It is very amusing situation.
You see, John3:16 is very crowded even during weekdays. Its like got fast food queue of people lining up to see the sales guy. From my observation, the sales guy is very well spoken, not the usual ah beng or ah pek type that sell camera. His England very powder, know how to sayang Ang Mow. I tink if you Ang Mow, you will love him much much. Also in terms of substance, I think the John3:16 place great effort on service quality. I listen to the guy talk hor. He keep giving advice. What to do and where to go online. Where got more info. Some more he very positive. Keep saying good good this and that.
If you interested to know why John3:16 so many queue, all you have to do is to stand in the queue and observe/listen. You can judge for yourself. Depending on your level of ability at photography, you may or may not favour John316. Needless to say, I heard that John3:16 is not the cheapest. Expected lah.
However, if you only interested in price, then any shop will do. Just need to check numbers beforehand. My advise to all buyers is to email the shops for a quote. Email quotes tend to be lower/better price. If you do a "cold-call" or "walk-in", you may get whack with high price.
Now the funny thing abt Funan centre is...(i) many shops are feeding off the crumbs that fall from John316's table. Hee Hee. Coz many people tired of queueing just go other camera shop, or go John316 to listen to story then after that go other shop to buy; and (ii) another funny thing is that you will notice some camera shop the sales guy is always standing outside watching what is happening in other camera shops, and tracking the customers that walk in and out in other camera shops. If you observe you can see this surveillance wan...I often wonder what they looking at.
edit: btw. I want to say I am not against John316. I do feel that their service is very good. honest. if u are newbie like me, i think it is a good place to go. just that i need to find the right time to go, when there is no queue. past 3 days i go during lunch time, wah really bang balls crowded. i never see camera shop so crowded. i always believe camera shop is beat mosquitoes wan. you know. got ah pek sitting on stool outside shop to jio you in that type.
edit2: EH JOHN316 IF U READING THIS, CAN I SUGGEST YOU IMPLEMENT AN APPOINTMENT SYSTEM, SO THAT I CAN MAKE APPOINTMENT BEFORE I COME? LIKE HAIR SALON LIDDAT