Smoking areas?

A while back, Singapore banned smoking in public areas, except for certain marked out smoking zones....

Untitled-1-1.jpg

What do u guys think?

of course it's not about personal freedoms. this govt has always been very good at pushing unpopular policies by citing the public good what (er... chewing gum?)

the current policy may just be a step on the way to a full public ban. a straight all out ban on smoking would be very unpopular, so they could well be working their way up to it gradually.

Highly unlikely as the amount of $$ they are making from cigarette taxes is too much. Unless perhaps they can find another source of income?

they would probably raise the alcohol tax if tat happens.. n GST too.. :bigeyes:

ok........... smokers. save us. go smoke more.
but i think like what pai said, the move is more of a discouragement rather than really trying to prevent non-smokers from inhaling 2nd smoke, though it is effective to a certain extent(if the wind blows the right direction).

Am just trying to say...

eg. Coffee Club at Orchard. Its always packed at the smoking area and empty at the non-smoking area. Many waiters/waitress from different cafes/restaurants told me they wish they have more smoking tables cos that bring them business. Its obvious. Just look at the whole place...

Regarding why smoking? I bet this can never be answered. Why eat meat? Why vegetarian? Can anyone answer? If you're a non-smoker and you dont understand why people smoke, just stay away from ciggie and carry on with your life. Avoid people who smoke.

Those who dont smoke go clubbing also have to inhale 2nd hand smoke. Does that makes you stop clubbing??

Smoking area is designated by the raio of the total seating area..asked my friend who owns a kopishop on why cannot expand smoking section.

come to China, 2 bucks a pack, can smoke until drop..:bsmilie:

I hope to quit one day:angel:

Smoking area is designated by the raio of the total seating area..asked my friend who owns a kopishop on why cannot expand smoking section.

come to China, 2 bucks a pack, can smoke until drop..:bsmilie:

I hope to quit one day:angel:
Yea.. Find me a job there I'll go right away! ;p

hee hee...don't think can afford your modelling fees to bring you here, how about TFC (time for cigarettes) instead?:bsmilie:

Anyway, dear satay satay.....regarding why smokers know it's unhealthy yet still smoke...very difficult to answer your question lah.

Why eat satay when you know all those chao tay stuff on the satay can cause cancer too?;p

I'll support all non-smokers to push for ban of cigs in Singapore!!!

Just ban it and stop all those stupid nonsense,excuses and wayang abt discouraging smoking!!!

Am just trying to say...

eg. Coffee Club at Orchard. Its always packed at the smoking area and empty at the non-smoking area. Many waiters/waitress from different cafes/restaurants told me they wish they have more smoking tables cos that bring them business. Its obvious. Just look at the whole place...

Regarding why smoking? I bet this can never be answered. Why eat meat? Why vegetarian? Can anyone answer? If you're a non-smoker and you dont understand why people smoke, just stay away from ciggie and carry on with your life. Avoid people who smoke.

Those who dont smoke go clubbing also have to inhale 2nd hand smoke. Does that makes you stop clubbing??

Don't really agree with you. If every restaurant/cafes/pubs/discos in Singapore ban smoking, I don't think their business will be affected. Will all smokers stop clubbing or eat at restaurants/cafes if smoking is banned in these areas?

Anyway, I won't avoid people who smoke unless they smoke in front/near me.

And yes, I stop clubbing because I want to avoid inhaling 2nd-hand smoke. May be you'll stop clubbing or eat at restaurants/cafes if smoking is banned in these areas.

Anyway, dear satay satay.....regarding why smokers know it's unhealthy yet still smoke...very difficult to answer your question lah.

Why eat satay when you know all those chao tay stuff on the satay can cause cancer too?;p

I'll support all non-smokers to push for ban of cigs in Singapore!!!

Just ban it and stop all those stupid nonsense,excuses and wayang abt discouraging smoking!!!

So the cancer-causing satay has to be banned also? :sweat:

This will turn the satay sellers in J.B. into rich men. :)

ban cars and buses as well!

actually hor.

why don't they make all the tables non smoking tables and
have some seats (without tables) for smokers to light up after the meal

good idea?

actually hor.

good idea?
Not everyone understand....

actually hor.

good idea?

hahah the picture that come up to my mind , is those ladies seating on chairs n looking a passerbys n smoking .

kekehkkhekh like those old time BIg SHanghai , ladies puffing n waiting for men to come :bsmilie:

i think my mind is corrupted beyond repair liao hahahaha

actually hor.

good idea?

Then like army like that right got yellow box on floor....

there is a yellow box on the floor already, around the tables
but the loophole is that the law only specifies tables
so chairs without tables should be OK

there is a yellow box on the floor already, around the tables
but the loophole is that the law only specifies tables
so chairs without tables should be OK
Go buy yellow tapes, tape around your mouth.. you have your own yellow box everywhere/anywhere u go! Hahahhaha