Singapore buys 12 F-15SG fighter jets

evq said:
MINDEF is very good in bargaining. It's either we get the Longbow or we dun buy a single heli from them.:thumbsup:
But I dun think all of our Apaches will be equipped with this radar. But hey, that's good enough for me. Usually Apaches operate in a pair or more. Just need one of them equipped with Longbow is enough to rain hell on the enemy.
1 Apache = 1 Infantry Battalion Firepower
2 Apaches can chew 1 Infantry + Tank Formation easily

With all those birds in the air, who needs ground troopers? :D

evq said:
Totally agreed with u. But Janes uses US as the benchmark, 10 is the highest. I will rate Israel at 12. I watched a video clip on IAF training, they can made their F-16s fly in such a way that I think the manufacturer also dunno their F-16 can do such a thing! U will never see them fly in a straight lane during targeting.:bigeyes: They will swing/roll left, right, up, down, next moment, missles are released.:thumbsup:
Jane is US company mah....you go call an arabian company or a communist company and then see what rating the US gets:bsmilie:

jsbn said:

but planes cant infiltrate the enemy's bunker....cant secure an area....

jsbn said:

Wow, then I dun have to go reservist liao. :thumbsup:

JediForce4ever said:
no..you still have to fly the planes:bsmilie:
Oh... hmm....
Btw, I wonder if LAW is effective against Apaches.:think:

evq said:
Oh... hmm....
if can aim properly.....why not...also depends on where you aim....best is to go for tail rotor...the fueslage si a metal bathtub....

Blast the main rotors off then see if that bathtub can still fly... :bsmilie:

Anyway, it's quite easy to bring down an Apache as some joker with just a rifle demonstrated in Iraq not too long ago... Or was it Afghanistan? ;p

evq said:
Oh... hmm....

RPG can bring down Blackhawk liao.. :bsmilie:

Garmet also not stupid. It has the DSTA and ST Defence Technology to develop special software and hardware for our needs.

Remembered some years back, a defense deal was called off as MinDef wanted the source code for the hardware. So that it can tweek the devices.....

agape01 said:
On the other hand, the capabilities of the F-15E might even surpass what most people think the F-15 is capable of.

jeremyftk said:
Blast the main rotors off then see if that bathtub can still fly... :bsmilie:

Anyway, it's quite easy to bring down an Apache as some joker with just a rifle demonstrated in Iraq not too long ago... Or was it Afghanistan? ;p
yeah..an RPG shld do fine....I think the case was in Iraq....but i thought the main rotors were made to withstand .50cal shells:dunno:

JediForce4ever said:
yeah..an RPG shld do fine....I think the case was in Iraq....but i thought the main rotors were made to withstand .50cal shells:dunno:
I think one engine took a hit in that incident... Can't really remember the details at this point of time...

I am surprised that our neighbour in the immediate north of Singapore, did not make noise about "sensitivity" or "projection of military powers" like when we had our submarine and E2C....

BTW, I tot they have the F18s. Never see them fly anyway leh.. or perhaps I did not tune to their national day parade.

Sun_Of_The_Beach said:
Sometimes, such kind of media announcement is more of a deterrence act. It shows our potential enemy that we have highly sophiscated weapons/equipment, so do not disturb us.

Air defence is the most important area in fighting a war. Lose the air superiority, most prob = lose the war. Just take the Gulf war for an example.

jeremyftk said:
I think one engine took a hit in that incident... Can't really remember the details at this point of time...
or maybe his shot took a bolt off..which took off the engine cowline..and another shot got in to kill the engines:bsmilie:

JediForce4ever said:
but planes cant infiltrate the enemy's bunker....cant secure an area....
Who cares about infiltration when u can just blow it up into millions of unrecognisable parts by letting loose everything on it?

jsbn said:
Who cares about infiltration when u can just blow it up into millions of unrecognisable parts by letting loose everything on it?
if its guarded by heavy AA and SAMs..then how?Cruise missles?

JediForce4ever said:
if its guarded by heavy AA and SAMs..then how?Cruise missles?
That's wheer these F-15s are for. With their bigger & longer range Radar, takeout those SAM & AA from beyond their range.
This is what an F-16 can't do.

Lensman said:
I am surprised that our neighbour in the immediate north of Singapore, did not make noise about "sensitivity" or "projection of military powers" like when we had our submarine and E2C....

BTW, I tot they have the F18s. Never see them fly anyway leh.. or perhaps I did not tune to their national day parade.

Thought they have Russian jets and some new main battle tank also. Our AMX-13 really need to be replaced liao!

evq said:
That's wheer these F-15s are for. With their bigger & longer range Radar, takeout those SAM & AA from beyond their range.
This is what an F-16 can't do.
so what weapons will the F-15 use for this kinda missions?