Should I get a Mac?

Mac User : "What is Tweak Registry, Defrag, scan, meddle with system files thingy?"

PC User : "Oh that is to speed up my PC."

Mac User : "Oh really?" I didn't know you need all that to speed up your PC."

PC User : "Yeah after a while when a PC never reboot, all my memory and other shi* slows down the PC."

Mac User : "Oh really? Doesn't seem to be able to do all that on my Mac. My Mac always remain constantly at the same speed even after 2 weeks without rebooting. It does not slow down"

PC User : "You sure?"

Mac User : "Well you want to try it?"

PC User : "Sure. Thanks!"

2 weeks later........

Mac User : "So how was it?"

PC User : "Well, I haven't rebooted the system as yet. And it's still running the same speed weeks ago. Working with Photoshop was a breeze. I could download thousands of files at the same time without slowing down the processor. Wow.....this Mac is fantastic! I wish PC would be like this. No need wasting time rebooting, defrag and other shi*........"

Mac User : "Then what are you waiting for?" Switch lar........"

PC User : "I am use to 2 click mouse. Can I connect that on a Mac?"

Mac User : "Sure! You definately can do that. In fact I am using a Razor Diamond Back for my Mac Pro. Plus I still can switch to a XP/Vista platform on the Mac if I want to."

PC User : "Wow, you mean you can run XP/Vista on a MAC?"

Mac User : "Yeah man. Here, this is how I can switch to XP/Vsita."

PC User : "Cooooooooooool! Time to get a MAC!":bsmilie:

Joke.....it's a joke.....please take this lightly.....!

I think the above scenario is definitely a good time to get a Mac. Yeah, it is exactly the same problems with PC. Slowing down after a while. It gets slower and slower....

very good observance, given the short time i assumed you had with the machine. did you have a problem with the one-button mouse operation? ( :P just kidding)
Actually, i had a few irks abt the system.

No 1. - The mouse
I was quite frustrated with the one button system. I also noticed that the apple mouse is hardly ergonomical. The movement of the mouse is also relatively sluggish. I once had to change my mouse to a very ergonomical mouse as my finger was strained and swollen for more than 3 months without knowing the reason why. The doctor told me it was due to stress from mouse usage (and I thought my mouse was quite ergonmical). My finger finally recovered when I switched to a hundred over dollar mouse.

No 2. In PC, I can just download the image to a folder and straighhtway browse in the windows fax viewer. I can scroll through the image and browse through conveniently. It was even made better in Vista where they include the ctrl + and - functions of Photoshop (Smart move). However, this is not possible for Mac. U must download it into the I photo first before this could be made possible.

Are you using a Razor? It's one of the best mouse on the market. Not just for gamers but it's super sensitive on the buttons. Get the lazer version. Will never go wrong with that. Oh yeah another thing, get a wired mouse. Wireless at the moment is still useless.

It's like the dialogue for the PC/Mac ads.

Wahaha..........no punt intended for the PC users. I am a Mac and PC user myself. So I don't look down on any but just need to do some spring cleaning after every now and then. :bsmilie:

very good observance, given the short time i assumed you had with the machine. did you have a problem with the one-button mouse operation? ( :P just kidding)

Are you using a Razor? It's one of the best mouse on the market. Not just for gamers but it's super sensitive on the buttons. Get the lazer version. Will never go wrong with that. Oh yeah another thing, get a wired mouse. Wireless at the moment is still useless.

It was the Logitech mouse but it fits very well and it just moulds to your hand. However, it depends on the sizes of individual pp.

Actually, i had a few irks abt the system.

No 1. - The mouse
I was quite frustrated with the one button system. I also noticed that the apple mouse is hardly ergonomical. The movement of the mouse is also relatively sluggish. I once had to change my mouse to a very ergonomical mouse as my finger was strained and swollen for more than 3 months without knowing the reason why. The doctor told me it was due to stress from mouse usage (and I thought my mouse was quite ergonmical). My finger finally recovered when I switched to a hundred over dollar mouse.

No 2. In PC, I can just download the image to a folder and straighhtway browse in the windows fax viewer. I can scroll through the image and browse through conveniently. It was even made better in Vista where they include the ctrl + and - functions of Photoshop (Smart move). However, this is not possible for Mac. U must download it into the I photo first before this could be made possible.
most switchers have problems adapting to the one-button operation, i do admit this. amazingly, i think it's one of the top reasons why people don't switch, or why they switch back to their old systems.

secondly, like Parka, i sold my Mighty Mouse the moment i laid my hands on it. i don't care how much features they pack into it - out it goes. you haven't met the original "hockey-puck" mouse yet hor :bsmilie:

but at work, i'm using the transparent Apple Pro Mouse - used to it liao. at home, i use a Microsoft mouse and a Razer cos i game as well.

so not really a big issue for me...easily solved with 3rd party hardware.

2) you want to download pics from your browser? same thing - create a folder on your desktop, then DRAG whatever pic you want to save into that folder. open up that folder, select all, then DRAG the selected icons to PREVIEW (application). browse as normal. no need to go through iPhoto.

of course, there are also 3rd party apps out there which automates the process. you can even write a script yourself if you are the geeky kind hehe

to add on the topic of 'drag-n-drop', do experiment around. you'll be surprised how many apps support interchangeable drag-n-dropping. eg, i can drag an image file from the desktop and drag it into an open MSN chat window. it then becomes a "send file" command. (not sure if windows msn support this, haven't tried). just an example.

the "I'm a PC / I'm a Mac" ads, although a bit yaya-ish, ultimately the aim is to bring across the differences between the two platforms in layman terms. (come on, we all know they are talking about Windows PCs Vs Mac OS PCs)

look. put a 2 months old Wintel PC and a 2 months old Intel Mac (similar spec) side by side. start timing the moment both starts up and run a set of pre-determined tasks. no prizes for guessing who gets to put his legs up and wait for the other to finish.

Why does Window slow down as time goes by? A lot of time, it is due to installation (and uninstallation) of a lot of software. There are a wide selection of software to install for windows.

For those MAC users who don't install anti-virus/security software on their computer and is still gloating about why Windows is so unsecure, good luck to you. It is something like I've never encounter a thief before therefore there is no need to lock my door.

Why does Window slow down as time goes by? A lot of time, it is due to installation (and uninstallation) of a lot of software. There are a wide selection of software to install for windows.

For those MAC users who don't install anti-virus/security software on their computer and is still gloating about why Windows is so unsecure, good luck to you. It is something like I've never encounter a thief before therefore there is no need to lock my door.

*TEEHHH* wrong analogy.

why should i get extra lock, when my house already have built-in locks, multiple layers and even ask for my password before i enter. should i get extra locks? maybe. maybe not.

wrong also lor.

people do alot of installing and uninstalling on Macs also lor. do they ever experience the kind of slowdown Windows users do?

it boils down to the coding and resource management. the current Mac OS started out on the right foot by basing itself on an industrial strength, proven backbone - Unix.

given the mammoth task that Microsoft has set out to do (provide an OS that support a wide range of generic parts, hardware and applications across a wide spectrum of users), i'd say they deserve an applause.

but honestly, i'd go for a system that is user-friendly, stable and fuss-free. but that's me.

i spend more computer time doing things that i want to do

and system maintainence is not on my "want to do" list

*TEEHHH* wrong analogy.

why should i get extra lock, when my house already have built-in locks, multiple layers and even ask for my password before i enter. should i get extra locks? maybe. maybe not.

MAC has built in anti-virus, firewall?

The Battles of the OSes. Tsk Tsk Tsk. :bsmilie:

newbie question from me:

1) where do mac users get their software from? eg Adobe CS. I've been too used to getting software fr 'neighborhood' stores/pasar malams ahem ahem..

2) is the macbook good enuff for photoshopping or shld one get something with dedicated graphics card?

Mac is no less than a PC and a PC no less than a Mac. ;)

Go to the showrooms and play with it and if you like it, then buy it!

Mac is no less than a PC and a PC no less than a Mac. ;)

Go to the showrooms and play with it and if you like it, then buy it!
agree... happy with my PC. the best system is always the one that suit your need and not someone else.

Have been thinking of getting a Mac? Any strong reasons to move to Mac? Mac users out there, any opinions other than form factor?
ok, back to topic then

:cool:

don't think this thread was meant to be a explicit sytem/OS comparison thread, so let's keep it that way.

My last advice: Buy first, think later.