SGTrekker's 7D6N Sri Lanka Vesak Day Photography Tour (13th - 19th May 2011)

There is another "Elephant wall surrounding the temple" shot, different POV.. show, show that one as well ...

Yes Sir, as per your order (in different treatment this time)
i-PpHfphz.jpg

And thanks guys for all the comments, esp. the "group photo" anyhow hamtum also got LIKE from Lowlights - those elderly ladies. Siow liao, siow liao.

Day 03/04
Posting two shots taken in very low light conditions.. I wanted to try and present my work in a little more artistic style.. dont know if this will works for anyone of you ..

5764401439_c78727e7c1_b.jpg

5764949416_92c7378a4e_b.jpg

going away for a few days, will post again when I'm back..

Day 03/04
Posting two shots taken in very low light conditions.. I wanted to try and present my work in a little more artistic style.. dont know if this will works for anyone of you ..

Its certainly artistic and unusual and I like it. If you can put some light around his left ear (or left side of his face) it may work better. Just my thought.

I can't quite make up the figures. At least you have the fire brightness under control, but at the very expense of a dark figure. Its tough shots for that night. I didn't get any at all.

Thanks for above comments. Have a nice trip. At least I'm off some pressure.

Since ClemC is away, I shall backtrack back to the fish market. This pic supposed to tell an event and if you find it hard to grasp what's going on, I have failed.

It was almost rowdy, noisy and chaotic and every turn of head would find something fascinating to shoot, at least for me. Never in my life seeing such huge, fat and long fishes and sting rays spanning almost our outstretched arm presumably caught in the Indian Ocean.

We had only 45 mins to venture around before heading back to hotel for breakfast, which if given me the choice, I'd at least require 2 hrs or so to satisfy my camera palette.

i-ZDp7P4m.jpg

Sample of a looooong fish

i-PmwPrPt.jpg

Posing for our Ang Moh
i-Tx5GWKh.jpg

i-PmwPrPt.jpg

Posting live from Hoi An, just came back from a lovely sunset with the Chinese fishing nets! :) Anyway have some decent internet connection now and apologies for the absence. Nice shots at the fish auction DivineMoment!

So still at the Ruwanweliseya Dagaba on Day 2. Spotted this lady undertaking her own private prayers. Could really feel the fervor of the devotees here.

Isolated Reverence Ruwanweliseya by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Immediately beside the Ruwanweliseya was the Maha Bodhi tree. Apparently, this tree was grown from a sapling from the original tree in India (Gautama Buddha gained enlightenment under the one in India) so it's considered 2nd generation. However, since the original one in India has already been destroyed, this is probably the oldest known and documented tree (planted in 288BC). Apparently according to Mr Upul, there are plans to give back India a sapling this year (2600 Yr old anniversary).

Maha Bodhi Tree by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Beware the monkeys along the way. While relatively not aggresive, they may however turn violent when provoked, as evident from the photo (when DivineM tried to do more than take a photo! :p)

Monkeys at Maha Bodhi Temple by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Preview of our favourite monk in Day 3's staged shoot

Our Favourite Monk by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Day 3! Today we head eastwards, about 3 hrs away to the ancient capital of Polonnaruwa, declared the first capital city by King Vijayabahu I after defeating the Tamil's Chola dynasty in 1070AD. Polonnaruwa peaked under King Parakramabahu, grandson of Vijayabahu. It was during his reign which saw the golden age of massive agricultural and trade developments. Today, what is left of this once great city are broken relics and large Buddhist sculptures reminiscent of the glorious past.

We stopped by a village nearby enroute to Polonnaruwa to pick up our model monks. and proceed to the ancient ruins in the area known as the Quadrangle. It was hot as hell and certainly not easy photographing at the Gal Vihara (the site with the large Buddha sculptures). We were not allowed to have our backs facing the Buddha and we couldn't get close either, but soon the photography adrenalin took over and we made do with what we can.

Photographers at work

Photographer at work by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Photographer at work 2 by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Photographing at the Gal Vihara

Monks at Gal Vihara by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Monks Entering the Watadage by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Monks at the Quadragle by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Tks WHow, somehow, you were there with us in mind and in spirit, they kept talking about you! haha!!! no bad things so don't worry :p

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I was trying to multi-quote all your posts earlier when you all posted these lovely works.
But knowing what ClubSNAP is going through right now, I encountered lots of funny bugs and error so I wasn't able to do so until now.

Day 03/04

going away for a few days, will post again when I'm back..

Of course can!
This is beautiful and presents such an air of melancholy.
I like it!

Still has some problem with multi-quoting within a thread. I read the FAQ and they said it is a problem intrinsic in the version of forum software.
So I have to quote separately.

i-PmwPrPt.jpg

Wah, Divinemoment!
This is really a loooooooong fish!
Sri Lanka has so many fishes and every day they just eat fish and banana... no wonder all so healthy!

http://david-low.smugmug.com/photos/i-Tx5GWKh/0/O/i-Tx5GWKh.jpg[/IMG]

Wah... Divinemoment my friend, the details in this picture is remarkbale... what hairy forearm our Ang Moh friend has!
Wahahahaha...!

Tks WHow, somehow, you were there with us in mind and in spirit, they kept talking about you! haha!!! no bad things so don't worry :p

Oh... you don't know, every day and every night while you guys were away I was thinking of you all too... :bigeyes::bsmilie:

Immediately beside the Ruwanweliseya was the Maha Bodhi tree.

Maha Bodhi Tree by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

According to ClemC, if you can see the tree, means you have not discovered Enlightenment. Ha ha ha ha ha. But joke aside, I always have the impression the tree will be massive with thick trunks. From the photo, it was sparse and slender. Looks more like a durian tree to me.

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I was trying to multi-quote all your posts earlier when you all posted these lovely works.
But knowing what ClubSNAP is going through right now, I encountered lots of funny bugs and error so I wasn't able to do so until now.

They used to notified me thru email when there is new message. Now no more. So I'm using your method to check subscriber thread. But I still prefer email method with the ring sound. I think the intrinsic problem is all BS. I'm a subscriber to some oversea forum (almost all about the same style and format) and its a breeze to use. Don't need to circumvert here and there. This new format appears to be one step forward but 3 steps backwards. Ok, rant over. And thanks for comments. Just a routine normal snap shot to catch some action lah.

Our photographers in action of a staged shoot.

BTW nleong - where are you? Ironing your money?

i-mKDD6Bf.jpg

Day 3.

Another staged shoot.

Walking up the steps wasn't plan as stage shoot but if I remembered correctly, it was the Ang Moh sharp eyes recognised walking up the steps has potential for a great photo. So they were asked to walk up and walk down and walk up again. Money very hard to earn from us.

i-8BzMr8B.jpg