from lcd should be a common thing in DSLR... the EOS 20Da is one of the first to do that.

Like what most have said... read the :angel:free:angel: manual (RTFM).

Basically, if you are approaching DSLR from a P&S background, be prepared for the initial shocks.... If not handled properly, DSLR may result in blurry images and washed out colors for a number of reasons... But once you master it... you'd love it...

In this case, 1Ds MkII also :thumbsd: lor?

F1 dun have auto gear right, isn't it :thumbsd: too.

trlnlty said:
i cant use the lcd as a viewfinder?????

okay this is my first impression.... more to come ....

:thumbsd:

B'cos it is blocked by the mirror so can not use the LCD as viewfinder.

trlnlty said:

one of the idiosyncracies of a DSLR - anyway holding the cam snugly against your skull provides better support and hence sharper shots, and can provide some tricks such as depth-of-field-preview (by playing with the aperture) to help you compose your shots better.

don't worry about the guys here just pulling your leg - these are seasoned guys whom you'll count on getting good advice from - one day you'll understand...

... and a memorable welcome to the Canon DSLR world ! what a start ! ;)

.... erm... wait.

where do i put the film?

ahhahahah... give the guy a break lar.. maybe he REALLY didn't know...

btw nw, you load the film in between the lens and the body.. cmon.. didn't u know that?!?!?!?! :sweatsm:

trlnlty said:

wtf, do you know what is dslr?

S3Pro's got live preview for 30 secs..

wahahah

Just read the manual before/while using.

Welll...... I dunno whether wanna laugh of cry. But no matter what, at least try to learn how to use a DSLR, in the long run you'll eventually learn its benefits vs. PnS cams.

Guys I believe there always be people who are really really noobs in the SLR world. I once read a thread here that someone wanna mount his SLR lens on a PnS digicam. ;p

nightwolf75 said:
u know... i honestly thot u were joking... until now...

pls, trinity, RTFM b4 u ask any more questions? :o

well, im in a happy mood so i wont be a dick,

anyway i read the manual thats why i didnt start the thread as, gosh you guys need to relax

"how do i use the lcd as a view finder"

trlnlty said:
unfortunately no :embrass: :bsmilie:

ah well, i just got it this afternoon, had to go out, now im just got home... cant really play around with the cam...

any tips and tricks i should know??

as this is my first experience with dslr, its harder to use the lcd panel to control settings then lcd screen ;(

2 ways i can think of...needs lots of imagination though... ;)

1. hold 300d in front of you as you would with a lcd-preview-capable cam. aga aga aim and fire

2. look thru viewfinder and imagine that its a tiny lcd screen...

ok i'm out of tricks...

but seriously, whats wrong with using the viewfinder? firstly you will conserve battery power. secondly you will be able to hold it properly and minimize camera shake. just takes some getting used to for you i guess.

Zplus said:
:bsmilie: Haaha! I never thought I would ever see this post!

trlnlty, yeah, most DSLR does not have live preview on the lcd... Its becoz in traditional SLR design, the viewfinder sees thro the actual lens thro a series of mirrors and prisms. You see what the sensor is seeing, in a sense. But wait a couple more years and this live preview from lcd should be a common thing in DSLR... the EOS 20Da is one of the first to do that.

Like what most have said... read the :angel:free:angel: manual (RTFM).

Basically, if you are approaching DSLR from a P&S background, be prepared for the initial shocks.... If not handled properly, DSLR may result in blurry images and washed out colors for a number of reasons... But once you master it... you'd love it...

i know thats why im playing around with it, only thing i dont have the time, hopefully when i go for a hike this saturday, i'll be able to experiment with the cam :D

thanks for the advice

;p
trlnlty said:
"how do i use the lcd as a view finder"
mount ur camera onto a tripod, take a well-exposed shot and set your preview to forever on, i assume by then what u see from the lcd will be the same as what u get fro the ttl viewfinder, besides the 95% coverage things.

trlnlty said:
i know thats why im playing around with it, only thing i dont have the time, hopefully when i go for a hike this saturday, i'll be able to experiment with the cam :D

thanks for the advice
well.. instead of posting here now.. grab it out and start taking pics of.. i dunno... the monitor? at least get a feel of how it's like while u look thru the vf.. :)

art2d2 said:
Welll...... I dunno whether wanna laugh of cry. But no matter what, at least try to learn how to use a DSLR, in the long run you'll eventually learn its benefits vs. PnS cams.

Guys I believe there always be people who are really really noobs in the SLR world. I once read a thread here that someone wanna mount his SLR lens on a PnS digicam. ;p

haha, its quite embarrassing actually, i guess every website i went to or review i read always assumed that the reader would know that you couldnt use the lcd :dunno: :dunno:

trlnlty said:

thanks for the advice
y must go out to have the test or play around with the cam. can always snap some shots while u are sitting in front of the tv, sitting, passing urine, motion,...whenever, whereever as long as u feel free to do so.

It is free though except the shutter counts.